GIVE DANCEHALL THE RESPECT IT DESERVES …SMH

kartel-clovis-bleachers

In the dusk of social media fanfare over Jamaica being featured on photo-sharing app Snapchat, we wonder whether parts of Jamaican culture are being left behind in the national narrative of development.

Over 200 million users saw Jamaica as their “Live Story of the Day”, broadcasting pictures and videos from the island (the first in the Caribbean) to their phones. We note an instance of ‘twanging’, which was later deleted from the feed by Snapchat after heavy criticism on social media.

Perhaps it has always been true that we don’t value our culture as much as we ought to – and certainly not as much as foreigners do! Twanging on public media platforms is just a symptom of this. Has this attitude towards our culture seeped into the accepted narrative of Government, however?

From as early as Ninja Man and Shabba Ranks, dancehall music seems to have been thought of as the deviant, shameful little brother of reggae music – if a brother at all. Criticism of “dat nasty music” comes easily to the lips of many a decent and modest Jamaican. And perhaps that is their right.

However, an attitude of nonchalance and/or derision towards aspects of our culture like dancehall music, street dances, and patois (particularly the more colourful aspects) perhaps should not subsist in the popular and governmental narrative. Gradually, however, it seems to have seeped in.

The glee with which members of government and public service witnessed the downfall of “Vybz Kartel” seems to mirror a vilification of dancehall music. Vybz Kartel, of course, has been convicted of a grave crime, and that should never be condoned. Permanent secretary at the Ministry of Education earlier this year, though, went so far as to say: “I don’t like Vybz Kartel, and I’ll tell you why, his lyrics are just filthy, awful, degrading.” Her justification: “the minister [Reverend Ronald Thwaites] has said it, so I can follow back a the minister”. Surprisingly, this statement did not draw much criticism in public circles. As deserving of criticism as his criminality is, perhaps Vybz Kartel’s immense contribution to the body of culture that is dancehall should not be ignored.

However, that is one instance, and standing alone perhaps only shows the rejection of criminal behaviour in a public figure. Worthy of mention though, is that the lewd and lascivious carnival merriment is seldom described as ‘filthy and degrading’ by an officer of government. Worthy of note also, is the recognition value of Richard Wagner’s contribution to the body of culture that is classical music, despite his Nazi leanings.

Recall the attempt to curb the ‘violence’ of dancehall with the anti-gang legislation. State minister of entertainment Damion Crawford was heavily critical of this. Respect to him for recognising the need to put as gentle a limit as necessary on music, for public order, without pandering to the over-developed sensitivities of an influential few.

Artistes such as Beenie Man and Mavado have been critical of the Government for policies such as cutting off street dances at 2am on a weekend and arrests for indecent language. Meanwhile, politicians have been heard using indecent language, without any arrests to date.

Coming to the end of their current term, this government seems to have followed the trend of dragging their feet on the long-heralded ‘entertainment zones’ so as not to disturb residential areas. To date, we could find only one confirmed entertainment zone, with others ‘earmarked’.

Now, we are not saying that children should hear inappropriate dancehall content simply because it is part of our culture. It nevertheless is our culture, and arguably the most representative of culture of the Jamaican majority. And it is out of that majority which came culture that caused recognition like that shown by Snapchat.

Perhaps dancehall music should cease to be our dirty little secret, the anthem of a disturbed subculture. Respect is due, even if it offends our personal tastes.

0 thoughts on “GIVE DANCEHALL THE RESPECT IT DESERVES …SMH

1. Dancehall need to reconstruct itself!

Sodomites, child predators, con-artist, gunman, psychopaths, sociopaths, scammers are what we find as the main players in dancehall today. Not people who love music and participate in dancehall for the love of the music and leisure. And this is aimed at the promoters, selectors and entertainers.p

2. You are so right. Dancehall needs a lot of help right now. Radio dj’s don’t play your song without payment, selector don’t play the song either without payment and then most artist a fight each other with badmind. Dancehall need cleaning up. I can’t tell last I hear a few new songs a play. I just switch and listen to R&B or calypso. Too much problem comes with dancehall music and the police a fight the dance them too.