GUN AND BULLET FIND DUNG A MOBAY WHARF

The St James police made a major gun and ammunition find in Montego Bay Friday evening when eight firearms and more than a thousand rounds of ammunition were seized in an operation at the Montego Bay Wharf.

In confirming the find, Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Marlon Nesbeth told The Gleaner that the weapons were found during the execution of a border security strategy at the wharf.

“We had reasons to be suspicious about the contents of two barrels and after a careful examination and search of their contents, the find was made,” said Nesbeth.

“We found eight firearms – one high-powered rifle, a shot gun and 1,046 rounds of assorted ammunition.”

The senior cop said efforts are now being made to identify who the barrel, which originated in Fort Lauderdale, was sent to.

This is the second time since the start of the year that the police have seized illegal guns at the Montego Bay Wharf.

In an earlier operation, two guns were found in a shipment and two men arrested.

4 thoughts on “GUN AND BULLET FIND DUNG A MOBAY WHARF

1. Good news. Now if we can get some sniffing dogs pon regular duty at all the wharves dat would be great, doubled up with more coast guards on duty, CCTV everywhere and drones out, then we can cut the arteries feeding the evil ones.

2. Jamaica have to invest in gun sniffing dogs and CCTV! No more roads we need to cut our crime rate first i

3. This begs the question as to why the custom security did not remove the guns/ammunition from the barrel and allow the barrel to make its way through the process, possibly inserting a tracking device inside the barrel. Then wait for the individual to pickup the barrel, follow them to where they live and arrest the individual and other involved.

I have never sent a barrel to Jamaica, so I’m not familiar with the process, but from what I understand, when a person show up to claim the barrel, it is open and the contents searched to determine if any duty is due. This tells me that the barrel was suppose to be intercepted by compromised individual(s) within customs. Why not try to identify these individuals instead of bringing the information to the public?

This is why of country is flooded with firearms because of gang members in the US (most illegal immigrants) are sending their members guns on a regular basis.