HELL YEA…BAIN WIN HIM WRONGFUL TERMINATION CASE AGAINST UWI

The Court has ruled in favour of Professor Brendon Bain in his wrongful dismissal case against the University of the West Indies (UWI) Mona.

The ruling was handed down this afternoon.

The court ordered that the UWI pay restitution of $4.27 million plus costs due in lieu of three months notice.

The court found that Professor Bain’s termination was a breach of his right of freedom of expression.

Professor Bain sued the UWI in 2014 for defamation of character, and breach of his constitutional rights following his dismissal as Director of the Regional Coordinating Unit of the Caribbean HIV/Training Network.

The dismissal was in relation to protests by gay rights groups over his testimony in a constitutional case in Belize.

3 thoughts on “HELL YEA…BAIN WIN HIM WRONGFUL TERMINATION CASE AGAINST UWI

1. Like I’ve always said ,even in favor of those who cuss me..LONG LIVE FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION! !People have a right to talk crap n other people have a right to point out that is crap dem talking! !

Congratulations Prof Bain because all you did was give your expert opinion on a matter in which you exercised ur God given right to freedom of speech! Ppl have a right yes to express support for gays but that is an equal right for people who expressing their freedom to bun dem out!!nobody nuh more than nobody! !simple!

2. Very happy for Professor Bain, he stood his ground. I hope he is fully compensated for all the embarrassment and inconvenience he suffered.

3. It’s not even like he uttered something homophobic, he said facts. That the science back. You are at higher risk for hiv if a man bullin a man. Plus I love how the overlook the fact that much of his work has been with the gay community. As the doc he served everybody. Glad he won