HELP HELP SHE WANTS TO WALK AGAIN HELP HER PLEASE

family-Optimized

While most young people are using the period for traveling and exploring uncharted territory, for Jodi-Ann Baker a trip to the United States this summer is what it may take to help her regain use of her hands and feet.

Baker, 24, lost the use of her feet and has limited use of her hands after she was hit by a vehicle in 2005.

“I found myself at KPH (Kingston Public Hospital), I don’t know if it’s hours or days but I was unconscious for a while; then I woke up to find out that I couldn’t move any part of my body, not even my head. Wondering why, eventually the doctors explained to me that I was hit by a car. They’re not sure of the level of damage that I got but they’re going to assess me. Then I had to do an operation because a bone in my neck was broken, that was the reason of my paralysis,” Baker said.

Confined to a wheelchair and the upper level of her home after this ordeal, Jodi-Ann never gave up hope.

“I always wondered if I got help elsewhere if whatever they could do would help me any at all,” Baker told the Jamaica Observer.

Through determination and persistence, Baker researched the UHealth International medical facility after it was suggested to her last year. Having conducted the research Jodi-Ann initiated contact with the facility and is now scheduled to see two specialists on August 12 for an opportunity to receive corrective treatment.

“[I] wasn’t sure where exactly to go [but] my grandaunt came from overseas some time last year and she told me about the place so I was intrigued, very interested to find out much more about it, which I did,” she said.

“It seemed very difficult. Sometimes I felt like giving up because I had to be calling them to get information, then for them to send me things, for me to send them things like my medical files, medical history all of that. Eventually it paid off [on] the 30th of June when they gave me a date,” she said with a smile.

But the glimmer of hope is slowly becoming dim as one month away from the scheduled appointment the family has not yet been able to secure funds to cover all the expenses.

Baker told the Observer after she was told of her appointment “the real task started”, which at the time was “for me to get the funding, for me to get my visa, for me just to get all of that before the 12th of August comes because I have to be there before. So that’s my struggle right now.”

Still determined Baker said she sent several letters asking for help to individuals and corporate entities she thought could help, all of which have been futile.

Jodi-Ann needs money for the visa application for herself and her mother, the hospital appointment, airfare and additional funds to pay for the preliminary tests that she will be required to do upon arrival. Because of these requirements she is now in limbo about the opportunity to receive treatment.

“Everything [is] chaotic. I’m happy about it (getting an appointment) then I’m worried, then I’m confused about everything. Trying to seek the help to get financial assistance [is] very stressing because every night [when] I try to go to sleep it takes me a while because I’m worried when I’m going to get the help, if I’m going to get the help,” she exclaimed.

“I’m not sure, but I estimate [I will need] at least 500,000 that would be [approximately] 5000 US dollars. That would cover everything,” she said.

Jodi-Ann, who was robbed of the opportunity to finish high school because of her accident, did not allow this to hinder her as she successfully completed a level one course in office administration at the Abilities Foundation. She said she would love to get a chance not just at walking again but to fulfil some of her lifelong dreams – one of which is to return to school to complete level two of the office administration course.

“I really want to go there (the UHealth International) to see what they can do [because] I would really like to go back to school. I want to work because being like this for 10 years I have to be depending on friends and family for financial assistance and I’m already dependent on them for helping me to move around, I want to work my own money now, I think its full time,” she said with a chuckle.

But Jodi-Ann’s dreams are not just for educational advancement; asked whether there are other things she would like to accomplish she said “I would like to get married, to have a kid; I’ve always wanted to have one child. I would like to get married but [because of] insecurities I’m unable to even go into a serious relationship because they’ll be there for a while but for the long term I’m not sure they are going to be there,” as her voice faded.

Her mother Gaytrice Briscoe a bar operator from Denham Town, Kingston said her daughter’s accident took a toll on her life but never gave up on her.

“You haffi have faith fi guh through it. It you give up nobody nah guh help you — a you alone, a your own, first child so mi affi do it,” Briscoe said in a low tone.

She said she would really love for her daughter to get the chance to receive further medical assistance and believes she will be able to walk again.

“Mi neva really give up. Mi tell har seh from har foot nuh mawga she can walk, an’ weh nuh dead nuh dash it weh, an’ weh we gi up God nuh give up. You ago walk again,” she said explaining that whenever her daughter gets depressed about her situation she assured her that she would walk again.

Briscoe says she firmly believes that her daughter will walk again as she explained the details of a mthod she uses when lifting her child. “Sometime when me lif har up mi put har fi stan up an’ she stan up a likkle. When mi lif har mi lif har fi stan up make the pressure go down pan har foot, mek she feel di difference,” Briscoe added.

Jodi-Ann’s younger sister Crystal Swaby explained why her sister is in need of the assistance.

“I wish that she will get the help to see if there is something that can put a mend or can put a healing to her body. If not we at least appreciate who had tried to help and gave us financial support so that she could go and have the chance to see if there is something that can be done. So if she goes and it’s not a luck then we’re still here and we will still be trying to see whatever can be done but we would really like the chance for her to go over there and see if there can be anything,” Swaby said.

“Sometimes it’s very challenging to help her to move around. It’s not easy to be up and about and she can’t really do anything for herself … but you still have to be there because guess what we’re all a family back then so we still have to be a family now,” Swaby continued.

Echoing the plea of her sister, a tearful Jodi-Ann pleaded with Jamaica as she begged for a chance. “I am just asking anybody who hears my story can find or even see my point of view, where I’m coming from, to find it in their hearts to help me because I really need it. I need a chance to make a living somehow.”