HIGHWAY ROBBERY FROM JAMAICA POST OFFICE

unnamed-4

IF YUH SEND THINGS EXPRESS TO JAMAICA …IS A PROBLEM…YUH PUT INA BARREL A PROBLEM…FIRST OF ALL IF YUH SEND DHL OR FEDEX ..DEM CHARGE YUH A $900.00 FEE FI GO LOOK FI YUH ITEM…MEANWHILE DHL IS A COMPANY AND OPERATES AN OFFICE IN JAMAICA FOR WHICH THE SENDER SEEMINGLY PAYS THAT FEE IN THE TOTAL COST TO SHIP THE ITEM….DEM HAFFI PAY DAT FEE..ALRIGHT THEN..DEM GO LOOK FI YUH ITEM AND WHEN ITS OBVIOUS THAT THE ITEMS ARE NOT FOR RESALE THEY STILL HIT YUH WITH DUTY EVEN WHEN THE GOODS ARE NOT READILY AVAILABLE IN JAMAICA DEM RUN GO PAN INTERNET GO CHECK THE PRICE AND WAA CHARGE DUTY FROM THERE. MI WUDDA WAA KNOW HOW YUH FI PAY DUTY ON AN ITEM THAT IS CONSIDERED A GIFT? IS AS IF THEY IGNORE THAT AND ALL THESE MONIES ARE BEING COLLECTED AND JAMAICA IS NO BETTER THAN IT WAS 10/20 YEARS AGO… WHEY DAY I FIXED THEY ASS……..THEY WANTED TO CHARGE DUTY ON AN ITEM AND ALL DI GOOGLE DEM GOOGLE DEM COULD NOT LOCATE THE NAME………..THEY LOOKED FOR 1 HR YALLL..TILL DEM FINALLY GIVE UP BECAUSE WHEY DEM CUDDEN FIND DEM COULDNT ESTIMATE DI DUTY ACCORDING TO DEM…BOOO…ANYHOW…. I KNEW THE POST OFFICE WAS JUST AS GUILTY AS THE EXPRESS PLACE BUT WHEN MI SEE DIS BILL DEM SEND……
FIRST OF ALL THE PERSON SENT A PACKAGE FROM THE U.S WEIGHING 19.20 LBS ..JAMAICA’S POST OFFICE RECORDED IT AT 11.1 KG WHICH IS 24.47 LBS IN ACTUALITY …WHERE DID THOSE EXTRA KGS COME FROM??..

DEM HAVE ASSESSMENT FEE 8000………. GCT 7900++ HOW WAS THE GCT CALCULATED AND WHY MUST THE POST OFFICE COLLECT GCT FROM AN INCOMING PARCEL?
IF YOU SEND YOUR FAMILY IN JAMAICA CLOTHES THAT IS FOR THEM TO WEAR, AND THOSE CLOTHES WERE ALREADY PAID FOR IN THE U.S HOW DOES JAMAICA SEE IT FIT TO COLLECT DUTY ON WHAT IS NOT BOUGHT FOR RESALE?? DEM ADD ON TAX /DUTY AND FEE..THREE THINGS ON A PARCEL AND SEND A BILL WITHOUT THE PERSON KNOWING EXACTLY HOW THEY CALCULATE THEIR FEES..

MI KNOW PEOPLE WHEY TRY OPERATE INDEPENDENT CHARITIES AND WHEN DEM CARRY DOWN THE LITTLE FOOD GO JAMAICA DI AMOUNT OF MONEY WHEY DEM WAA CHARGE THE PEOPLE DEM IT DISCOURAGE DI PEOPLE DEM FROM RETURNING TO HELP THE NEEDY..HOW MUST YOU AID THE NEEDY WHEN THE JAMAICAN GOVERNMENT A TRY ROB YUH SAME TIME? LOOK PAN WHAT THE POST OFFICE A CHARGE NO WONDER JAMAICA FULL A CRIME BECAUSE YUH CANT AFFORD TO HELP ANYONE THERE SO MANY WHO WILL CONTINUE TO REMAIN DESTITUTE BECAUSE OF THE CORRUPT SYSTEM…….ALL THIS MONEY COLLECTING AND HOSPITAL DONT HAVE WHEEL CHAIR

0 thoughts on “HIGHWAY ROBBERY FROM JAMAICA POST OFFICE

1. Mek mi see where our priorities are, now this is cause for concern Jamaican government in my estimation sit down and think up ways to rob poor people and keep them poor. Congrats this here is a good one let’s see how many comments it will get as it is not anybody’s trivial business this is serious business it’s time we speak out against these exploitations and fight the right battles as a nation for the sake of our children

2. Hi Met, the fees that are collected by the post office are actually customs duty charges. They treat everything as goods etering the ports so yes they charge as they would at the airport or at the wharves. That 16580 is however not the total paid though, they pay about 40% of that amount. (Former customs officer)

3. I have encountered this same difficulty with the Post Office. In December my son father sent a parcel for him with a few clothing items a sneaker & a water gun. The sender paid US$70 ($JA$7,840.) to mail the item I thought maybe I would only be required to pay a small fee for nothing exceeding JA$1000 maximum. To my surprise when the registered slip arrived the figure to clear the parcel was a whopping JA$8,627.00 for custom duties & GCT bullshit. So thats a total of JA$16,467 just to mail & clear it through the mail. I dont quite remember the exact weight of the package right now but I remember it was a little bigger than a shoe box light enough that my son could carry it with his 1 hand. I remember thinking how absurd that was when a barrel sent at the wharf with food & clothing item (not for resale)would be approximately JA$5,000 Upon arriving home we realize that some of the items were missing including the toy gun with a message from customs which said the item was forbidden by the Ministry of Security to enter into the country. While I understand that playing with a toy gun in their estimation might/maybe encourage a child to want to gravitate to using real weaponry I had to explain this the best way I possibly could to my son, who enquired if he wasnt getting it if it would be returned to his dad, I told it it wouldnt. Well I can just imagine that 1 lucky child of a custom worker had an unexpected toy water gun to play with while my son was not. Just plain craziness it was very discouraging & my son said before he send a next parcel through d mail he would rather they charged him for an extra luggage at the Airport than allow that form of extortion

1. toy gun forbidden? U know a teef dem teef it….How can what u pay to clear the goods be more than the goods itself? What ina post office fi pay gct pan???What is the percentage of the gct? Dem teef and they are collecting all of this revenue and KPH elevator never did a work fi months

4. A true dem a gwan bad out deh..mi send a card express wid some stuff and pay extra fi it for someone dung a yaard. Is a good ting mi did regista it. dI Post office tell me seh is 5-10 days if mi pay di likkle extra fi..u know she mi haffi put in an enquiry fi it? It was den that it turn up aftah almost a month…dem yah singting yah nuh right fi true dem wicked nuh bombart..and still nahn reach a dyam weh.

5. we are hearing all the issues met…..but how do we as a people make changes …… can we start a platform right here and make a difference …………

6. LIFE IN JAMAICA!!!
    ME LOVE ME YARD BUT FIND IT HARD FI SURVIVE DOWN DEH.
    MY WIFE WILL BUY GIFTS FOR FAMILY AND FRIENDS AND SEND IT DOWN IN THE BARREL, HAVE TO COLLECT THAT YELLOW FORM.(WHARF IS ANOTHER STORY) BUT THEN THEM WILL GIVE YOU THAT THEY WOULD HAVE PREFFERED YOU BRING A JEANS RATHER THAN THE SHIRT.
    ME ALWAYS TELL HER SHE LUCKY SHE TEK HER TIME AND MONEY GO OUT OF HER WAY AND SPEND ON PEOPLE THAT DO NOT APPRECIATE IT. MORE TIME THE GOOD SUFFER FOR THE BAD.
    WHEN THEM BEG ME MI JUST TELL THEM TALK TO THE WIFE. CAUSE I DO NOT KNOW WHAT WAS ALREADY GIVEN AND THEM ALWAYS A TRY GINAL FOREIGNERS..

7. Jamaica postal service don’t catch up with modern times. The price of postage steady increasing yet it takes two months to get a card from there in South Florida. Suppose a did Alaska? kmt. Portia gone take another 8 billion from world bank yet the amenities in the country not improving.

8. No badda talk wen yuh guh dung anvago through airport, dem waan charge and Google your personal clothes and shoes. Bout yuh only allow $500 US worth of things. Tell mi I am going to sell, wah kinda sale woman mi wuda be fi have only one size clothes and shoes? We haffi change it and demand JUSTICE like Rosie. Also, why a $100 credit cost almost $150? Almost 50% inna tax. JA do betta before the ppl revolt.

Leave a Reply to TWEET Cancel reply