HMMM JAMAICA ISSUES STATEMENT ON VISITOR WHO CAME TO JAMAICA FROM THE U.S AFTER ARRIVING FROM LIBERIA

e1-Optimized
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=56057
Government to issue statement on visitor who recently travelled to Liberia
The National Security Ministry is to issue a statement shortly
following reports that protocols were not observed in processing a
visitor who recently travelled to Liberia.
Liberia is among a trio of West African countries hardest-hit by the
deadly Ebola virus.
A security official told The Gleaner/Power 106 News Centre that the
male visitor travelled to Jamaica from the United States yesterday.
Our sources say there was a high-level meeting a short while ago
involving the national security ministry and immigration officials.
Know the Signs and Symptoms of Ebola
“If for any reason an individual believes that he/she has been exposed
to the virus, they should seek immediate medical treatment at a major
hospital and reduce contact with other persons as much as possible,”
Dr Harvey said.
Symptoms of Ebola include sudden onset of fever, intense weakness,
muscle pain, headache and sore throat.
This may be followed by vomiting, diarrhoea, rash, impaired kidney and
liver function and in some cases both internal and external bleeding
leading to death.
The incubation period for the virus is anywhere from two to twenty one days.
Ebola facts
* If you believe you were exposed to the deadly Ebola virus, seek
immediate medical attention. It is best to be safe than sorry.
* Early detection and immediate treatment can make a big difference
between life and death.
* If you have been in a known Ebola-infected area or come in contact
with a person known or suspected to have Ebola and you begin to have
symptoms, DO NOT travel and immediately call your doctor, hospital or
health centre.
* Get medical care right away if you have a fever higher than 101.5
degrees Fahrenheit, severe headache, muscle pain, vomiting, diarrhoea,
stomach pain or unexplained bruising or bleeding.
* Tell your doctor about any recent travel to Ebola-infected
countries, especially West Africa, or contact with a person who was
sick with Ebola BEFORE you go to the doctor’s office, clinic or
hospital.
* Calling before you go to the doctor or health centre will help the
health authorities determine how to treat you and protect persons you
may come in contact with there or on your way.
It is VERY important that you stay away from everyone once you begin
to show symptoms.
DON’T IGNORE THE SIGNS

0 thoughts on “HMMM JAMAICA ISSUES STATEMENT ON VISITOR WHO CAME TO JAMAICA FROM THE U.S AFTER ARRIVING FROM LIBERIA

1. Why dis man neva stay put until at least after di incubation period? What was di urgency fi guh ah Jamaica?? Now my business affi guh put pon hold cause mi did ah look fi run down before di month end. Cho…. :marah

1. Gwan Yawdy…do an odd hour flight whey a nu busy time…early morning. American should have multiple flight time.

2. Whe him draw him claat come ya fah? Fi test wi immigration so him can tell him fellow Liberians sey it easy fi come yah? Wonda whe him did tell US Immigration?
    Maassa tek u claat go back whe u come from yaa

3. They should identify and fire the person who had time to contact the gleaner yet no time to do their job properly .Part of the solution or part of the problem?

4. Rassclaat, we dun have de mosquitoes (insects and humans) wid dem gun a shoot up de place aready, so now we caan afford, no goddamn way, fe Ebola mek its entrance a yaad. Hell to the effin no!!!!!

5. All these people who had contact with ebola patients or specimens choosing to travel before the incubation period has ended are utterly selfish. We can’t ask people to put their lives on hold but common sense should really prevail when there is a possibility that they are putting nations at risk.

6. WTF?? Fire the immigration officers, KMT. Sometimes me have to wonder if we just rass licky licky, what is wrong with these people? Dem have sense? We are too small of an island to let any body come through with this mess.

7. This f**ka mash up my IGrande mini vacation bad bad bad Met. Yuh wudden even like know. Now mi stuck inna Kingston widdout a ting fi duh. The hotel is being very good about the cancellation & refund though.

Leave a Reply to Cindy Royal Cancel reply