IF YOURE MARRIED IN JAMAICA U WILL MORE GET HIV THAN A PROSTITUTE

Married Women More At HIV Risk Than Prostitutes – Chevannes

Executive director of the National Family Planning Board (NFPB), Dr Denise Chevannes, is expressing concern that many married Jamaica women are prisoners in the sanctity of their bedroom, where their health is potentially at greater risk than that of prostitutes.

There has been a decline in the HIV-prevalence among Jamaican s*x workers (prostitutes) and many are believed to be better able to negotiate conditions under which s*x takes place, more so than many women who are married.

According Chevannes, the evidence shows that many women secure in the sanctity of marriage are at greater risk of contracting HIV, imprisoned as they are by cultural norms.

“A married woman, her husband coming home at 2:00 every morning, where has he been? You think he’s been out negotiating business deals? That woman, if she starts to say to her husband, ‘We need to start using a condoms’, the first thing he’s going to say to her is: ‘What are you doing, why I should have to use condoms?’,” Chevannes told The Sunday Gleaner.

Social Validation

“There are very, very few women who will be able to insist, and I want to tell you, even a married woman who has her own job and is more or less economically independent still desires that social validation of being in a partnership with a man.

“And many of them go into denial (but) they are not able to insist and to negotiate the conditions under which safer s*x takes place, so many of them are exposed. Some of those women are in the church, and then when you have the gender-based violence on top of that …,” added Chevannes.

She said the NFPB is considering expanding its work into general population groups, especially among those persons who think they’re not at risk.

“They have a low-risk perception and they are the ones at elevated risk – more than they know. At least a s*x worker knows she is at risk, a man who has s*x with other men knows he’s at risk. That churchwoman doesn’t know she’s at risk,” lamented Chevannes.

[email protected]

11 thoughts on “IF YOURE MARRIED IN JAMAICA U WILL MORE GET HIV THAN A PROSTITUTE

1. What she saying makes perfect sense! !Now what is the solution for married women? ?I’m not getting that so I am asking!

1. Don’t trust their cheating husband and find hidden ways to protect themselves. My cousin missed it because her husband weren’t having sex with her because he was a gay man only thing he lived his lifestyle here in America when he would come on business, big rass business man come manhattan come contact HIV by the time they found out he had full blown AIDS the pussy dead now. Dem shoulda burn him body

2. Dem should schedule his quarterly doctors’ appointments. Some wives don’t know they have a role as event planner, secretary and head of risk management.

My babes, think the heavens no fraid a doctor office.

2. Many women who are married in Jamaica are just as promiscuous as their men. Jamaica women at home or abroad are just as capable of giving bun as they are at receiving it. Equal rights dem seh!

1. That’s not the argument or point here.
      How does a married woman or man protect themselves from a promiscuous partner without being accused of infidelity themselves?
      Many women knows their husband is cheating and cannot stop him so they need to protect themselves because more while the husband have unprotected sex with his concubines.
      Then there are the women who don’t believe their men are cheating, but their men are indeed cheating, they are at the greatest risk of contracting HIV.

3. Another one-sided, man-bashing, all-woman article that applies to some pre-1980s women… Women nowadays ain’t putting up with what she claims.

The argument goes two ways – but these are facts:

1) Its women who rule the workplace nowadays in Jamaica. Unless mi blind, check banks, anywhere with customer service reps, could go on.. A dem a mek di deals a night time and we home as men cooking and taking care of the kids.

2) When you go to party, the women outnumber the men in most cases (unless mi just lucky) these days, anuh di 80s-90s dis.. so fkry in that article

3) Woman a deal wid liberation long time now – unless mi wrong, 99.9% of the women who read this blog wouldn’t just put up with any 2am shit. She talking about women who were born in the 50s-80s so she should go fk herself.

4. She is onpoint, i hate jamaican hypocritical closet men. If u r gay just come out n dont go marry n have family to cover ur damm lifestyle. At least here in first world country/ies the gays dont hide it. In jamaica they hide it n lie to females n marry and hardly sex her but sex dem man nightly then wen them sex dem wife dem have unprotected sex n give dem wives std n hiv. Nuff young milleniels boys want quick money n are closet gays in jamaica, sorry for them girlfriends or wife to be. Too much jamaican women are desperate n scared of loosing thier luxury lives n the ring on their fingers n a put up with crap. Most women knows wen their men are cheating but shut up for the sake of being mrs. The hiv rate is so high in jamaica now it is scary. Nuff uptown married women full a std too, those little insagram whores too that sleeping around with many men too, those popular girls nuff a them full a std then married men go ketch it from dem too. Jamaica jamaica jamaica.

5. Isn’t Carl Stone wife an example? Wifey home and hubby bring it to her. How is she doing of late? haven’t seen or heard anything of her. I trust all is well with her

6. When unnu a do unnu family medical ensure blood tests are apart of it. It nuh apply to just married ppl. Once we decide say we ago deh serious or if we ago raw test affi do. The only true way fi fight this is to know your status n that of your partner REGULARLY. Because ppl naah uphold accountability where sexual health is concern. Say it all the while we a big ppl n must act accordingly. The condom all the time n faithfulness alone wont do.

Just like finances, sexual health is a discussion that needs to be had. If partner nuh deh pon that or a try bully the thing then sorry we naah go nuh further.

A nuff gay a married now fi cover dem track, nuff man still naah cover up going outside n yes the woman dem a f**k like no tomorrow n is not just now a social media a show up d woman dem now before u did affi wait til she breed.

7. They say ‘he loves me, but, he fu*ks you. I think they know what they have signed up for.

This mentality is global, not just in Jamaica.