IS WHICH DON DAUGHTER DEM DID KIDNAP AND WHEN?

An ex-convict who is a witness in the murder trial of Constable Collis “Chucky” Brown yesterday testified that one of the men whom the policeman is accused of killing had kidnapped the daughter of a ‘don’ with whom Brown was reportedly connected.

The police constable, who has been in custody since January 2014, is being tried for the January 10, 2009 murder of Robert “Gutty” Dawkins and the December 13, 2012 double murder of Andrew “Sugar“ Fearon and Dwayne “Murderous” Douglas.

The former police informant, who is the Crown’s final witness, also testified yesterday that Constable Brown was connected to a well-known don (community leader) in Manchester who is a contractor.

The witness previously told jurors in the Home Circuit Court that Brown, after asking him to provide information on Douglas, told him that Douglas had disrespected “one of his boss and two of his dons”.

When asked by lead prosecutor Queen’s Counsel Caroline Hay to elaborate on Brown’s boss he said, “ The boss is well known, a very popular don from Manchester.”

However, during cross-examination from Attorney Norman Godfrey about his relationship with Douglas, the witness mentioned that Douglas had kidnapped the daughter of the don who is reportedly associated with Brown and that he had informed Brown about the kidnapping.

According to the witness, in 2001 he met Douglas in prison while he was serving a murder sentence.

The witness, during intense cross-examination from Godfrey, further admitted that he had been living in a house that was controlled by Douglas, and that he had only paid the first month’s rent.

“You live there with your girlfriend?” Godfrey asked.

“Baby mother,” the witness replied with emphasis, eliciting laughter from the court.

The lawyer then asked him if Douglas had been involved in a kidnapping and he said ‘yes’.

“This was the kidnapping of a young female?” Godfrey enquired.

“Yes sir, one of your defendant’s don’s daughter,” he quickly replied.

“Since your are so interested in justice did you report this to the police,” the lawyer continued.

“I told Constable Chucky Brown,” the witness answered.

The witness was also grilled about an arrangement that he said he had with a superintendent at the May Pen Police Station to collect payments for information on guns, as well as his previous convictions and his plea bargain deal with the government prosecutor.

The witness, during earlier evidence, said he was promised payments of $25, 000 for information leading to the recovery of hand guns and $50,000 for rifles.

However, when asked if he had entered into that arrangement for monetary gains, he denied that, claiming he did it because of injustice.

“Have you ever say that you stopped giving the police information because it stop working out for you financially,” Godfrey then asked.

“And also that…” the witness said, but the lawyer stopped him quickly and demanded that he answer question.

He then said, “Yes Sir I wasn’t getting paid what I was told.”

During the witness’s evidence -in-chief he admitted to having nine convictions which started from he was 18, in 2006. These included three convictions for simple larceny, as well as convictions for larceny from the dwelling, shop breaking, possession of cocaine and illegal possession of a firearm.

His last conviction was in October 23 of this year when he pleaded guilty to misprison of felony and was given a plea bargain deal which saw him getting a one-year suspended sentence. The charge is connected to Brown’s alleged murder of Douglas.

Based on his conviction, the witness was asked by Godfrey if he considered himself a career criminal, but he disagreed.

He was then asked if he would agreed, based on his record, that he was a thief, but he said ‘no’.

“You just admitted to some convictions, majority of which are for stealing,” Godfrey said

“Yes Sir, but not lying,” he quipped.

He was then asked if his first conviction was at 18, to which he boldly replied,” I must say every individual can be rehabilitated”, sparking more laughter in the court.

Godfrey, however, told him “Save that for later.”

As it related to his plea bargain deal and the charge of misprison of felony, under cross-examination he said that he was first advised of the charge “last year coming to this year” and that he was not aware that he was charged based on a witness statement that he had given to the Independent Commission of Investigations.

The witness further testified that the matter started on October 16 of this year and that on October 23 he pleaded guilty and was given the deal.

Earlier in the trial he testified that in 2016 when he met Brown in prison and he told him not to say anything to anyone in the respect to the investigation of Douglas’s murder. He said, too, that Brown had reminded him on several occasions not to say anything.

He also said when he asked Brown what was going on with Douglas’s case, he said, “ Nothing nuh inna dat case, dat saaf mi ago bust dat.”

According to the him, he became a witness after INDECOM reached out to him while he was in prison, but he does not know how the organisation found out about him.

The trial continues today.

5 thoughts on “IS WHICH DON DAUGHTER DEM DID KIDNAP AND WHEN?

1. Skeng a d most powerful man in ja it seems. I remember chucky brown good good. Use to see him in maypen very loud music n fast driving. Skeng a every contract killing police boss, chucky brown was one. A nuff things that man did in maypen but the place was a bit more under control. Now not even my dog mi naa Mek walk through maypen, day nor night! It is just sad the way jamaica set up.

2. From what I read in a another newspaper, it was the teenager daughter of a friend of the Don (whomever he is), whose daughter he kidnapped, not the Don daughter.

I doubt any yute would be so brave to touch any of Skeng Don Family and mek him know who did it.