JACKIE BROWN’S DAUGHTER ASKS FOR HELP TO BURY HIM

jb

ODETTE Brown, daughter of singer Jackie Brown, is unable to bury her father, more than two months after his death.

The singer died on November 15 at the age of 69.

“I came to New York from Jamaica two weeks ago, expecting to attend his funeral and come buck up inna this chaos. A jus’ pure stress,” she told Splash.

The 44-year-old said no funeral arrangements have been made, as a bill for US$4,000 remains outstanding.
“It seems like all the people he associated with, left. I don’t know where his money went. Everybody desert him. Me cannot sit an’ just watch it. He’s my father,” she said.

Brown said her father’s body is at David Williams Funeral Home in Queens, New York.

“I’m crying out! Mi jus’ waan some help to bury mi father. There’s no money to bury him. Anything would be appreciated. He’s not an animal. I know he’s a good man. Regardless, he’s a human being. Mi jus’ waan get it over wid.”

Donations can be made to her account at TD Bank in Flatbush, Brooklyn, 432-582-4616.

Brown said the last time she saw her father alive was 15 years ago when he appeared on an ‘oldies’ show at Mas Camp in Kingston.

From Portland, Jackie Brown (given name Linton Brown) is best known for the songs Send Me The Pillow, Little Miss Hard to Get and Fat Girl.

He is the brother of producer Castro Brown and a former member of the Jamaica Defence Force. He began his recording career in the early 1970s and migrated to the United States in 1981.

Brown had a large fan base in Brazil where he performed regularly.

A diabetic for many years, he had a leg amputated seven years ago and recently underwent eye surgery. His daughter said he was recording gospel music for the past 10 years.

His daughter had advice for all entertainers.

“When unoo make unoo money, put unoo money to good use. Put unoo family first. An’ please, surround yourselves with the right people.”

Brown is survived by his wife, brother and 10 children.

17 thoughts on “JACKIE BROWN’S DAUGHTER ASKS FOR HELP TO BURY HIM

1. Sad. So where di wife and other nine kids? How can a man wid ten children caan bury? No life insurance, no nutten? Sister, just meck dem do a cremation and done. I think the govt have money fi the poor to help wid funeral expenses. You should be able to get a cheap cremation for bout $1200, maybe even less. Nuh try wid di extravagance, just keep it simple.

2. If the family is unable to come up with the funds the state will most definitely assist in that regard. It will not be in a posh setting, however, it will be a decent burial.

3. Read what the daughter said at the end. She is basically saying that her father made money and did not put it to any use. He didn’t put family first and that is probably why now, no one has a mine to bury him. He is probably nothing more than a stranger who they may have seen at family events from time to time. I know a guy who boasted of all de yute and baby madda that he had. But when he suffered a crippling stroke, no one visited him in hospital. He had to depend on the charity of strangers. I knew my parents and nursed them with love when they were sick and buried them with dignity when they died. If I did not have any money, I would have applied for a loan. These men are walking around with their pump but pride but forgetting that they will get old one day. Fools

4. Met did u know that is di singer Ghost father plus mi hear seh him have a daughter weh a big Doctor weh not even a look

1. WHAT?????????? no mi neva know…sometimes mi doe sorry fi dem because these men think they will live forever and have all these children whey dem nuh support

1. Yes met a nuh lie mi a tell, yu can go check it out yu self, mi hear seh him neva mine none a dem dats why dem naw look pon him, him deh a foreign how long and neva try help none a him kids dem a ja fi come live a foreign, one a him daughter weh deh ya fi awhile now mi hear seh she run guh New York guh tek di body from di hospital put a one funeral home but when she realize seh him nuh have nuh money she run come back dung a Florida, suh a one next sister come up and a try a ting, if dem neva move di body di state would have buried him long time. Ghost don’t even look pon him, yu nuh see how him and ghost resemble, him have kids weh a big entertainer and Doctor and dem not even a look suh is must a reason

1. Morning is only that people cant feel things in death but mi nuh sorry fi him..Let this be a lesson to all a di man dem whey nah mine dem pickney

5. It seemed like Jackie Brown NEVER get along well with people. Castro Brown was a big big producer that used to live in the UK and work with Dennis Brown (no relation) and other top UK acts in the 70s and 80s. He has money and lives in JA now so it seems strange that he would step in. Life insurance in JA & AMerica is reasonable so mi nuh understand why ppl have to die like this.

6. What a shame! The men that walk and breed up the place and bring life in this world,leave the women with all the responsibilities and don’t care how the children survive.
    I have a nasty bastard for a father myself.One of many children and if I hear him dead tomorrow I ain’t going to no ras funeral.

7. So after reading your comments I am going to say tell you all the facts they were a few of us who were willing to burn the sperm donor but one wanted big Splash which I taught was wrong no one went to NY n move the body so ppl can say all they want if he was all good then all 10 would swing one way

1. good evening but a jus 4k and mi know he may have not helped but him done dead already…u and the others doing good to he who did bad to u only will make your reward that much more………I agree though..no big splash

8. Well I am not into it he should had taught about that before he die n made peace with the few of us who wanted to make peace with him so is not like there is no money there to bury him let me make that very clear I n a few others just taught he didn’t deserve a big funeral so the one who’s begging is doing so on your own which honestly didn’t have to be that way he could had been burn long time from last year ppl are adding n making up story n don’t or didn’t get the fact . Let’s be very factual about this he’s from a huge family not a dusty back ground if he had treat the most important ppl in his life don’t u think things would had been better .

1. Good morning and I agree however he cant change that now so all that is going on I wouldnt say its not important for anyone to feel how they feel but ………….u do things most times for an outcome……..he cant change nothing he is already dead so even though he did not make peace with his children and may have been bad to some of his family….not really helping not spiting him because the dead cant feel nothing.

9. True dead feels nothing but I’m alive n I’m feeling everything . When u have a father poor n no have it but make sure he’s active in your life that father deserves to be put on a pedestal. But when u get a sperm donor WA hav it no poor live high life a pure champagne pon woman n left him kids hungry to the Mercy a Di world not even see them once in awhile a man like that @#@!#$$$$%%%#$ John crow fi nyamn that