JAMAICAN MAN WHO GAVE THREE WOMEN HIV WILL BE EXTRADITED TO CANADA

A Jamaican man who is wanted by the Canadian Government for sex crimes lost his long battle to defeat an extradition warrant on Wednesday when the Court of Appeal struck out his notice of appeal.

The Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions (ODPP) yesterday said that George Flowers will now be extradited to Canada where he is wanted on 12 counts of aggravated sexual assault.

A news release from the ODPP said that Flowers has been accused of engaging in unprotected sexual intercourse with four women knowing that he was HIV-positive and without informing them of his HIV-positive status.

“Three of the four complainants subsequently contracted HIV, and all complainants swore in affidavits that they would not have had sexual intercourse with him had they known he was HIV-positive,” the ODPP said.

Jailbreak

According to the State prosecutor, on March 21, 2013, the Government of Canada asked the Jamaican Government to extradite Flowers, who had fled to Jamaica.

“The then Minister of Justice Mark Golding, on June 3, 2013, issued the authority to proceed in respect of three counts. The Government of Canada subsequently submitted a supplemental extradition request for a single count of aggravated sexual assault against George Flowers, to which the minister issued authority to proceed on September 9, 2013,” the ODPP said, adding that an extradition warrant was then issued for Flowers’ arrest.

An October 2012 story on the Globe and Mail website reported Toronto police as saying that Flowers worked in Toronto in the entertainment business and met the women in bars and other venues.

“It’s alleged he has known since 1996 that he carries the HIV virus, which causes AIDS, but did not disclose his status,” the Globe and Mail report said.

“The Criminal Code specifies that anyone who is HIV-positive must apprise their sexual partners, and charges can be laid regardless of whether the infection is transmitted,” the newspaper added.

In its release yesterday, the ODPP said Flowers was arrested and committal proceedings were conducted before St Andrew Resident Magistrate Simone Wolfe-Reece, who on August 22, 2015 ordered that Flowers be committed to custody pending his extradition to Canada.

But Flowers, the ODPP said, challenged the order of committal by applying for his release by way of a habeas corpus application, which was heard by the Full Court of the Supreme Court on January 11 and 12, 2016.

“On June 30, 2016 the Full Court dismissed his application for habeas corpus and ordered that he be extradited to Canada,” the ODPP said.

However, on July 22, 2016 Flowers filed a notice of appeal. But the ODPP filed an application to strike out the notice of appeal and was supported by the Attorney General’s Chambers.

“On November 16, 2016 the Court of Appeal upheld the DPP’s application and struck out George Flowers’ notice of appeal, paving the way for him to be extradited to Canada,” the ODPP said.

Flowers was represented by attorney Don Foote, the Government of Canada was represented by the ODPP through Jeremy Taylor, senior deputy director of public prosecutions; and the Government of Jamaica was represented by the Attorney General’s Chambers.

14 thoughts on “JAMAICAN MAN WHO GAVE THREE WOMEN HIV WILL BE EXTRADITED TO CANADA

1. Yo! I just hope and pray that some little frighten over foreign man (deportee), whether self deported or not – did not go and sleep with him. He is a wicked. From 1996? come on he should have been gotten over his bitter revengeful stage. I feel it for those 3 young women.

I say this all the time, if you are dating do not be ashamed or afraid to ask your partners their status and you both should be tested. Even in long term relationships and marriages get tested! Knowing your status is the key to prevention.

2. Can don Foote win at anything?just one time!Finally a victory for the DPP! EeDiot ting u do yute but those 4 women MUST share some of the blame for engaging in unprotected sex.

3. Wow….well a similar case was tried here with an African man in Hamilton and he was convicted. Chances are very slim that he will beat this case. Yardie it is not a crime to sleep with someone without protection but it sure is to point a gun at someone and shoot them with intent to kill. Think of that gun as HIV/AIDS.

4. Wow philly ppl I hope you all reading this ,all that engaged in sexual act with shakira Reid should get tested and contact the police before she disappear

1. I keep hearing that she has AIDS/HIV but I thought it was just a malicious rumour. I hope its not true but if it is lives may be in danger.

5. Well I always say I. These times you can’t trust no one and some have and proberly don’t know all should protect them self by using condom it’s never a shame to ask these man esp dancehall who sleep around to use condom cause in the end if then give it knowing or unknowingly you still screwed sad situation

6. So sad.. Canadian dancehall elites.. hope unu a read dis n go get tested..cuz I’m sure enuff he slept with more Dan four women over that period of time

7. 20years well kiss mi r…. 4 women is the tip of the iceberg a much much more than that why him pic no up deh if him downtown in the entertainment district not many dancehall ppl used to go downtown those days we could get venues to keep dance north and west of the city, not anymore these days when dem hear the Jamaicans a come no one want rent we no weh (just like how dem run out BronX ppl outa black theatre) security, insurance tun up up, a man tel me when him done pay him naw mek nutten, this bwoy f**k nuff stush gal get f..college students

8. dem say dem think him dead he was a pimp, dealer, u name it he sang on stage he had a studio, no less than 2 gal mostly white him pic should up, dem should shot off him cock a nuff gal him sleep with dem say him look good, people see u wid condom dem call u whore, dem man no want use nutten so…there goes the story anyone u sleep with unprotected, you sleep with all their partners this is not fiction

9. George gi him wife, wife fren weh hide and grine him, him babymaddas the kids born with it plus other females 8 smaddy weh people know an see a street in clubs them must pick up man that don’t know their status, him let it go a Jamaica fi sure its too late he was sick down there in jail he got medication from friends and a run him run wey from Canada, the women in Canada