Jamaican straight men posing as ‘gays’ on gay-dating websites to rob 

The hustlings in Jamaica has taken on a new trend as it is being reported that several of the island’s heterosexual men are joining several gay male dating sites in order to rob these men.

Additionally, these so-called heterosexual males are providing the cash to their female partners, who in some instances are aware of their men’s deeds, according to at least one police investigator.

Two of the dating sites/apps cited are, the very popular, GRINDR, and the gay version of BADOO.

Several incidents have been reported about these so called ‘straight men’, who have been luring gays to attack and rob them, according to sources. 

In one of the cases, a gay individual from Portmore was robbed of $10,000, his iPhone and several appliances from his house after meeting up with a man on of the sites by the name of ‘Portmore link’.

According to sources, the alleged robber’s photograph has since been circulating on grindr, and several gay WhatsApp groups in an effort to warn individuals. 

In another case, which has allegedly been reported to the police, one man was robbed last month of a large amount of money in Ocho Rios. He was also stabbed several times by the man he was speaking to on GRINDR. He was also stabbed by the individual’s cronies. He remains hospitalized, and his statements recorded by the police. 

A copy of one of the broadcast mesages sent on Grindr warning gay participants of these criminal-minded individuals, was obtained. 

“Read my bio…..their new account names are Jermaine, Portmore link, Hook up, kenroy, teedy bear and curious…. They keep chainging names n dp but i keep tracking them…be on the look out,” said the broadcast message. 

On Grindr, individuals are required to create an account, with or without a non-sexual photograph of their choice, and state their ‘gay’ preferences. Sources say it is not an easy process to join the app as a valid email has to also be provided.

Other instances of robbery and violence meted out to gays by men they thought were of similar sexual orientations they met through another dating app, BADOO, has also been reported.

“Dem take down people pictures and use and will pretend like say dem into the (gay) lifestyle. One a mi friends, for example, was robbed in Half Way Tree by a man him met on Badoo. Me fren met him near Transport Centre after 9 one Saturday night and tek him phone and money and say, ‘Battiboy fi dead,’ before him tell mi fren fi walk off and nuh scream cause him will shoot him and say him have many eyes a Trees (Half Way Tree),” one individual explained about the situation bedeviling Jamaican homosexuals.

“We nah trouble straight man enuh. We on we own app and dem want rob and kill we same way. If you straight, weh you a do pon gay site a set up people fi rob dem?” quizzed the individual. 

A senior police investigator, who asked for his identity to be withheld, explained that he has heard reports of homosexuals being targeted on gay-based online platforms, and some have been robbed and even killed.

“I know that there are heterosexual men who have targeted homosexual men. The cases are their to substantiate these claims, and there are even worse case scenarios, where these (heterosexual) men end up killing homosexuals after agreeing to meet up, then robbing their victims and escaping. We eventually locate and arrest some of them when we find these stolen items in their possessions,” the investigator explained. 

However, he was quick to point out that there are bisexual males and downlow homosexuals who were targeting their own kind to rob and kill them.

The officer also posited that some female partners of these heterosexual/bisexual men are aware that their lovers are targeting homosexuals. 

“I am aware, and I can tell you this is fact; there are females who set up their heterosexual men on gay men to lure them to have them robbed to gain money to support the household. In other instances, the females urge their males to communicate with gay men for the sole reason of obtaining money and other material gains. Cases are before the courts, especially within the Corporate Area that point to these senseless and fradulent practices,” the officer shared.

“In one case in 2017 that I can recall, a female lured a male in his 20’s from Montego Bay to Kingston to meet her man at a hotel in the New Kingston area. The gay man said he met the gentleman on Adam-for-Adam (another gay dating app) and their conversation transferred to Facebook, Messenger and Whatsapp. But our probe into the mater later revealed that it was the woman doing the bulk of the messaging unaware to the gay man. 

“When he (the gay man) arrived at the hotel, he met the man as per the arrangement, but was held up, gun-butted, and robbed of his personal items. It was the security guard that was able to apprehend him after some of the stolen items fell from a bag the man had,” the officer explained. 

He went on to advise individuals, regardless of their sexuality, to exercise caution when meeting individuals on dating websites.

“There are so many cases, but individuals, gay or not, have to be careful of meeting strangers on dating sites, simply because criminals are being creative as the state of emergencies and hardcore policing have left them displaced so they are venturing in uncharted waters in order to make money illegally,” the policeman said. 

Underscoring that he is aware that homosexuals are apprehensive in reporting incidents of violence meted out to them, the senior police investigator is urging them to come forward and make reports that could, in the long run, save someone’s life. 

12 thoughts on “Jamaican straight men posing as ‘gays’ on gay-dating websites to rob 

1. Bob Marley and Marcus Garvey must really be turning in their grave…….
    Jamaica has really hit a all time low…
    I really dont know what is worse..

2. In this fucking generation, nothing surprises me anymore, absolutely nothing. I now of about 31 so-called DONS in Portsmouth, Passage Fort, Waterford whom have been practicing these acts since 2014, mostly of thier women, babymothers, wife’s knows about it and they the women accepts it because of greed. These women now a day’s in Jamaica is too fucking licky licky, and accept anything from thier man, knowing thier man isn’t working.

It starts with greedyness from these women for real.

1. Let’s think critically here. Which woman can easily leave any DON? While you out here blaming and cursing women, use your head sensibly. You think is a piece of cake for a woman to walk out on a so called DON without exposing herself to the possibility of some violence or death. Is not like many of these women would not love to leave these lowlife men, they are simply afraid to and stay for their safety and their family’s safety. It’s worse if the woman is goodlooking or have some big job where his profile gets elevated, she could only leave if she gets residency in some foreign country and don’t have to come back to Jamaica, or if he leaves her and replace her with someone else. These women have no power to leave off their own volition.

One did a look mi in high school, we were both in high school together. He went on to become a heavy street man, and next thing mi hear him treat him ooman dem like shit, box dung, kick dung and di works. The thing is I always sensed that underlying violence and control in him and that is why I never went there. He was loaded af, but I prefer live in a cave peacefully than in the lap of wealth in misery. Any woman thinking of getting involved with one of these men better think twice cause once you in their web it will be near impossible to get out, not to mention, domestic violence may be a part of the deal.

3. People making it seems as if there is nothing wrong with being, if these niggas werent mentallity ill they wouldnt be seeking men to sleep with…be straight and narrow, problem solve…no one was born gay

4. SOME A DEM FUCK THE BATTY BOYS, AN GET DEM HOOD SUCK B4 DEM ROB DEM , BUT DEM NAH TELL DEM WOMAN DAT, DEN DI UNEDUCATED LOW SELF ESTEEM BITCH GLADLY TAKE THE BATTY MONEY , DEN DI BOY FUCK HAR WID DI SAME SHIT UP COCKY ONLY A PITTY SHE NUH KNO SEH HIM DID FUCK DI BATTY MON BEFORE ROBBING HIM – BITCH GO CHECK YA PUSSI – OR CALL DOUGIE

1. Yes a tru dat. Gully batty bwoy tell dat to the whole world dat bad man and politician is how dem eat. I don’t trust Jamaican man not even in London because they do these tings plus they still licke licke for woman money and dem av dem job talk less of that batty bwoy business and some come a London and still nuh like work.

5. Well Jamaica it comes a time when ya hafi seh bwoy. Mek wi match our foot right back up those mountains. The city ain’t for you the city is for rich people preserve some dignity and stop the lawlessness because the only ting left fi do now is £^&* dog if that ain’t already the case. What a disgrace you don’t need babylon system none of it its a very selfish self serving system you need god. When your kids get a job. where do they go? out to look for themselves it’s better we start learning trades to help you up there this ain’t no good. But it does say in the bible that una will be destroyed due to your lack of morals and unholiness and here we go. Im embarrassed.