JAPANESE PHONE SCAME DEPLETES PHONE CREDIT IN JAMAICA

A new telephone scam has emerged in Jamaica and mobile phone users are expressing concern.

The calls are said to be a part of a scam known as “Wangiri” in which persons receive calls from a number in Poland and the caller hangs up before the person answers.

When the victims return the call, their phone credit is depleted or their phone bill is hiked, all of it going to the scammer.

Scores of local mobile phone users have complained on social media of receiving calls from a number with Poznan Poland area code.

Telecoms company Digicel Jamaica in responding to queries from one customer, said the matter is being investigated.

Other international mobile phone operators have warned customers not to return missed calls from unknown international numbers or risk being charged.

The Wangiri fraud has affected persons in New Zealand and other countries.

Wangiri is a Japanese word meaning “one ring and cut”.

The scam originated in Japan.

2 thoughts on “JAPANESE PHONE SCAME DEPLETES PHONE CREDIT IN JAMAICA

1. Oh raass…why yuh woulda really call back such ah strange numba? Why yuh wouldn’t search online fi see which country dat area code ah come from or at least fi si of anyone else ah get call frm dah numba?

Being dunce wid ah smart phone…what ah ting.

2. I not even call back local numbers if mi see dem pon mi phone. Who unno know from Poland? Kmt, bout unno a call back. All if me see certain number a call me, mi Google di number while it ringing fi see a who, nuff a dem a telemarketer. I don’t gots no voicemail eeda, cause I hate picking up messages, best thing I ever did was deactivate it, if you know mi call back or send a text.