LANDLORD BEAT TENANT AND SPEND CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEARS A JAIL

A landlord who rang in the New Year in custody was offered $200,000 bail when she appeared in the Kingston and St Andrew Parish Court on Friday.

Shamella Powell was arrested and charged charged with assault occasioning bodily harm.

Reports are that on October 30, Powell used a machete to beat her tenant in the head after he refused to pay his rent.

Allegations are that Powell was taken to the police station where she was charged and granted station bail.

But it did not end there.

Shortly after she was granted bail, allegations are that Powell attacked a man who was assisting her tenant to move his belongings from the premises. It was also alleged that she bit off the man’s left index finger in the second attack.

On Friday when the matter was called up, Powell’s attorney Ian Davis argued that his client was injured during the fracas.

However, Davis told the court that his client wished to mediate the matter.

The complainant told the court that he is willing to try mediation, but insisted that if they are unable to come to an agreement, the matter is “coming back before the court”.

Parish Judge Chester Crooks, who was of a similar view, told the complainant that he beat him to it.

Prior to offering bail, Crooks asked the mother of four if she is a substance abuser.

“Occassionally,” she replied.

She was offered bail with one or two sureties.

She is to report to the Greater Portmore Police Station on Mondays and Fridays between the hours of 6:00 am and 6:00 pm.

7 thoughts on “LANDLORD BEAT TENANT AND SPEND CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEARS A JAIL

1. Translation. I only a substance abuser when the rent is paid. Why did the Judge asked that question, as oppose to, are mentally ill? This woman appears to be very aggressive and a danger to others….biting off a man finger?

On another note, these Jamaicans seem to be experts at using machete for beating purposes without cutting the victim. Must be all in the wrist-action. 😀

2. That mad dog wanted her rent! :ngakak :ngakak as anon 12:12 say, you can’t expect better base pon de name 😀 😀

1. Boy Shamella, you couldn’t turn out no odds way wide a name like dat. The root of your name is ‘sham’ suh it bad from desso. Hope you get sent to anger management and help clean di roadside as community service, you need some humbling.

2. I hope she doesn’t partake in giving blow jobs. That is not the type of woman you want to pissoff while she is giving, otherwise you will be missing a vital organ at end. ouch!