LOW TURN OUT AT JASMINE DEEN PROTEST

Fear among residents has been blamed for the low turnout at the scheduled protest for the return of Jasmine Deen, the 22-year-old visually impaired student who went missing earlier this year.

According to one resident, it is alleged that persons in the Bull Bay, St Thomas community where Deen lived have expressed fear due to the fact that the two men who were charged in relation to her disappearance are also from the community.

Forty-year-old Tamar Henry, otherwise called ‘Braff’ and ‘Lavish’; and 36-year-old Gregor Wright, otherwise called ‘G’, remain in police custody after being charged with possession of identity information, unauthorised access to computer data and simple larceny.

“Based on information that we are gathering, it is not a case where persons would not want to come out because upon doing our sensitisation we have gotten 100 per cent support from the community, but out of fear a lot of persons aren’t coming out.

“Persons are fearful, I believe, and also what was related to me was that the fact that the individuals that have been apprehended, one of them is from the area, so right away off the bat it tells us that Jasmine Deen is in the company of someone that knows her,” said Fatima Muwwakkil, one of Deen’s neighbours.

Deen disappeared in February, after reportedly boarding a taxi at the Irvine Hall gate of The University of the West Indies some time before 10 p.m. She was wearing a white blouse and blue jeans, and sleuths retraced her movements and have even spoken to the taxi driver and other potential witnesses.

During the small protest earlier, Deen’s immediate family members and a handful of neighbours begged anyone with information about her disappearance to report it to the police.

“This is not a general search and rescue where you don’t have any clue. The individual was caught with Jasmine Deen’s card, the individual was caught with Jasmine Deen’s phone, how is it that they get those possessions? We the community members are saying we need a speedier apprehension of the culprits who took Jasmine Deen,” Muwwakkil said.

5 thoughts on “LOW TURN OUT AT JASMINE DEEN PROTEST

1. Spice and Bounty pickney dem safe and sound, where are the residents whose child might be next?, it would still be bad if this young lady had been taken by a random stranger, but to think she was targeted by adult men from her own community, who probably knew her from she was a young child, is just terrible, what is worse is that it was not one mad man but two or more, wtf kind of community is that when a vulnerable person is preyed upon rather than protected? I hope unnu use that fear wisely and chop up the pussy dem if dem eva see road.

2. Dont worry … if there is another AMERICAN George Floyd situation CELEBRITIES will come out of the cracks ….di not sure if this is Global enough for them