MAN ACCUSED OF MURDER WALKS FREE

Kimani Brown, who was accused of the October 2013 killing of a man at a fish fry in Portmore St Catherine, was today acquitted of murder in the Home Circuit Court in Kingston.

Justice V. Harris upheld a submission of a no case submission which was put forward by Brown’s attorneys Tom Tavares Finson Q.C. and Donahue Martin Jr.

The basis of the submission from the defence rested on issues of identification and circumstantial evidence.

The court was told that about 1:30 a.m. on October 27, 2013 gunmen entered a fish fire that was in progress in Portmore and opened fire hitting two men.

They were taken to hospital where one of the men identified as Oyuki Beckford succumbed to his injuries while undergoing treatment.

According to the prosecution, an off duty policeman who was at the event saw Brown in the company of another man who was walking with a firearm in his hand shortly after the shots were heard.

But the court accepted that there was nothing to link Brown to the murder based on the claim that he was seen in the company of a man with a firearm in the general vicinity of the shooting.

3 thoughts on “MAN ACCUSED OF MURDER WALKS FREE

1. Yuh see how dem love waste the court’s time n how wutliss the DPP is!!??How can you charge then prosecute someone based on evidence that not even reach circumstantial level! !??

Supposed a man just kill a baby and stop me on the road fi ask me the time. ..me a tell him but him see police a come n run..oh so me get charged with baby murder!!smh..nutten link me to the crime other than I was seen in the presence of a man with a gun!!

I weep for my country.
    Resign resign resign now now DPP Paula. .we going tek to the streets soon!!!

1. Me personally a submit her name this year fi go inna the guiness book of world records as the worst Prosecutor in the history of the world! !I swear to God pon mi life mi a dweet by September.

It’s a miracle that Kartel got convicted n I was told that she had nutten to do with hands on that case hence no blunders n excuses.

How can someone fail 99.9% of the time at their job n all u getting is excuses why them failing and no results in sight! !!??DPP resign resign n go fix yuh BBC teeth!!!!!