MARY LYNCH AFTER KILLING HER HUSBAND TELLS HER STORY

It was one of the most publicised murders, trials and convictions of its time.

In 1992 Mary Lynch was charged with the murder of her 54-year-old husband Leary — a high-profile executive at the National Commercial Bank. Mr Lynch had been reported missing after he failed to show up for work. Upon investigation Mrs Lynch was arrested and charged, after human skeletal remains found in bushes weeks later were positively identified through as being that of the missing banker through records. The post-mortem report pointed to death being as a result of 25 chop wounds.

Mrs Lynch testified that she was attacked by her late husband and, during a struggle, she get hold of the machete and inflicted several wounds. She was found guilty of murder by a 12-member jury and sentenced to life in prison without parole.

After 14 years behind bars at the Fort Augusta Adult Correctional Centre, Jamaica’s lone prison for women, she was released on May 18, 2007. This came after several appeals and the courts no longer deemed her a danger to society.

After 11 years of being a free woman, Mary Lynch is ready to tell her side of the story.

She is collaborating with Whirlwind Entertainment’s Michael Dawson to write, direct and produce a play, followed by a book and a documentary detailing what lead to that fateful night in 1992 when her husband was murdered.

“She called me through a contact and told me she was trying to tell her story, as she believes there was a conspiracy against her during the trial. I was away at college when this incident took place but was aware of it and that it would have been a great project to take on. It becomes even more timely given the buzz regarding domestic abuse and the #me too movement, so we have decided to go with it,” said Dawson.

Sponsored Links
Bead, Bamboo Coral (dyed), Red, 20x12mm-30x17mm Freeform, D Grade, Mohs Hardness 3-1/2 4. Sold Per 15-inch Strand –
$4.45 – firemountaingems.com
17 Actors Who Are Gay – No.13 Will Shock Women
Journalistate
He noted that putting together this story has been a challenge, based on the complexity of the case and the fact that Mary Lynch’s story will go against the grain of what is documented and what many persons have believed to be facts.

“It involved a lot of research… hours sitting with Mary, who is now 76 years old, to get her story. We have also conducted a number of interviews which have been recorded and could provide footage for the documentary in the future. I have produced about 10 plays in the past and this is the first one that has had to be read and viewed by the attorneys so many times to avoid any issue. We are not adding any dramatic licence to this script; there is no adjusting of her story to make it more believable. So whether or not you believe her, this is her story,” Dawson explained.

The play is the first of the trilogy. This one-woman production is set to open in early November and will see Actor Boy Award-winning actress Rosie Murray in the title role.

“This is a dream role for an actress, so I’m all fired up,” Murray told the Sunday Observer.

“When you check out the news and hear of the number of women being killed and the levels of domestic abuse, I believe it is time for us to speak. There are aspects of this story that nobody has heard and Mary strongly believes had these been brought to light during the trial she would not have been sentenced. We must realise that she too has a story and this play will give Mary Lynch a chance to speak,” she continued.

Murray has no trepidation in taking on this role which many may see as controversial. She noted that she has had to prepare herself fully for the emotional levels which will be required to be true to Lynch and her story.

“It’s not me… it’s a character so I had no reservations. Actresses are loved, liked or hated for the characters they play; it’s part of what I do so I have no fear. in fact, I am intrigued by the complexities of the character. Since I signed on we have met and it has been very easy and relaxed. She has been a real study to make my portrayal true. I am looking forward to this,” she added.

Murray was the unanimous pick for Dawson and his production team.

“We were a little biased, as the last time she was in one of our productions, Tek Yuh Hand Offa Mi, she received and Actor Boy Award nomination. But that aside, the fact that she recently told her own truth in her one-woman production Slice of Life, and the fact that she is a brilliant actress sealed the deal. Rosie is brave as an actress and this play is going to ruffle a few feathers, and she has no qualms in staying true to her character,” he said.

The Innocence of Guilt: The Mary Lynch Story is projected to run from November to February at the former Green Gables Theatre in St Andrew, then on to rural parishes before going overseas following the Easter holidays of 2019.

11 thoughts on “MARY LYNCH AFTER KILLING HER HUSBAND TELLS HER STORY

1. This is great that she is finally able to tell her story. I would love for it to be turned into a book as well.

2. Met in July I met with someone close to Mr.Lynch and there’s no way of telling what I was told without exposing the person.Suffice to say Mary Lynch murdered her husband in cold Blood n all the excuses as to Why she did so won’t change that fact.

1. U know I believe that she murdered him in cold blood…I can see myself in her situation…because if a man beat mi 1 time..mi woulda wait till him a sleep and kill him…much less multiple times….

3. First of all, That man used to beat her till she was unconscious. She was always wearing dark glasses. Not saying he deserved it, but he would lock her in the house and beat her. Smokey Vale massive know the tales. That lady went through hell. I was very young but I do remember her. I remember the black eyes, busted nose, swollen face, broken arms, bruises all of it. I remember her coming to the door every single time. She literally ran away from that house in her nightie one night trying to escape him. The gardener, helpers and all of them know she didn’t commit that crime by herself. This is gonna be very interesting. Again I am not supporting what she did, however I truly believe someone helped her dispose of the body, and if it was the other way around where he killed her would we even care? She wanted the lifestyle and thats what it was for many society ladies in those times and it still continues. Kick an box

4. I believe the husband wasn’t Jamaican..another Island,I think Trinidad. She was from a poor background and wanted the uptown life….and what came with it from some of these men

5. @anon @7:38pm, I would love to read the entire story as I am inclined to give her the benefit of the doubt…Please say more if u can..

1. They both worked at NCB I believe. He was a big man in the bank and I am not sure what her capacity was. You know how it goes, the usual young girl sex off the big man inna di organization and secure the bag. They got married and the beatings commenced. She get box dung and then got jewels. She got beat up, and then got trips, the usual foolishness. Thats as much as I know. Like I said I was very young. SHe was always nice to me and the other kids around if we saw her. When the really bad beatings happened I was told by my elders in the community that he would send the helpers and gardeners away. She used to be a prisoner in the house sometimes. She was very flashy and well put together. I don’t remember much of him because he would go away a lot. I am almost positive older folks soon start run their mouths about the situation. Again, he shouldn’t have lost his life but he was a tyrant to her. I think there were a couple public incidents but again I cannot confirm as I was young. Met as usual I will send on any info I get.

6. The observer did a 2 part story of the case in 2012, I read it after posting the first comment, it draws on the facts of the case and it basically paints her as a cold blooded killer. However, for those who are saying she was from a poor background, she was not! And in any case, money could not have been the motive based on the evidence that was found, the prosecution’s case was that she had found a receipt for a meal for two at La Roose in his briefcase and killed him in his sleep out of jealousy, however, there was also a will in the case where she was the sole beneficiary of $40M, if she had planned the murder and not done it in a rage, she might have made sure the receipt was disposed of, she killed him without a plan hence the clean up was messy and she avoided the police to get her story together but it was too late by then, she was already the main suspect. Her words under caution is what sealed it, she was said to have uttered words to the effect that she was sat at home washing dutty clothes when him and him gal gone a la roose and she woulda eat a food from Jade Garden right now lol, so her mentioning La Roose was key to the case, ps it was said that he had been to La Roose but with one of his male workers who usually accompanied him to his farm in Linstead where he had also visited earlier.

7. I do not believe her account of events. I think jealousy played out and he was defenseless when she killed him.