MAVADO ON THE BREAKFAST CLUB

0 thoughts on “MAVADO ON THE BREAKFAST CLUB

1. This guy have no substance,no intelligence what so ever first you talking away from the mic ,u dont want to look in the camera,only when ppl lying they tend to hold there head down when they talk.i watch only 10 min and thinking this guy dont have a 4th grade vocabulary ,what hits is he talking about you havent had a hit in a lonnnnnnnnggggg time YUH NAW MEAN

1. you sound like such a hater

the man is speaking his local dialect , patois

angela yee understands him and I’d rather he be himself than try to twang and say this like “I are the one” lol

big up yourself Mavado

2. Good Morning Met, Metters, Peepers nd Others …..

Fun nf joke aside for real why is it Movado don’t use him money and get even a speech trainer, duh a one on one home schooling. .the patios is no problem here it’s jus dat him words dem extremely limited all he keeps saying from day wan is “naw a mean” plus the iffy butty.

There is ntn wrong wid getting help David u av de money put pride aside and really up yuh ting cuz yah nah seven a 2015

(Simplicity soon sign in)

1. It luk a Moe wi haffi guh start address fi tel her husband fi guh deal wid as an international awtist him can duh way better.

She Fantasia tek shame outta har yeye nd guh duh har ting

(Simplicity soon sign in)

1. why yuh want him can change him into somebody else. wah him a do a work fi nooo? people said di same ting bout bob … mavado mek dem learn your ting ..big up .. obama learn few word a dem happy lol

1. Bob patois had Iintellect and substance
        Patois is not the issue lack of substance an d poise is
        Listen to all Killa speak u get him point it tek a lot fi listen movado
        Don’t put Bob and Movado in the same sentence

1. more crab inna barrel, Bob patois had intellect lol
          bob set it and others try to get there just be happy anadda a do good….. jesus ………………mavada is mavado not bob

3. Mi nuh understand nuff a unno. If the man did guh pon d radio a talk like an American unno bash him and now the man talk straight patois and unno bash him.

The interview could have been better in terms of substance but is the first mi see a Jamaican interview wid straight patois suh mi rate it.

Wha u mean by which hits? The man have nuff hits a which worl u inna. The man nuh well educated and we know that. Only bruk ppl try use education over money when the only reason u a work is fi mek money. So what’s ur point?

Nuff a unno vex cause the man mansion done and the million stack high while bounty a beg Obama fi visa and neva finish him house.

#aintgoingbackbroke

4. Big up movado He’s a street youth don’t change for no one, always your own people try to put u down, look at bobs vocabulary, wasn’t much different if he was twanging people would say he’s fake! As bob said u can’t please all the people all the time, keep making hit after hit,

1. Exactly! Bob is a Legend and nuff time the way bob spoke in his interviews weh me watch back, me haffi wonder if he was on crack. We like to put down our own people too much

5. First of all, this is not a tv interview, this is a radio interview that is being videoed so he has no reason to be looking in the camera. Secondly, why would one make a big deal about him turning his head to speak with each person, which just happens to make his mouth turn a bit from the mike? If he was holding his head down the entire time or looking straight ahead and not looking at his interviewers at all, people would still have a problem. It’s not like he is able to hear back himself to know that he is pulling away too far. I have no problem with him speaking patois, I like that he is being himself. I am very proud of him and his success. Education doesn’t determine where you go in life and it doesn’t make you a better person. Many persons go to school and they come out not doing a damn thing with that education because they have to turn to something else. Bill Gates didn’t finish College and look where he is? Steve Jobs also dropped out and look at his legacy. As someone pointed out, the reason we go to school to get our pieces of paper is so that we can make money and have better lives. Mavado is doing that without the formal education. He is using what he has and what he knows to make a better life for himself. There is always room for improvement but everything is not for everyone. He answered the questions appropriately and they understood him when he spoke and that is what is important. If he was just chatting chatting, people would still have a problem. I’d rather he keep his words few and to the point than to hear him rambling on and speaking nonsense. Big up yuh damn self Mavado, I am proud of where you have reached in life and I wish you all the very best

6. Jamaicans don’t stand out for being prim and proper and there is no tourist or lover of our culture who wants to be like the corporate or formally educated Jamaican

7. Zeen……..when was his last hit or which song was the last hit again? Take my word for it look how kartel gonna kill him on HIS own track “aint going back broke” charlemagne should have gave him DONKEY OF THE DAY for talking all that crap YUH NAW MEAN

1. Dem need fi eat a book I don’t feel that guy has anyone around him who has a genuine interest in his well being
        After all this time he still sound and look dumb nothing about patois being from ghetto or dancehall entertainment
        Compare him to other entertainers and see a book or education don’t make you smart
        All Gully Bop sound better than Movado and speak with more substance

1. Dem sickening the 2 or 3 whey always a cuss all when people dont say anything and if a dem round him then as u seh..dem nuh have no genuine interest in him

1. Frm him sign tuh DJ K Movado nuh have no constant hits all dat suicidal phuckery weh him guh mek almost deaf me…abt 5 hits mi hear from nd no1 is telling him twang or standard English out, him need to expand pon him rass PATOIS tuh since a dat unno feel ppl a tell him drop.

Him fi learn fi tek constructive criticism n bob n vado deh pon ten different level

2. Better yet name the last 5 dancehall riddim and I bet you Mavado have one of the top three songs on it and him not even in Jamaica.

Him hit song “goodbye to my haters” a fi unno.

And if Kartel do better pon him on him own song so what? Who you think get the credit? Who deh a road can do shows?

Some a unno seh vado have a 4th grade vocabulary but most a unno think like a 4th grader.

8. Zeen…..am busy right now listening to kartel on the keystone riddim (for the record he locked up and movado in the street) he jus wack right now thats y even with bling on a beautiful wife house cars etc he jus dont seem bless theres like a darkness over him YUH NAW MEAN

9. Patois is a very expressive dialect. A lot of these artists, including Movado do n to make full use of the dialect. It is something that myself and friends have noticed about too many Jamaicans since 2000. Very limited in their use of Patois as if dem nuh kno dem culture.
    There is a reason why dancehall in its spread around the world has gone to the dogs. The people within it are not too articulate in Patois, much less queen’s English.
    Put it this way, if The Breakfast Club were interviewing Tenor Saw, there wouldn’t be no argument, on here about him being articulate and sticking to his patois. Just by his lyrics alone, you could see him did get the full countryside influenced growupsy that included parables from granny and a love for Jamaican culture and patois.
    Most a dem nowadays artists sound dyslexic, and if unnu think a snob wi a snob, guh listen some 1980’s dancehall and see if you can get the references without referring to Patois dictionary or urban dictionary. Facts is, nuff yute dat born a farrin from Jamaican parents have a better understanding of FULL patois than the nowadays, too many anti education, anti culture, ghetto yutes a yard. Back in the day, Ghetto never equated to nignorancy and anti education. And mi nuh mean SCHOOLING, mi mean EDUCATION. Di two a dem a two different sinting! Truss and believe, anno gud sinting if Mavado stays at this level of articulation. Him need more vim and substance inna him communication.

1. Thank you oh well like I said no teeth Gully Bop ssound better than Movado and that’s a damn shame
      No likkle nuthing to him
      Him is just a meal ticket to him followers mi convinced seh if someone try put sense inna Vado head him entourage gut that person like a fish

10. I am a firm believer in continuously upgrading one’s self & would certainly love to see him not only developing himself only professionally but also personally. There is nothing wrong with getting some more formal training academically, Im sure he would love to be able to read & understand his Artiste riders & contracts (which by the way will be drafted in standard English) & understand his terms & conditions without having someone to read them to him.

We as a society need to remove the stigma & stop calling ppl “dunce” different ppl have different abilities & disabilities, & strengths & setbacks & limitations. I am from a very educated family, so my sister being richly endowed in this area unfortunately her son was not as fortunate in this area & she use to beat him & tell him that “she bright suh him affi bright to” & use to compare him with a neighbour’s child that Ms. So & So (just use that as an example) nuh bright & fi har pickney bright… I had to step in & draw the line & ask her if she had taken d time out to find out if he had a learning disability which caused him to be a slow learner & showed her that if he did not have d capability to learn at a normal rate as other kids in his age group he could always learn a skill instead when he’s older & made reference to other perons who did well & excelled in life without getting a proper education. Further checks revealed that my nephew did have a learning disability unbeknownst to his mom. One thing I can tell u though that i discovered that at d tender age of 7 he was very good with his hands, he will pull apart any motorized toy & assemble it from scratch & I showed her his ability & pointed her to his strength & told her I was calling it early, that who knows he might just be an engineer. This just goes to show that we all have strengths & weaknesses. @my2cents 11:43am even though did not quite view Movado’s interview in the same light as u did, at d onset, as my first reaction was he could have prepared himself more to speak formally; but I really like how u still made ur point in a very subtle and respectable manner. I like d cross reference u did with Bill gates & Steve Jobs. Yes not everyone has d mental capacity to excel academically but that shouldnt hinder someone from making an effort or an attempt for self development. There is a time & place for everything. Staying true to our own culture & dialect is very important ofcourse but even President Obama knows d importance of blending in & adjusting to different cultures but at the same time still maintain & stay true to ur roots, languages etc, as he did by using our own Jamaican creole when he greeted us & said “Wah gwaan Jamaica?” In sure that meant so much to me, us as a nation. Yes nothing is wrong in talking ur native language on a International level but in the same breath our official language is still the Standard ‘Jamaican’ English. I say be versatile, make yourself more marketable. If u strive to go international or in his case is already an International Artiste at least take d time out to equip yourself with the necessary tools to promote & advance yourself for further growth. Im not saying u have to learn to speak Japanese if u r going to perform in Japan but atleast learn d basics of a universal language so u can address ur fans if needs be. While music is a universal & uniting force, U would not want to be addressing a fan or d press in ur native language & everyone is shell shocked & in abeyance to what u r trying to say?! I say to Mr. Brooks & all other international or aspiring International Artiste at least try to broaden ur horizons. Its helps & serves to make u a better u. If u have read this to d end…sorry for d epistle.

1. This is the truth and I was discussing this same thing with my BFF only last week. I find that the Jamaican school system also does not do anything to identify children with learning disabilities unless it is really pronounced. They feel it is easier to call a child dunce and all the rest of it, those children become adults and because of the ”dunce” stigma they had from childhood it makes them angry. I endorse what you said about being able to make yourself versatile ,Jamaican artistes need to learn that.

1. U r so right about that Metty in d education system in Jamaica its just 2 category “bright” & “dunce”. Im tired of hearing ppl telling children that dem “head tough”, maybe he/she has a challenge or a difficulty grasping what is bing taught because of an undetected or underlying issue. Im going to go out on a limb here & say that the Ministry of Education in conjunction with the Disability Foundation need to have some programs in schools & ways of identifying these problems, everyone is just grouped together, & the quick learner forge ahead while the slow learner lag behind, some are just there for the paycheck & dont really care who grasp the lesson. My mother always say there is no dunce children, every child can learn, will learn & must learn, they just have different ways of learning & just need the extra help to find out whats there learning style. Some learn more by seeing, some learn by hearing, some through music, some by all. some are more artistic than others & gravitate to more fun & interesting ways, and sometimes we do not stop to figure this out, so they get left behind & as adults get lost in the system. Some try to improve & seek higher education later on in life, while others just continue throughout life without seeing the importance of giving it another try. I dont mean to twist the topic, this was about Movado but maybe he doesnt know better & doesnt want to do better maybe d first time aaround in the school system was an unpleasant experience for him & now that he is grown & older he doesnt want to face that fear again & grab d bull by the horn. We need to just Stop telling children bout “crab toe writing” and those hurtful things maybe just maybe that child has difficulty seeing what is written on d chalk board & need glasses. early detection means early & swift treatment & prevent issues arising further on in life or down the road. Maybe if we can detect some of these problems from early then maybe some ppl dont have to get lost in d school system & go in with nothing & exit even more clueless than how they went in.

1. Respect & Big up yuhself Simpli.

Some ppl with certain mental deficiency excel artistically eh nuh, mi know a youth with down syndrome & him can sing & dance yuh see, suh dem fall short in 1 area & mek up fi it in another . please dont get me wrong anyone, Im not saying this is d case with movado i just use his plight to lend my voice to another area we can take a closer look into, Im just saying… God doesnt make anyone perfect he gives us all strentths & weaknesses to balance out d equation yuh know a mean…lol

11. Mavado is a walking embarrassment. He stated that he is not able to travel and yet still he is contending that he does not have any immigration related issues. Patios conversations with others who don’t comprehend the dialect does not make any sense.

What’s alarming is that people who know him are saying that he has come a long way. The man is underexposed and he desperately in need of some polishing…

1. @LAlibela my frien how are you?, The statement about not being able to travel and immigration is obviously a subject he does not want to speak on and explained it the way he did.I am sure that it is obvious to all and sundry that his response was not entirely truthful, but then again this is a touchy subject to discuss publicly, therefore this was his attempt to protect his business, (my opinion), and we cyaan blame him. Maybe you and I would have covered it better,or maybe they caught him off guard.

I love that he spoke in his natural dialect, what he felt comfortable with, patois being very expressive, I love that he did that. Not everyone was born to receive higher education, or can even handle it, or put dem foot inna school for that matter. Some people who are not book smart have even more wisdom that so called intellectuals and scholars. Some people are learned, yet they cannot express themselves verbally and so they rely upon the written word. So many possibilities.

In criticizing him people can say (I however am not saying this, he is quite fine to me) he needs polishing, but I think being himself, as unpolished as others believe he may be, he is definitely talented and this speaks for itself. His talent took him from hardship to touring the world and people knowing who he is, Great accomplishments.

It is easy for the highly educated or fairly intelligent to thumb their noses at him for speaking his dialect and for even his mannerisms but people dig hard in mines to fine precious stones. I say let him be, he came to the forefront with his talent, and it is his artistry which got him somewhere. Big him up and be proud of him, another Jamaican on the world stage. Pray for his continuous growth and goodness. Let him be who he is, as he is.

Let us build him up with kind words and encouragement.

Not everybody who speaks the Queen’s English has a command of it. I would rather he speak as he did on the breakfast club than hearing the lispy Elephant man, attempt his God awful Yankee accent with the “Shizzle” behind every word.

I am proud of you Mavado!

12. The Mavados of the world are making other Jamaicans look bad. I am a super Jamaican with a Jamaican accent and because a lot of people are use to hearing the garbage that is uttered by the likes of Mavado, whenever I speak in public, I am being told that I am not Jamaican or that I was not raised in Jamaica.

It is embarrassing really bad…

13. I remembered when my daughter was doing GSAT and came time to pick her schools, I picked only technical school and the principal asked my reasons and I told her that, i am not going to kid my self as I know my child’s strength and that’s with her hands.The principal said to me “mother your one of the sensible one”….

14. Mi couldn’t watch di entire interview :nohope I only hope dat Movado learn a ting or two if him go back an watch dis interview. It is critical for the interviewer to understand the person being interviewed. Mi nah seh him fi twang, mi dus ah ask him fi seek assistance fi construct ah decent sentence. Ah him seh “from nothing tuh something” Movado mi still nuh believe seh you ah eediat…..suh duh betta.

15. YA AL SO STUPID, THE MAN A SPEAK PATOIS, AND IT HIS SPEECH TONE THAT HE WAS BORN WITH, YOU ALL TALK BUT YOU DON’T RESEARCH SHIT, AND NEXT THING A SEE A LOT OF PPL A TRY TALKJ PATOIS WHEN DEM GET INTERVIEW AND DEM SOUND STUPID NO F**K, BETTA DEM NOT EVEN TRY SPEAK NO ENGLISH………….CAUSE DEM SHAME DEM SELF…BIG UP MOVARDOOOOOOOOO….ENGLISH NO GOOD DEM SAY BUT U STILL SHINING A A BIG UP JA SAME WAY NUFF WE NEED NUFF MORE ARTIST FI TEK IT TO THE WORLD LIKE STORM…GET MORE INTERVIEW OVER SEAS AND MORE ATTRACTIONS FOR JA..AND MORE VISITORS LOVING REGGAE, WILL VISIT JA MORE OFTEN, MONEY IS REVENUE..EVERYONE WANT TO LEARN OUR MUSIC, ABOUT OUR CULTURE ETC…EVEN WHEN DEM NO UNDERSTAND DEM DANCE TO THE BEAT OF THE MUSIC.