MEN RAPED

Two Jamaican males have decided they will no longer suffer in silence and have come forward with horrifying stories about how they were ‘raped’ by other males.

One of the men, George Brown*, a security guard, said his father raped him repeatedly for five years.

And Paul Black*, who now resides in Canada, said he became suicidal after a family friend took advantage of him.

“It started when I was seven and lasted until I was about 13 or so. By age nine, everything that is seen on American TV was done to me. The ordeal was cruel,” Black said.

In the case of Brown, he claimed that it was his own father that made his life a nightmare.

“Me try put it a the back a me mind and shut it out, but it nah work at all. A nuff time you hear dem tings deh happen to girls, but it happen to a lot of youth too. And like we just hide it cause we nuh waah get labelled as fish,” he said.

KISS ME

Brown explained that his father, who was well-respected in the community, began violating him at age 14.

“We lived with my stepmom in St Catherine. My mother lived in another parish. One Friday night after we finish watching Entertainment Report, me get up and tell him me a go a mi bed, and him hug me up and say, ‘Me son, me love yuh’. And when him a let me go, him kiss me on me lips,” he said.

Brown said his father must have noticed the shock on his face because he quickly assured him that he was just playing his fatherly role.

“Me call me madda and tell her, and she tell me say a lie me a tell, a true me nuh like the strict life,” he said.

Brown said that he brushed the matter aside after a few weeks because there was not a repeat of the incident.

“He went about his way like nothing happened until I told myself that maybe I was over thinking. But me did wrong because one night him come from work and me stepmom did a sleep and me just feel him on top a me. Me too shame to talk wah happen next,” he said.

Brown said the assaults continued, and each encounter would become worst, especially while he was preparing for CXC.

“Di dutty man stay up all night and watch di show (for English Literature), and a get erection and a tell me to come sit in his lap. Me fail the exam miserably,” he said.

SEVERAL COUNSELLING

Brown said the abuse stopped after he confided in a neighbour who threatened his father and told him that he was going to report him to the authorities.

He said that his father denied the allegations, saying the stories were fabricated. The neighbour, he said, made contact with his mother who eventually came and took him to live with her.

Brown said he and his father are not on speaking terms. He stated that he is undergoing several counselling sessions, but he still has major anger and trust issues.

“Me confront him more than once about what he did to me and him act like him clueless to what me a talk bout. Me have a girlfriend, and not even she me nuh tell what happen to me,” he said.

Black also has a similar story of abuse. In his case, it was a male family friend who violated him.

“The night before I did my Common Entrance Examination, I was badly abused to the point where I passed out and woke up to this man still having his way with me. I went to school the next day with hand towel padding my brief as I was still bleeding badly,” he said.

“I didn’t tell my father because he was a very ‘dark’ man and wouldn’t believe. I tried to give him hints though, but the man nearly cut me throat. I want to tell my parents, but I think the shame that would accompany such scenario would be endless,” Brown added.

Brown told THE WEEKEND STAR that his sex life is basically non-existent, and the ordeal has left him on the verge of committing suicide.

“Every time I get naked, the scars are there to tell the tale. I am still a virgin. I will never change in a locker room at work because seeing another man naked terrifies me,” he said.

“I’ve tried suicide seven times most recent last December. A year ago, I took a bottle of Paracetamol and two bottles of sleeping tablets altogether. I spent two and a half days in the hospital, and had to stop from work for a month,” he said, insisting that parents need to communicate with their kids.

Brown has never reported the matter to the police.

* Names changed to protect identities

24 thoughts on “MEN RAPED

1. Tears in my eyes as I read this. So many Jamaican men are suffering from sexual abuse and rarely is anything done about it. Our homophobia has harmed us and messed up our way of thinking. If I had the means I would definitely try and help put systems in place to help male victims. Our young men and boys need role models!

2. explore spirituality & forgiveness; anger keeps a person unhappy and does not hurt the offender, only your own quality of life. Pray daily and be specific (i.e. I want so-and-so thoughts to stop, strength to…to understand…to feel joy daily sleep well…whatever it is you specifically what you want. Also create a daily mantra or affirmation stating what you want as though you already have it. For example, I am loved, I a, strong & confident, these are a few I got from the internet…I am a beautiful limitless soul with everything I need at my fingertips…I release old conditioned beliefs that no longer service me. I am free! You can find more online for ideas. Do this daily. This is a way of rewiring your brain. Also keep a daily gratitude list, with at least 3 things you appreciate. Doing this for 30 days has been proven to improve moods and increase feelings of happiness. It’s possible over time to overcome this. Karma will take care of your father (he should be reported though because most sex offenders offend more than once and you can save someone else from the same experience). Lastly, as the child the child in the situation, elders have a responsibility to protect. You should never feel guilty. None of what happened is your fault. Your father failed in his role to protect you and abused his authority. It’s 100% on the abuser. I will be praying for you. Your own happiness and well being is the best revenge!

3. Sigh…this has been going on in Jamaica for years and some nasty mother’s are to be blamed because they don’t listen to their children.

I know of a case in 2006 a 10 yr old boy tells his mother that he is scared and doesn’t feel normal because he likes one boy..mother decided that he need help so she send him to pastor…next thing you know pastor start molest him.

He told his mother first time and she beat him for lying and send him back to the pastor who did it again, he tried to commit suicide after.

Cutting the story short police came, he told police after asking him why. police took him to doctor.. his ass is wrecked and semen is there. pastor got arrested got bailed then fled the island. Church is silent, mother is silent.. child committed suicide at 12 yrs old

4. Omg, shame, disgrace or fear of not being believed are what keeps us from reporting some of the sick abuse we have faced or are facing.

1. Anonymous 11:15am sooooooo true. A lot of us have faced some unspeakable things and because of how society is the abused,lives in fear, with shame even though its not their fault. We need to stand up as a country and back those who need us

5. Yes I wish more men would speak up. There are a lots of battymen undercovers that are married or in relationships with women.
    Unbeknownst to these to these women that their men are using them
    as a cover or some find out and leave.
    YLT since you are gay why dont come talk up why them sick men ya prey on boys or men. Since you love come over ya come correct grammar. What do you have to tell women or families about these kind of men. Battyman lie and wicked bad.

1. So because Yardie always a correct grammar him gay do you know him personally? Or since u are so into assuming and labeling it’s safe to say YOU ARE A SHITEATER N WHEN U SPEAK SHIT FALLS FROM YOUR MOUTH fawking low di man anytime man nah use derogatory names n phrases fi class unnu wormshit automatically them gay just continue eating shit n FAWK OFF germs

6. Omg this hurts my heart and soul.. I will pray for these and all the other young men and women who are being abused…

7. My heart cries. Can you imagine the ones still suffering in silence? ??? If it’s so hard for girls and women to come forward can you imagine the pain, terror and fear for these boys and men???? My GOD!!!! Something needs to change!

8. Evil. Pure evil. These poor men. I can bet it happen to many many others, but the stigma and taboo and the shame make them keep it inside. Then we wonder why so many youths grow up and turn into cold blooded murderers. Not that I am condoning or justifying criminal behaviour, but I do believe that the horrors some people go through as youngsters can often lead to mental illnesses later in life. It’s too much to bear man. Jamaica need to do more to raise awareness and have reliable and dedicated organisations which children can turn to if they are in need. MET and pink wall are you aware of any such organisation? If so, maybe pink wall can publish the contact details and get things moving on social media. In the uk, the kids can call child line for help but I don’t know if they have any assigned lines like this in JA?

9. MORE THAN ONE PERSON TOLD ME THEY WERE RAPE IN JAMAICA AS A CHILD. I COULDN’T BELIEVE HOW MUCH GOT RAPE AND NEVER TOLD ANYONE. MOSTLY MAN. SAD!!! 🙁

10. This is the other side of rape rarely talked abt…the men’s stories. So many of them traumatized. And these “parents” who refuse the believe their children…fi them hell gwine be extra hot. How them sleep ah night time is beyond me.

Some of the things that are in the human heart, words cannot be found fi describe such evil.

11. The worst thing about these gay “so called” straight MEN them constantly lieing and carrying news from women to woman fi cover them homosexuality. When women find out about them disgusting lifestyle them tell lies on the same women or bring in another woman fi cover fi them. It happen to a friend. FACTS.

12. No one should be surprised. You guys really think only girls are molested in Jamaica? Where you think the toxic masculinity which exists here come from? Some of the first people to yell batty man fi dead are some DL men raping boys. I am glad these men spoke up. Most of JAs problems are boys who have been violated and eventually become mentally ill and/or
    criminals.

13. So sad. That’s y i never trust a man that carries news or too homophobic. Yardie, MAX roll out your input is needed ASAP. I have boy and girls and as they grow i trust no one with them. I watch front n back. Because a gal or boy can’t live to apologize to me for taking my kid innocence. In fact i sing to every one that i don’t trust anyone with my children.

14. Even some of these high profile pastors you see them on the TVs bashing it, you see them in HWT when churches unite about homosexuality.

The selector in the danceable that lick out Pon it but dem a nyam batty as dance just done

15. I can’t even write my real feelings. But know this you are a Victor you can put this behind you and move forward. Keep talking about it and express your thoughts daily. Write in a journal daily it will get out some more f the anxieties.