MISS TRINIDAD WAS STRANDED IN CHINA AIRPORT BECAUSE OF LACK OF FUNDS TO PAY FOR EXTRA LUGGAGE

Kimberly Farrah Singh

Miss World T&T 2015, Kimberly Farrah Singh, arrives at London’s Heathrow Airport, yesterday, after returning from China where she competed in the Miss World Pageant on Saturday. She is due to arrive home today.
This country’s Miss World 2015 representative, Kimberly Farrah Singh, returns home today after getting last-minute funds to pay for her extra luggage in China.

Singh was stranded in Guangzhou on Sunday night because she did not have US$700 to clear three additional suitcases packed with Miss World T&T items that were contributed by local designers. On Sunday night, her family tried to make a payment via credit card but was initially told that the charges could not be processed. Her sister, Renata, said yesterday they were able to get the funds to her late Sunday. She left Guangzhou around 9.30 am and arrived at the Heathrow Airport around 2.30 pm (London time) where she met with relatives. She is expected to touch down at the Piarco International Airport at 5 pm today and supporters on Facebook have planned for her return. Although she did not make it to the top 25 in last Saturday’s pageant in Sanya, many supporters believe she represented the country admirably. She was even rated as Missosology’s #10 pick for the competition.

Renata said the family made arrangements to get the funds for her to clear her luggage.

“She is meeting with family and now she is exhausted, and cannot wait to get back home. She is in transit now so I don’t know how much talking she can do. She is just tired and probably jet lagged,” Renata said.

Singh’s relationship with Miss Oneness Entertainment, the holder of the Miss World T&T franchise, continued to deteriorate when the organisation responded to Renata’s Facebook post on Sunday.

Renata had made a plea for information to locate or contact president of Miss Oneness Entertainment, Vanessa Sahatoo-Manoo, after Singh was left stranded.

Later on the Miss World T&T’s page, the organisation said, “It has come to our attention that a certain post made on Facebook by Renata Singh was very malicious and totally inaccurate. The content of such was that our delegate Kimberly Singh was left ‘stranded with no money’ to pay for her extra luggage.

“The National Director first became aware of this post while in transit on her way home. The Miss World T&T organisation wishes to remind the family of Miss Singh that she was given sufficient money to cover her approved extra luggage prior to her departure to Sanya, China. To the members of the public we wish to inform you that regardless of this erroneous statement, Miss Singh is already on route to London via China Southern Airlines. “It is to be noted that when in transit with the same airline as that of Miss Singh, her luggage would have been checked right through until her final destination with said airline.

“Regardless of this, our organisation went ahead and paid again to have Miss Singh’s luggage (approved and otherwise) on British Airways.”

However, one of Singh’s relatives, Kievan Baboolal, posted that although Caribbean Airlines waived her luggage fee on her trip between Port-of-Spain and London, she had three excess pieces of luggage to check in. This meant she had to pay the fee for her trip between London and Sanya. While she was given a stipend by Miss World T&T organisers for excess baggage, meals, travelling and incidentals, it was not enough to cover the US$725 luggage fees to Sanya. He said she had to borrow cash from relatives in London to cover this cost.

He said Singh informed Miss World T&T organisers of this and requested more funding but got no response.

Singh’s journey to China has been a rough ride as she was dethroned in October by Miss Oneness Entertainment for alleged breaches of her contract and failing to raise enough money to take her to the competition.

She was replaced by 2015 runner-up Daniella Walcott but Singh fought back when she filed legal action in the San Fernando High Court contending that her contract stated that matters would be settled through arbitration.

News

27 thoughts on “MISS TRINIDAD WAS STRANDED IN CHINA AIRPORT BECAUSE OF LACK OF FUNDS TO PAY FOR EXTRA LUGGAGE

1. There is always some drama wid Ms TnT..always!!Met u remember when Anya did Inna 3some wid ms Japan??me have the video all sorta a nastiness like anal n thing!!Me have the video,u want see it kmt!Then Wendy go married Lisa Ex hubby n also breed fi him at the time when it did stink that him a fish!!ppl fi stop mek Trinidad ppl hype on dem bout real rich,dem envy Jamaicans bad bad!

2. So “Oil Rich” Trinidad cudden help har out lmao di way how di Trini citizens dem boast bout how dem rich & have oil mi neva know this wudda reach dem dwl

3. Unno memba di time when di Haitian female soccer team had to put money together & give it to di Trinidad soccer team at a tournament here in the US bcuz dem neva did have enough money dwl. Trinidad need fi humble dem self a that dem fi do & stop boast bout dem rich

4. I find it very offensive that every time something is posted about Trinidad the jamaicans run in talking about we don’t like them ,we feel we rich,we are nobody etc..and as soon as somebody say something about jamaica y’all get so defensive. Their are Trinidadian who read the pink wall too and just how y’all feel when someone say something bad about jamaica we feel the same damn way..how the ass*don’t like* n we feel we rich reach in kmtttt ..this is not d first ,second or third time i saw this going on .but as soon as someone speak the truth y’all gang up on the person..I don’t care what nobody says this is fukery!!!!! Who more hype than jamaicans smfh…uno come slaughter me now idgaf

5. A true inuh i have to agreeeee jamaica is the hypest carib country yup. But we have love for every country but hated by most if not all neighbourn contries y??? If we hype a just suh but we treat everyone good everyone but its not vice versa :nohope

6. the person who start this topic haul allyuh mudda cunt… what the f**k all yuh know bout we eh?…. all Jamaican can do is bleach and thief…. wtf… get off we trini clit….. all all yuh does do is go party and show off all yuh dress and shoe and then bring it back the next mud cunt day….. half of all yuh ugly no fu$&…. some of all look like men ….thats why we trini does f**k all yuh man and let them stay cause we good up

7. B4 me can even address dis Bs,i would love to know who is the person who start the topic.remember is not every mother’s cunt we tek up for enuh Met….star Apple,Sweets to name a few!

8. Guh learn to write english but bcuz u dunce the only ting u a du is use ur pussy to get paid!!! Miss trini dnt look like any of our miss worlds my dear bout ugly!