MOMO’S EXPLANATION OF DANCE ROUTINE GONE BAD

At the height of the party, as the crowd clamoured for more, 22-year-old Kadeine ‘Momo’ Ormsby glanced at her coworker across the room, and was instantly struck with an idea she was sure would have sent the dance floor into a frenzy. “Stand on your head, and I’ll jump right through your legs,” she whispered to her coworker, the equally excited Roxanne Evans, who also went by the name ‘Bumpa’. As the two got set to execute the tricky maneuver – known locally as the ‘Chuck Tru’, years of dancing together as members of the same dance group – ‘Gladiator Girls’, made them confident that all would go well.

Tragically, however, that was not to be. Ormsby has yet to figure out where the maneuver went wrong, but, as she recalls of that disastrous night – Thursday, January 23, she failed to complete the jump. Instead, she landed on ‘Bumpa’, who was positioned on her head with arms folded for support, and they both came crashing to the ground. “When we hit the ground, I was on her back, so I tried lifting her up,” Ormsby told the Western Mirror. The former Spanish Town resident further explained that it wasn’t instantly clear to her just how serious Evans’ injury was, or if she had sustained any injury at all. But that was all cleared up when she realized that Evans was unresponsive.

“When I tried pulling her up at first, she moved her head once, so I didn’t think anything much, but then she stopped moving after that. Then people on the dance floor started telling me to let go of her and to put her back down. That’s when I realized something was wrong,” Ormsby explained. The festive dance atmosphere soon turned to panic, with a number of attendees fanning the downed Evans.

Roxanne ‘Bumpa’ Evans
“Her body wasn’t moving, and we weren’t sure what exactly happened or what to do, so we called the ambulance. When it came, the people from the ambulance took her up and rushed her to the hospital,” Ormsby shared, adding that she followed closely behind to the hospital, and was accompanied by a friend of hers.

AT THE HOSPITAL

“When we got to the hospital, we realized that they had put her in a neck brace and brought her to the X-ray room, so we did a wait fi hear exactly what happened,” shared Ormsby. While waiting, the young dancer relayed, she was asked to give a statement by police officers that had come to the hospital.

Shortly after, Ormsby learnt from her friend that Evans’ injury necessitated her being transferred to the Cornwall Regional Hospital. Following the transfer, Ormsby went home.

“The next day, I got a call from my friend that they were transferring Roxanne back to Falmouth, so I got ready and went there, from like after 12, to late into the evening. Dem seh only family members coulda see her, so I was there, until I went home. I didn’t get to see her though,” she related.

With her voice breaking, Ormsby explained that she went home that night and prayed for Evans, hoping that she would be okay.

“I would never hurt anyone. Mi nah go dance and hurt none a my coworkers, I would never do that. So I was just praying and praying,” she shared.

BAD NEWS

Ormsby’s wishes unfortunately went unanswered. The following day, she received a phone call informing her that Roxanne had passed away, leaving her two children and a saddened family behind. “I just cried and cried when I got the news. I really didn’t mean for anything to happen to her.”

Things got worse. Rumours began to flood social media that Roxanne’s death was no accident, but an intentional hit on her life by Ormsby. Ormsby’s face was also added to a ‘Jamaica’s Most Wanted’ list online. “How can people say it was intentional and why would they do that? It really was an accident!” a grieving Ormsby related. “Even police officers who saw a video of it said the same thing – that it was an accident. I would never hurt someone like that. I would never hurt my coworker like that. We never had anything, so I don’t know why people would even say that.”

She issued a plea: “Please, stop bashing me. It was an accident. I didn’t mean for it to happen. I just want to say to the family that I’m really sorry for costing Roxanne’s life. I’m sorry.”

‘I WILL NEVER DANCE AGAIN’

In light of what happened, Ormsby was quizzed as to whether or not she will ever go back to dancing. After a long pause, she finally answered: “No. I won’t.” She was again asked, but her answer remained the same. “I’m sure. I’ve made up my mind. I won’t dance again… not after everything that happened.” Despite wanting to go the funeral, a teary-eyed Ormsby is unsure of what to do, particularly given that, according to reports, she has gotten death threats. Even so, she hopes she will be allowed to pay her respects. For now, she’s trying to make her way through this.

6 thoughts on “MOMO’S EXPLANATION OF DANCE ROUTINE GONE BAD

1. boy this whole thing just unfortunate!!!! this could have happened in the reverse with Momo dead and Bumpa alive!!!! I love my people and my culture!!! and just really hope this unfortunate incident serves as both a warning & a lesson the dancers!!! please be careful guys!!! trust mi..no amount a prize money is worth the risks……

2. And to make matters worse, the creator of the dance moves is on social media disrespecting people instead of trying to be calm in the situation. Young lady I understand that accidents happens, I really feel for both of you. I really hope the family can find it in their heart to forgive you. And the way Jamaica stya, I don’t know if you should attend the funeral. I can see that it is really affecting you but please forgive yourself, and I dont blame you one but from not wanting to dance again. R.I.P to the young lady.

3. People quick to label this girl a murderer and calling for her blood yet the same people turn a blind eye to the cold blooded murders committed by men daily ah boy.

4. Madam, do not go to the funeral under any circumstances. Funerals are highly charged emotional events, and if you have received death threats that is not where you need to be. You can find out where she is buried if it is at a cemetery and visit the grave at a later date to pay your respects. If you decide t visit the grave sometime in the future, please go in an unknown vehicle and disguise yourself as best as you can.

5. well this girl did an apology and was smiling, i tell you this social media thing u see. Look here what these dancers call dancing is total RUBBISH. Uno go pon youtube and look on african dancers then uno see how people dance. We as jamaicans fulla shit and do some damm foolishness and chat bout dance, uno damm lucky more a uno a go broke uno rasss with those damm foolishness uno call dance moves. It unfortunate however this is not going to change how those knuckle heads behave. Marvin him did broke or hurt himself and that never stopped him, plenty a uno so call dancing is total garbage, rubbish all when dem ina dance and acting like a damm ediot, uno so damm fool das y the Lord a go tek back uno damm life because uno damm stupid and dont appreciate life. Some things that me see uno do mi wonder if uno have no rass sense.

6. Sorry that happened.

So, Momo, from the hours of the tragic accident you ever reached out to the girl family?

This interview says NO you haven’t at no time what so ever. If that is the case…then dog nhame you supper.