MONDAY MORNING BACK TO REGULAR PROGRAMMING BUT MEK WI FINISH WID JINX SHE

Jinx3
SOPHISTICATED, fierce, energetic, warm and accommodating are five adjectives which can easily be used to describe Jodi ‘Jinx’ Henriques.
She’s unpredictable — moving during this interview from vibrant and rootsy to quietly confident.
We’re at Digicel’s global headquarters in downtown Kingston with this fireball VJ, who was recently named the company’s new campaign face for Bacchanal. She explains that she’s two characters — Jodi Henriques and Jinx — moulded into one.
“Jodi Henriques is very quiet, a kind of homebody who is constantly cooking and cleaning, usually with the radio and TV off, spending time with my thoughts and doing my hobbies,” she says.
“Jinx is very loud, constantly talking and always has something to say. She’s the life of the party and, of course, the life of the carnival party.”
She says it’s this effervescence that convinced Digicel to select her, along with Yendi Phillipps, for their campaign.
“I’m so excited to be a part of the campaign. I think when you think of carnival, you think of me. I love Soca music. Everything about the music is positive and uplifting,” Henriques says, explaining that for years she has been travelling to Trinidad for their carnival parade and parties.
But she’s not all Soca. Henriques has had a career in media spanning 10 years, and there are other surprises.
Media is not something she had considered while growing up or while sifting through career choices at Immaculate Conception High; her stint in media unexpectedly started when she was partying with three other individuals who worked with RETV. They saw her energy and decided to give her a microphone and put her behind the camera to co-host.
“The rest was history. Now I love being on RETV because I like to talk and I learn through my job when I interview people. I love that,” she says.
Henriques, who has been married to Grammy-winning dancehall and reggae artiste Sean Paul since 2012, says her schedule allows her to juggle marriage and career easily.
“Luckily, I don’t have a nine to five, so I have the opportunity to juggle stuff around. My husband, who is the main breadwinner in the family, is not always here, so I cater to him when he is here. When he is here, I try and spend time with him. Apart from my work with RETV, if know that I have to go on a shoot outside of town, I try to do it when he is not here. If I know he’s going to be at home, I will try and do interviews and my work in the mornings, so that I can come home in the evening and cook dinner and do family things with him.”
She explains that she had met Sean Paul years ago, just before she left the island to study abroad.
“The night before I went to Denmark to study and live for a year, I went to Grasshoppers off Constant Spring Road and he sent his friend over to ask if I wanted to be in a Sean Paul video. I went over to him and cursed him off. Then I came back from Denmark and kept seeing him at parties; we became friends and got closer after that,” she laughs.
She says the ‘baby’ question continues to intrigue persons, but “it’s very important for married couples to spend time together before they welcome someone else into the family”.
“If I don’t get to know my husband more, then the distance between us is going to grow when a baby comes here. Right now we are doing all we can to build that strong relationship, so that [when] we welcome another person into the family, we’ll already have that strong bond there.”
The bond between the couple, she says, all comes down to finding time for each other and communication.
“Every successful relationship has to have those attributes. You have to find time for each other and have communication.”
Henriques is not just glitz and glamour. She says people would be surprised to learn that she was once an early childhood teacher.
“I have a degree in early childhood education. My years of teaching were the most rewarding years of my life. If I could, I would go back in a heartbeat, because it would help me to become a good mother. Nearing the end of my teaching years, I joined RETV.”
What’s next for Henriques?
“I have seen 142 cities in 39 different countries across the globe; however, I want to go to India soon,” says the woman who describes her husband, family and friends as her daily motivation.

0 thoughts on “MONDAY MORNING BACK TO REGULAR PROGRAMMING BUT MEK WI FINISH WID JINX SHE

1. Yaaaawn, morning JMG, why no dark skinned woman is selected by Digicel to rep them Carnival campaign? We have some really beautiful women of ebony and chocolate or caramel complexion that would Mek Jonx look like she nah try?. This colonial color prejudice has to stop.

1. Exactly…it’s the nothing black nuh good mentally…on her IG she does not associate with dark skin or caramel ppl…it is very telling..when I stated that Ms. Jamaica should av been darker so many ppl cursed me lol but I dont care its the truth…Back to the racist bitch Jodi…you nuh cute you nuh pretty your skin colour and hair caw frighten me…I hope Paul lef u when him realize how yuh damage whats left of his career bitch. BOLT WE NEED YOU 2 RESPOND WITH A HOOK LINE AND SINKER..plz and tonks

2. Sweet Jinx is dark. She is just lighter than some darker skinned women. I think most women believe that because they are pale in comparison this makes them superior. Her nose her forehead everything has a touch of negroid, however she or others may think she is ….but put up a picture of three races and we will see who she resembles.

2. It took us years to get rid of people like you in AFRICA.

AFRICA does not want to ever see people like you Jinx. Because people like you could poison the continent.

Keep AFRICA clean keep Jinx’s out!

1. Of course….the GOLD and DIAMONDS in AFRICA would be too precious for her.

So, the fake goods and imitation goods from India and China would fit her better.

Europe classes mixed race people as second class citizens.

So there you have it tsk tsk the world at your dirty feet.

1. Lol.

@Africanwoman thanks for the support. Black ppl all over the globe need to unite because we are all we have in this world. #oneblood

1. No sweat.

United we stand, divided we fall.

We need to end this colonialism mentality.

3. Cuss the dreads weh see WHITE OMAN. Cuss di artist weh see BROWN OMAN. CUSS THE S ALHLETES WEH SEE LIGHT SKIN OMAN. CUSS THE MARKETINH INDUSTRY THAT ONLY HAVE FAIR SKIN OMAN TO REPRESENT THEIR PRODUCTS. CUSS THE SYSTEM THAT TELLS WAT VLASS OF PEOPLE WHO REPRESENT UPTOWN…LAST FIX THE BLEACHING PROBLEMS. JAMAICAN CULTURE REPRESENTS LIGHTNESS AND BLACKNESS NUH WEAR AGAIN..BLIND SOCIETY BOTH CUTURALLY AND MENTALLY. THE BLIND LEADING THE BLIND. CULTURE THAT STILL VALUE FAIR SKIN. ITS A CULTURAL THING SO STOP CUSS ON PERSON AND FIX UNU HOUSE UP…EVEN THE ARTIST SEH DEM LOVE DEM BROWNING BUGI VOICE RASTA MAN…LAWM CONF OUT SE SET AH PEOPLE. FIX UNU PRIDE AND PRINCIPLES.

1. Lack of self love is what causes the above^^^^ to seek recognition and validation through what their ‘perceived’ society deem’s as relevant.

4. This half breed mongrel lie bout she kno how fi juggle, how u fi know how fi juggle when u man only hve 1 ball? ..u baren an dry like the sahara bout u want to get to kno him b/f unno hve kids..if unno no kno each other after 10yrs

5. CHOOSE UNU WUDS CAREFULLY,,Why it always the uneducated public/powerless always lash out at the strong with the most depictable,vulgar, wrenk, classless, sexual, bias, be little someone, explicit vocabulary is that your strenght to get a valueless message across? Its about what again? How balls, skin color, uptown,cant fck, looks, light skin, half breed, barren come in all of this? What you people trying to achieve? It tells alot of the ghetto mind people on social media and limited IQ. I beg most of u tek up a IGNORANT MANAGEMENT CLASS and come decent. Unu too mixy mixy and ray ray. ALL NOW THE COUNTRY MAN BOLT NUH COME TEK UP HIS ARGUMENTS. HE LEFT IT TO THE BRUCK, LOST, AND COMMON PEOPLE LIKE UNU. .BY SOME CLASS. MEMBA ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS. LETS SEE SOME ACTION AND STOP USE THE FIGHTING WUDS. USAIN IS WISER $$$ AND HIM NAH TOUCH DIS YAH ARGUEMENT, FRETT, FUSS UNU STILL GHETTO PEOPLE. CLUELESS =CLASSLESS….IGNORANT= SMALL MINDED/LOST. LOVE MY PEOPLE BUT IGNORANCE IS A BLISS. One Stop mind…the world is laughing at u u and u. Think wisely before u type. Sad culture.

1. you obviously is a never see come see. nuh used to nuttin.. I personally never knew this type of shit took place in Jamaica until now.. Never been exposed to it. Never know people like JINX exist a Jamaica. I am from the north coast lived in New York all My life and visit Jamaica at least 6 times a year. By the way My family looks like Jinx but never did I experience any of this shit. bun mi fi dem because my farrin born private school pikney dem run barefoot climb tree and go river like them born a Jamaica. This is f**king sickening and no I would never want move to that f**kin neighborhood because these fake wanna be high class motherf**kers would get cursed the f**k out every day.

2. by the way Jinx and Pauline would not be able to move into my subdivision the home owners association would deny them based on their LIFESTYLE and past connection with DRUGS nasty baggie picture… These two lowlife f**ks would get a big red DENY..money cant buy class.. we nah harbor the likes of them around our good children.

6. @Met, tink dem tink dem slick… Chue dem a get mud up left, right and center dem a come throw shades, NINJAS PLEASE, GET A LIFE A GO WASH UNU DUTTY DRAWZ..Usain nuh see unu but him PR SEE UNU AND WILL DEAL WID UNU AS WILL DI PUBLIC, UNU STINK LIKE..

7. We going to ride u bright an early a moring u ole mule..get ur rest tonight…a u jinx yourself.

8. now I see nothing wrong with what she said. Doesn’t matter who you are you cant disrupt a community. I personally has had run in with her and she is really a sweetheart and she has never treated me with any bias. I have been doing the carnival with her a few years and she is by no means racist . ( I am of dark skin tone)

9. I guess no one knows the history of Jodi Stewart lol is only Sean Paul one did have the stomach to take her. The thigns she used to carry on with in SECOND FORM at Andrews and then she mysteriously disappeared from school only to return to ICHS. I know someone on here has her lengthy file. I am older than her and I swear someone had to have molested her because self esteem was non existent back then. SO to hear this one acting like she come from someweh better than someone with a solid family background and morals…him have a right nuh fi ansa her because I am quite sure smaddy pinch an tell him fi leff her because she has a troubled past. It pains me when these high coloured shits of human beings believe that they are better than people. The greatest talent she has had is to tek multiple partners within 24 hours. Smaddy soon send you this girl file. GUARaNTEED