MOTHER AND SONS KILLED MENTALLY ILL MAN SAYS COURT

A woman from St Ann, her husband and three adult sons have been convicted of stoning, then chopping a mentally-ill man to death over a piece of stolen electrical wire.

A seven-member jury deliberated for one hour before returning a unanimous verdict of guilty against Velma Dean, her husband Joseph, and their three sons, Jermaine, Dwight and Richard, for the murder of Stanley McLean in Coltart Grove, St Ann on July 6, 2007.

Velma Dean wept uncontrollably after the verdict was announced down in the Home Circuit Court in downtown Kingston.

“Oh God, you see and you never fail me,” she wailed.

Her son, Dwight also broke down in tears.

The others showed no emotions.

Their attorney Ernest Smith called the verdict a travesty and said the jurors appeared confused. He indicated that they will appeal.

Prosecutors Sharon Millwood-Moore and Hodine Williams and McLean’s father Audley, say Velma Dean, now 65 years old, was the person who played the lead role in the killing.

Audley McLean testified that he saw Velma Dean inside his son’s house with a machete she was using to chop him all over his body.

He said shortly after he heard her call for a piece of rope, which was used to tie his son’s feet and drag him out in the street in front of the Dean’s home.

Audley McLean said Velma Dean started chopping his son again.

11 thoughts on “MOTHER AND SONS KILLED MENTALLY ILL MAN SAYS COURT

1. Some whey cry pon Jesus a dem commit the crime!!Why wicked ppl always a bawl pon the Lord when dem facing dem judgement!!??

2. Hold on deh. The man they chopped up, the mentally ill man who they killed is their kin? Is the mother’s child? And the others brother ? No sah , I can’t deal people are too disgusting

3. No u cant read the woman her husband n them 3 pickney guh kill di mentally ill man over wire geesh people need to start read twice before them comment

4. So not one of them in the group could bawl out she dis nuh right, wi beat him already meck him gwan. Mob mentality is a serious ting, di man mentally ill suh him can’t be held responsible, but dem in their sane minds kill someone. Di lust for blood is real in too many ppl.

5. Congratulations to her for ruining her children’s life ! Dumbass! They are bullies, jus true the man not in his right mind them do that. And they should have charged his father too for standing up and watching them kill his son like is a friggin tv show. Or mabe him mentally ill too. How u fi watch u son a get chop up inna u own house and not do anything????? That is why them do what they did because it was easy, he had no support.

6. All her sons were not adults at that time. And thus should not be sentenced as an adult, as he is a child and that is a mitigating factor. He was ordered to do it.