MOTHER SAYS ROUGE COP KILLED HER SON

‘A police kill mi son’ – ACP Clarke rejects mother’s claim that rogue cops murdered her son near
Joan Rattray, the mother of Elvis Malcolm, the man who was murdered metres from the St James Parish Court just over one week ago, is convinced that her son’s killers were rogue cops.

“It was a carefully planned, professional execution,” Rattray told The Sunday Gleaner.

“The only people my son had a problem with was the police … they arrested him and frame him on a gun charge last September. I might not go to college, but I am no fool … I am 100 per cent sure that it is the police who killed my son,” she added.

But head of the Police Area One, which includes St James, Assistant Commissioner Warren Clarke, says there is no truth to this claim.

According to Clarke, Malcolm was the head of the Nation Crocs Gang, which operates out of Canterbury, St James.

He said the gang is in conflict with three other gangs which operate out of Albion Road, Bottom Pen and Rose Heights, and there have been several killings linked to these conflicts.

However, Rattray is adamant that her son, who was killed minutes after he left the courthouse where he was granted a bail extension on gun-related charges, was no gang leader.

SOCIAL LEADER

“He was well known in the community and he worked on social programmes with both the PMI (Peace Management Initiative) and CSJP (Citizen Security and Justice Programme). He was a social leader in the community,” said Rattray.

“Last September, they said that my son and another man fired shots at a police team which came into Canterbury to investigate a shooting that had taken place in the community,” Rattray recounted.

“He was not in the community when that happened … he was at a guest house and he could prove it. The other man was at a PMI conference, where even senior police personnel were in attendance, so he could not have been there either.

“My son never missed one court day since he was arrested and charged … in addition, he was reporting to the police every Tuesday and Thursday. He was sure he was going to win the case because he could prove his innocence,” added Rattray.

According to Rattray, she wants the killing to be thoroughly investigated, as while her son is dead, she would not like to see another young man murdered in such a manner.

“We have been having many suspicious killings like this involving persons who are before the court on gun charges,” said Rattray. “I am hoping these killings are not the Government’s crime plan.”

In the meantime, Rueben Robinson, who identifies himself as a ‘violence interrupter’ assigned to the PMI, believes that had Malcolm not exited the car in which they were travelling in he, too, would have been killed.

Robinson, who is a co-accused in the alleged shooting for which both he and Malcolm were charged, is also convinced that the killers were rogue cops.

THE ALLEGED INCIDENT

“He got a call on his phone that we were being trailed by another car, so he exited the car at the stop light and was walking towards another car when a silver car came alongside him and men opened fire on him,” said Robinson.

“The car with the killers was parked in the parking lot across from the courthouse when we drove out, and they drove out behind us … that was how Elvis got the call that we were being followed.

“Tell me which gangsters would be so brave to park across the courthouse in broad daylight, armed with rifles,” added Robinson.

While admitting that he was no angel before being trained by the PMI, Robinson said that since he became involved with the organisation, he has totally turned his life around.

“Since the PMI send me back to school and give me a chance to make something out of my life, I am now a different man,” said Robinson.

Having experienced what he considers a close shave with death, Robinson is concerned about his safety.

“I want the police to tell Jamaica if I am wanted for any crimes … I report to them twice per week so they know who I am,” said Robinson.

“I have decided to put the matter in God’s hand because He knows that I am a changed man, who has turned my back on crime.”

8 thoughts on “MOTHER SAYS ROUGE COP KILLED HER SON

1. Yuh turn yuh back pon crimes but it nuh quite work so ennuh dawg!!What is required will be some form of repayment of ur debt to society n retribution for the victims of your crimes!!

I’m sorry I tried but I can’t help but think yuh deserve a one SYM but only because yuh full of shyt like crab bout u turn yuh back just suh!!

1. GM :kissmouth A proper SYM is in order to the mother too. Dem never know what dem sons doing wrong and take JCF as beating post. She can go double up pon de SYM!

Dem soooooo unaffiliated with crime that dem can get asap phone call that car a follow them.

All if a rouge police… good riddance to anything affiliated with we crime stats.

2. Him should a dead 100xs more…kmt. Robinson, the stage you setting along wid elvis mumma is like glass 😀

3. Mother, you too sure of your son. No parent knows everything their child is doing 100% of the time. Instead of blaming the police, why not do a thorough research into your son’s​ life, you may shocked what you discover. While you speaking bout your son you cannot mention any school he was currently enrolled in, where he was gainfully employed or anything productive about him five days a week. He was a social leader, so if he was a social leader and working on peace initiative then that would make him an absolute target for gunmen, gunmen do not look favourably on peace workers. On top of it, he would be perceived as an ally to the police force because he would be working along the same lines as them, to maintain peace and order. Worse since he was once in that world and left it, according to you. He would be considered a traitor in the minds of those still in that world.

Death is shocking and no parent wants to bury their child. With times the scales will be removed from your eyes, and the truth will shine through. You are not there yet, so be it.

1. True. In fact, being the mother of a gang leader has its perks in the community and I’m sure she was the beneficiary of many gifts just because she was the gang leader’s mother.

She is making a lot of unsubstantiated claims, but I hope she realize that the opposing gangs see her as a potential target, especially if the son is responsible for the death of their fellow gang members/family.

4. It’s women like you who back these murderers and gang members who are helping to make this country the way it is. Oonu worse than the gunmen themselves. When these hoodlums are killed oonu come out come protest and carry on bout dem innocent and this and that