MRS HOLNESS BUY WATER TANK AND GI OUT SEED ETC………..WHAT IS VOTE BUYING??

HOLNESS
Hiya Met n Bloggers,
It has come to my attention that both pnp n jlp has neen mudslinging about buying votes. In all fairness Paul Burke is quoted as saying pnp vote buying gwaan so u can Google that easily n see for urself!!This latest episode pretains to our dear 1st lady Mrs.juliet Holiness and allegations of her vote-buying.
Met plain n simple here is the issue as follows:
1)Them say when Imani did a fly ova di ppl Inna her air force 2 plane,di other Juliet did a run up n dung pon di grung a give out seedlings n water tanks to di ppl.
2) what is the difference between buying a vote by giving hard cash n giving in kind??isn’t it still vote-buying?
3) I‎nstead of the usual curry goat politics n buy ppl liquor n cook pork,what is so wrong in giving ppl necessary things such as a water tank in drought prone areas?Seeds to encouraging farming n employment.
Most importantly would you say in your own view that Mrs.Holiness bought her victory and if so are you comfy with that??

13 thoughts on “MRS HOLNESS BUY WATER TANK AND GI OUT SEED ETC………..WHAT IS VOTE BUYING??

1. Yu get one?
      Writer, wasn’t there a call for water tanks since 2013-14? I remember that there was a drive regarding water tanks, i donated to someone in the drive. Annmarie V, made it a big thing about the need for tanks… I’m going to say the tanks fall into a need category.
      Again, isn’t her area one that called for renewal on the hillsides due to slides when rainfall?

1. Relative to the Paul Buchanan article from yesterday, I stated that giving material things for votes is tantamount to buying votes. Hence, if any other politicians do the same, they are likewise buying votes. Here is the problem, this is not unique to one or two politicians, most if not all of them are complicit in this regard and this must stop.
    It is quid pro quo, these items are given with the expectation for something in return. It would be somewhat different if a sitting MP was aiding his/her constituents. However, an aspirant MP should never be permitted to do these things. If buying votes is illegal that is.

2. If this is a “necessity” for the constituency does it equates to “buying vote”? If the answer to that question is yes then can we also agree that fixing roads, providing jobs, and other provisions are “vote buying”?. Good, I thought as much

1. 2 Sugars and Milk, if the road fixing, job, et al are tethered to votes, then yes, that is vote buying. Most politicians know that there is a taboo directly associated with exchanging actual cash for votes and as such, they monetize other references and peddle them for votes.
      All politicians who’ve wrapped up money in t-shirts should be kicked out of politics and Porsha as the Prime Minister should be ashamed for permitting such.
      “…Bustamante laughed at his cousin Norman Manley for abolishing the bicycle tax all at once and five years before the next elections were due. He said that he should have reduced it by a little each year until the following election. In that way, the people would remember who removed the bicycle tax.”
      Some politicians are in this for the people; however, most are in it for self preservation.

3. way up mrs holiness. At least you give them the means to provide something for themselves. u no give dem a 1 or 2 grand and tomorrow dem see u a seh dem broke

4. Blessed mawning jmg fambily!! Yes PP n thanks much for ur donation cuz water tank scarce like wow!i take ur point and almost in full agreement. I say almost cuz Lalibela premise is sound,if you are doing that to pu urself in a good light then it is more than meets the eye.They always needed stuff why didn’t she do that when crawford was in power or b4 she was the candidate??Bwoy I wish I did get one a di flat screen TV too!!No sah!!!

5. Put milk pon di puss dem mouts dats wat she did :request but hey mi nuh wrong her id do the same god damn thing if i were her for i too need a place in politics :maho ! their party left them vlnerable to me y not stretch an helping hand to the needy ?

6. Well people vote for promises from politicians about what they’d do if the win so I don’t see nothing wrong with voting for the one who gives before the win rather after. At least if Juliet/JLP did lose the people dem would still have a much needed tank and food a grung and if Shi did promise dem and lose they wouldn’t get none f on either party. Vote caa nyam suh why hungry and keep it when smaddy willing fi but?