Multiple people were killed in a shooting Friday at the Fort Lauderdale airport, the Broward County Sheriff’s Office said on Twitter.
The gunman is in custody and was a lone shooter, Broward County Mayor Barbara Sharief told CNN on Friday.
“We have no evidence at this time that he was acting with anyone else. He is currently in custody and we’re investigating,” Sharief said. Investigators are looking into the suspect’s motive, she said.
At least nine people were injured in a shooting at the Fort Lauderdale airport on Friday, a US official familiar with the incident said. The shooter is in custody, according to the official.
Parts of the airport were apparently evacuated. Aerial footage from CNN affiliates showed large groups of people standing outside on the tarmac.
Airport officials said on Twitter that there is an “ongoing incident” in the baggage claim area of Terminal 2.
Multiple reports on social media — including tweets from former White House spokesman Ari Fleischer, described the shooting.
Follow
Ari Fleischer ✔ @AriFleischer
I’m at the Ft. Lauderdale Airport. Shots have been fired. Everyone is running.
12:57 PM – 6 Jan 2017 · Dania Beach, FL
5,384 5,384 Retweets 1,903 1,903 likes
Gene Messina had just arrived in Fort Lauderdale on Delta Flight 2012 as people were being evacuated from the terminal.
“I got off the plane and I saw people running and screaming. At first I was in shock but when I saw TSA agents running, I booked,” Messina told CNN over Instagram.
In November 2016, nearly 2.5 million travelers passed through Fort Lauderdale’s airport, according to a government report on the facility.
There are four terminals at the airport.
Developing story – more to come
CNN’s Amanda Wills and David Williams contributed to this report.
Paid Content
Really terrible . The state of the world today, you have to be constantly prepared and praying to be covered by God.
God is mighty and powerful. My two teenage children JUST left that same airport and arrived in NYC Wednesday morning 2:20 something AM. They travelled alone and unaccompanied without an adult. THANK GOD FOR HIS MERCY , one day delayed or two and that could have been them, because they always slow and have missed flights when we travel together .
I am sorry for the lives that are Lost and all the terrified and injured.
May God bring peace and swift healing and recovery .
I seriously think now with the state of the world, children should not travel alone without family. Can u imagine HOW would any child deal with such a terror and brutal attack ?
I can only imagine what children in war torn Syria, Iraq and parts of Africa go through on a daily basis .
I am awaiting information on this reckless heartless gunman in Florida
It’s just sad. We got to keep prayed up.
Thanking God daily for travelling mercies.
Anon 2:37pm, glad your kids came a day or 2 before.
Good Day Met, Metters, Peepers nd Others….
yuh know a it mi a watch,just truly sad R.I.P to the five ppl thats dead and speedy recovery to the others
Sad they’re sick people walking around in clean clothes sometimes you don’t kno who is who…..R.I.P
This is so sad on all levels. This man checked in his gun with all intentions of killing people. Met check out this clip from IG. It’s very graphic https://instagram.com/p/BO73JQMgHlX/
Dem jus pass law a florida fi people travel with gun..The republicans fi blame
Dis doesn’t have anything to do with the Republican. Mr Santiago is in d military & the last time I checked ppl in d military r allowed to carry fire arm on a airplane. U cnt blame d Republican for mentally unstable ppl. Everybody is responsible for their own actions.
According to TMZ Esteban Santiago had a military ID. I guess that’s how he was able to check his gun. So stop blaming politics for what happened. They will always be crazy people in this world weather Demo/Rep is in office.
Not only military can travel with gun. There is a procedure you have to follow which involves packing the gun at home beforehand in a locked box and then declaring the firearm at the airport. You are even allowed to carry a certain amount of ammunition.
Florida is always some loop hole to political bullshit. The lost electoral votes, stand your ground….
Lord, the state of this world is so sad. People r losing their lives to senseless violence. My god they were preparing to travel and lost their lives. We have to pray daily, Lord I’m praying for your mercy. My heart goes out to the families, may the Lord comfort u at this time
Met I’m with you dutty republicans yes it is to blame cause if it never legal him could travel with the ras gun cause it’s not your family dead !! I hope those family sue can’t bring back the life but it damn sure can help with there children’s etc !! Gun needs to ban period ! So sick of this evil world and the idiots who justifying bull he mentally sick but if the law never grant him rights to bring gun probably him would end up shooting anyone at the airport
He was in the army that’s a big deference dutty republicans need fi get di blame
Sad innocent people lose their life because of these wicked people
So this person was a Iraq war veteran who had PTSD and heard voices that told him to join ISIS.
He said that the government was forcing him to watch Isis videos. He was also in the Alaskan National Guard and the Puerto Rican National Guard. He was working for an Alaskan security company and his coworkers reported him to the FBI for strange behavior… he flew from Alaska to Minnesota then Minnesota to Florida
and before orange orangutan call a press conference or security briefing as president elect he’s busy on twitter tracing arnold squash-the-nigger over who is a better reality tv star :travel
If he was a black guy them same cops who have him in custody questioning would have killed him already