NIGERIAN MAN IN EBOLA SCARE, SUES JAMAICAN GOVT

ebola trial drugg
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/article.php?id=58279
The Nigerian man at the centre of an Ebola scare at the Mandeville Regional Hospital has filed a lawsuit in the Supreme Court against the Jamaican government and the Southern Regional Health Authority.
Lecturer, Dr Bob Banjo is seeking damages for false imprisonment, defamation, unlawful disclosure of patient information and breaches of his constitutional right to privacy.
He has also sued nurse Ann-Marie Allen-Sharpe and Dr Masada James.
In the suit filed by attorneys-at-law Arthur Williams and Ronald Young, Jr Dr Banjo contends that at five o’clock on the morning of October 18, last year, he visited the Mandeville Regional Hospital because he was feeling ill.
He said Dr James asked him if he had travelled recently.
Banjo said he told Dr James that he visited his homeland Nigeria and had returned to Jamaica on August 27, 2014.
He said Dr James immediately told nurse Allen-Sharpe in the presence of other patients and persons at the hospital that he was likely suffering from the Ebola virus.
Dr James then reportedly consulted the Ministry of Health to get instructions as to what to do with him.
There was panic at the hospital according to Dr Banjo because persons thought he was seeking treatment for the highly contagious and infectious Ebola virus.
He claimed that the panic throughout the hospital was caused by the arbitrary, unreasonable and unprofessional conduct of the doctor and the nurse.
Dr Banjo said he received no treatment and when he attempted to leave four hours after his arrival, Dr James reportedly gave instructions to a ward assistant to instruct the security guards that he was not allowed to leave the premises.
He was not permitted to leave the hospital until 3:15 p.m. that day – that’s just over ten hours after he arrived there.
The Nigerian further outlined that he was well outside the established 21-day incubation period for the Ebola virus when he visited the hospital.
Banjo also said he suffered great anxiety and distress, as well as loss and was brought into public scandal, ridicule and contempt.
The defendants have not yet filed a defence to the suit.

0 thoughts on “NIGERIAN MAN IN EBOLA SCARE, SUES JAMAICAN GOVT

1. KMT this man need fi tek a back seat. Him can say anything him want. Until health officials mek sure say everything good, keep him backside in deh. Wat him a sue for? Money him a look from Jamaica. Him betta go back a Nigeria

2. Sorry to be so Arrogant but Please to send him right back to Nigeria. With Jamaica being a third world country and not fully equip to control such an outbreak, what this nasty man did expect them to do but to assume he had Ebola knowingly he went to his country in august? Man tek you rass and gwan back to Nigeria! Jamaica don’t owe you nothing. Bout sue.

3. They were very unprofessional in how they handled him even if they thought he had the virus the handling of the situation does warrant a law suit. Nigeria is Ebola free,it has been declared so from October 21st 2015, and also he was way pass the incubation time.

4. Correction…..October 21st 2014 Nigeria has not had a case of Ebola since early August 2014, we had 19 cases of which only eight died and eleven lived. Nigeria is ebola free

5. I don’t blame him. They treated him that way cauz he was sick and Nigerian. On principle him fi get through. The fact that the world was in panic mode is not an excuse to be unprofessional

6. All him did haffi tell d hospital workers is that he had returned from Nigeria more than 21 days ago, hence they would have to panic. Me think him did damn well a look a case from them cuz him kno dem did a go panic
    Go sid u raas down, hope dem send u back a Nigeria. U kno exactly whe u did a do when u go a d hospital

7. The leaders in Jamaica get good salaries and this is the way they execute there Jobs.Jamaica is in the hands of some EDUCATED FOOLS.Whenever I try to explain to the normal everyday man in Jamaica what they need to do to fix some of their issues they would argue with me that I am wrong but as soon as they need some help they call me.The only way they will learn is if they really start to suffer.

8. That was so unprofessional and ignorant of the doctor. Him being nigerian should not be a factor for him getting justice. Thats like telling someone their HIV status in a crowded lobby. As a medical professional he should know how sensitive patient info is. As for them asking him if he traveled recently there follow up question should have been when did you arrive. Information is gathered from a series of questions not by just one.

9. Met sometimes I have to wonder if some of your Blogger them have sense…This is a cut and clear lawsuit,But the goverment is going to squash it under the table before it go further…Easy money this..

10. I honestly hated the mass panic about Ebola, they acted like the flu don’t kill millions each year globally.
    Being concerned about him and Ebola after travelling is not the issue, it is in the manner in which they handled his case that is the problem. Justice a nuh fi ongle one person, you have to deal wid ppl right, and health professionals are expected to be professional and logical in their duties at all times.

11. Wtf happened to Ebola how it get dust back under the rug me ah tell u bout them mass human reduction propaganda the white man have for black ppl

12. THIS DOCTOR IS AN EDUCATED DOCTOR WHO HAS LIVED AND LECTURED AT THE UNIVIERSITIES THERE I AM APPALLED AT THE DISRESPECT THIS FORUM AS AFFORDED HIM FOR US TO TREAT ANOTHER BLACK PERSON THAT WAY LET ME BELIEVE WE ARE STILL NOT CONSCIOUS..HE WILL SUE AND HE WILL WIN BECAUSE AS A MEDICAL PROFESIONALS THEY SHOULD HAVE KNOWN BETTER THAN TO TREAT DR BANJO THE WAY THEY DID******I AM GLAD IT IDID NOT HAPPEN TO POOR UNEDUCATED FARMER OR ELSE WE WOULD HAVE KNOWN NOTHING ABOUT HOW HE WAS TREATED*