OBSERVER PAN MONTAQUE CASE TUH

A claim by National Security Minister Robert Montague that his uncle is an ‘obeah man’ has faced public scrutiny over the legality of the act.

Checks made with the Ministry of Justice have confirmed that the practice of obeah in Jamaica is still illegal and could attract jail time or a fine of $100, which suggests that Montague and his uncle would be committing a criminal offence if they engage in the act.

According to the Obeah Act of 1898, practitioners face up to 12 months in jail and flogging. However, the Obeah (Amendment) Act was passed in 2013 to eliminate whipping and flogging as punishments that may be imposed by the Court.

Montague made the reference to obeah during an interactive session with heads of the Jamaica Constabulary Force (JCF) at the Jamaica Conference Centre in downtown Kingston yesterday.

While cautioning criminals that the security forces will be pursuing them relentlessly, he said: “Oonu goin run weh because we goin to pursue oonu. This minister no fraid a oonu, my uncle is a obeah man.”

The comment evoked an outburst of laugher among attendees at the session and some readers of an OBSERVER ONLINE news story, which quoted the minister, also found the statement amusing.

However, others questioned the legality of the minister’s claim and commented that he was not taking Jamaica’s crime situation seriously.

In chiding the minister, one social media user said if Montague’s uncle is indeed practicing obeah he should be behind bars “because he is aiding and abetting these criminals from been (sic) brought to justice. Think before you speak.”

Another user said “Thank God, well at least now we know what the Government policy to stem the crime wave is.”

Another social media user added that “When a Government minister can talk this kind a trash in an official meeting you know he’s taking this thing for a joke. I hope the parents who are losing their children put money up together and hire your uncle to obeah yuh outta office.”

OBSERVER ONLINE sought a response from the minister but was told that he is presently engaged in a meeting.

7 thoughts on “OBSERVER PAN MONTAQUE CASE TUH

1. So him uncle a obeah man…what’s so hard to believe in that? That a him uncle system of belief. I nah go bash him because him uncle is aligned with his African roots.

Me going to chastise monteque for bring a cold, son of a bitch pon any given day.

Good thing me guard me people from the likes a you uncle doings! :maho

2. The obeah act was imposed because slaves did a use it kill off slavemaster. Time fi we come outta babylon rule and embrace we culture. If a never fi obeah we wouldn’t win the slave rebellion. Christianity a wha white man did use fi make slave fraid fi rebel. Both Obeah and Christianity have it good n it bad

1. You may has well preach the values of name brand and bleaching cream to these brainwashed negros and nigress.

3. Mi seh the star mix-up bad enuh but hey mix-up sell.. the fact that dem mek de obeah de headline floored me :ngakak

4. *singing*…..Jesus is coming soon Morniñg or night or noon…….Holding my bible very close to mi heart…….GOD DON’T TURN YU BACK PAN JAMAICA

5. Today’s star carrying the headline with mantwocueofrum face under the caption. ..

Obeah is the Only way to fight crime.

Them infer that’s what Bobby socks saying. I tell you when the classier/classist observer running with tings though the star tabloid is the least of ur worries.