OFFENDED YES BUT A TIP IS GIVEN BY DISCRETION

untitled-Optimized859532-ff7ee6cc-4d78-11e3-9491-1affab8972a4-Optimized

Dayna Morales, a waitress at Gallop Asian Bistro in Bridgewater, New Jersey got more, and less, than she bargained for when she served one woman and her family on Wednesday. The former Marine found both a note and a $0.00 tip on the check, and it was related to Morales’s looks rather than her service. As soon as the family was seated, Morales reported, they noted her short haircut and seemed shocked by her appearance.

Njwaitress
HuffPost reports:

“Oh I thought you were gonna say your name is Dan,” she allegedly said. “You sure surprised us!”

At the end of the meal, Morales was left with no tip on the $93.55 bill. Instead, she found a note on the receipt, reading: “I’m sorry but I cannot tip because I don’t agree with your lifestyle & how you live your life.”

Morales expressed her disgust over the incident in her email to Have A Gay Day. The email, later posted to the site’s Facebook page, read:

I am THOROUGHLY offended mad pissed off and hurt that THIS is what her kids will grow up learning and that I served in the Marines to keep ignorant people like them free. Sorry lady but I don’t agree with YOUR lifestyle and the way you’re raising your kids but you didn’t see me throwing that in your face and giving you shitty service. Keep your damn mouth shut and pray we never cross paths again.

There has been an outpouring of support from Facebook users assuring Morales that most heterosexual persons would be hard pressed to engage in such an action. However, as Huffington Post notes, there have been several incidents in the past months which would seem to suggest otherwise. A waiter at Carrabba’s Italian Grill in Overland Park, Kansas received an extremely homophobic note last month, stating: “We hope you will see the tip your fag choices made you lose out on, and plan accordingly.” Similar stories of denied service in business environments, including bed and breakfasts and eating establishments, have peppered the news in the past year.

19 thoughts on “OFFENDED YES BUT A TIP IS GIVEN BY DISCRETION

1. I am compelled to think that I should not laugh; however, I have to LOL!!!. Once I commit to dining at a restaurant, I will eat my meal and tip according to protocol. I know that outside of tips, waiters/waitresses don’t make much and as such, I alway leave a solid tip.

However, if am not satisfied with the service, I don’t even bother to complain, I just don’t go back. Then for those who automatically assume that since I am black, I am going to be disruptive and under tip, I leave a super tip in an effort to change their perception of black people…

2. yes dem neva haffi rite dat pon di chek but wen di black girl did tek it to fb dem quik fire har smh dis double standard bullshit i caw tek wid dem

3. Good morning all, while I do not agree with what these people did to that waitress, (dem shudda tip de ooman), what I do not understand is why they still dined there after seeing her and assuming she was a homosexual, If their feeling in not liking her upon what they assumed was her sexual orientation, they should have just left…mi tink is an excuse fi nuh tip de ooman!!

4. That was ignorant! and the girl is correct, her child will grow up exactly like her mother! Why dine there… have her service you… then insult her? She is a bitch!!

5. This sound like a case of cheap ass to me, if u go into the restaurant sit down n nyam whey di gay waiter bring u food nyam it n then tawk bout u nah tip so y u nyam di rass food????? A cheap this rawsssseeeee woman cheap n glad say she get a messed up “justification” fi no leave no tip kmt all she had to do was kip har damn mouth shut n that’s it cho

6. chuetyy because dem cheap dem gi de homosexual community one more bat fi TRY trample all who are against the lifestyle (for valid reasons)….I do understand not wanting to be in the company, dining or otherwise because of people, situations, envirionment of which things about said persons or things you disagree with, it is your call, (people turn dem nose up or down at many things, I would not want to sit and eat with Archie Bunker) but to actually sit and eat, doan tip and leave an insulting message that was just very rude and distasteful for lack of a better word!!!..

1. Obara mawning hon sed so same damn way so she too damn disgusting she certainly gave dem ammunition in this here war

7. We tend to fear what we don’t understand. Ignorance is a helleva thing! What does her sexuality have to do with her job?! Then you ate the food serve to you by the hands of the person that you hate their lifestyle, if you hated it that much you should’ve asked for a different waiter or better yet leave. F**king disrespectful!

8. Just a little common courtesy to people who a bring me my food inna restaurant. me naw look no trouble. cause i be damned if smaddy vex wid me and spit/lick/sneeze pon my food. if she feel uncomfortable wid the situation all she had to do was ask for a different server.

9. Freedom of speech from enclosed minds because while dem a focus on what dem can see what about what they cant . How dem know if the chef whey cook di food whey dem shovel dung wasn`t also gay. Funny. LOL GO SEE DEM A DRINK BLEACH FI WASHOUT….FOOL NUH ****

10. This is beyond dark!! who in their moral mind does that?? That uman and har tribe is blasted rude and outada..Highest heights of ignorance.

11. Oh well, at di end of di day, a tip is not mandatory & if dem nuh agree to her lifestyle, is dem right!

It don’t right what dem write, I don’t condone it, I wouldn’t do it & it nuh nice but Gay people always acting like YOU HAVE TO like dem, love dem, accept them. Ok, dem write that pon di receiptm this is really NEWSWORTHY????? Nobody never dead today? How much Phillipino dead & THIS is news???

12. Dem 2 cheap…I have to get horrible service to not tip and maybe because I know they only make between $2.50-$4.00 an hour and depend on their tips for a living….I hate people that are not true to their cause

Leave a Reply to Tawkchuet Cancel reply