OMG…42 BABIES INFECTED 18 DEAD

The Ministry of Health has called on health authorities outside of Jamaica for help, in the wake of an outbreak of healthcare-associated infection at the University Hospital of the West Indies and the Cornwall Regional Hospital, where 18 of 42 infected newborn babies have died since June.

“As a precautionary measure, I spoke with the executive director of the Caribbean Public Health Agency and they are on standby to give any assistance we may require,” Health Minister Dr Fenton Ferguson said at a press conference at Jamaica House Tuesday.

The alarming statistics were revealed not by the minister, but via a power-point presentation delivered by national epidemiologist Dr Karen Webster.

Additionally, the health minister said, a Pan-American Health Organization (PAHO) advisor on infection prevention control is scheduled to arrive in the island from Washington today.

“In addition, I have been informed that there are two additional persons coming from PAHO,” he stated.

Dr Ferguson said the ministry has engaged a medical microbiologist who visits and works with hospitals to ensure that infection and prevention control practices are kept at the appropriate standard.

The ministry insists that most of the babies who have died were those born before seven months gestation, and who had low birth rates. The health authorities also maintain that infections happen “from time to time” among newborns in special care nurseries.

0 thoughts on “OMG…42 BABIES INFECTED 18 DEAD

1. Wha really bun mi is when reporters ask Fenton Ferguson why him never tell people about it, this clown Dr. Harvey jump to him rescue and say it wasn’t necessary to inform the public. So, the woman dem who carry dem baby nine months put dem trust inna dem f**kers never get a chance to go somewhere else go save dem baby life. Poor people life nuh worth nothing in Jamaica.

And the real kicker, Nationwide talk to a microbiologist that say this was more than likely the result of poor hygienic conditions. That mean seh all a this could be avoided if dem did a sterilize the place properly.

2. mi muma bloodclaat from JUNEEEEEEEEEE and a just now them a talk bout it and seek phuck help..ministry of health needs rass big time lawsuit under dem bombohole

3. So these ladies could have done home births and likely had a better outcome. The community mid-wife may be making a comeback after this. I feel bad for those mother, sad thing is that JA is a place where there is no accountability and I feel not a darn thing will come out of it.

1. The midwife thing is a good idea because like how jubilee ina it own state and condition…it would be worst for many and a good idea fi the future…let them pay a fee to the community midwives and give birth at home

4. It’s not their babies nor their friends.. Their wives and other family members have their babies overseas so they couldn’t care less about those women that can’t afford to go overseas and deliver their babies.. JAMAICA is a place that I start to hate badly now because of the crime situation and the state of the medical care that they offer.. There is no one that is held accountable for their misconduct.. I haven’t been to Jamaica in 8 years and I used to go at least 3 times a year.. I’m not in any hurry to go now..