PARENTS GO SCHOOL FI FIGHT PICKNEY INA GRADE 3

shame

There are calls for security personnel to be placed at the Parry Town Primary School as well as for the school to be fenced, following the attack of a grade three student by family members of another student on Friday afternoon while school was still in session.

According to school board chairman Ian Bell, he was at the school after 1:00 pm on Friday when he was alerted that something was happening on the compound.

“About 1:20 pm, I was in the office when I heard a loud uproar and then I heard the door to the office being banged,” Bell recalled. He said he saw students running and heard teachers crying for help.

Bell said it was then that he saw two men “manhandling a grade three student”.

He said he tried to take the child from the men, but was shoved in the stomach.

Bell said that the student, a teacher and himself were injured in the attack.

Reports are that the stepson of one of the two men who stormed the school premises, was hit by a child during lunch break at the school. The child’s family reportedly heard of the incident and the stepfather and another male relative went to the school where they allegedly attacked the grade three child.

Unconfirmed reports are that the child whom the grade three student had hit is a second grader.

The police were quick on the scene and the men were taken into custody.

Bell said that the matter has been reported to the Ministry of Education. He said that counselling would be provided for the traumatised students and staff on Monday.

“I would like to make another appeal for security to be placed at the school,” Bell said.

Bell, who is also councillor for the Beecher Town division of the St Ann Parish Council, said that the incident is the second of its type within a year at the school.

“My greatest concern is that we need security at the school. This is the second incident within a year. I want the minister to look at the erection of fencing around the property,” he added.

Bell said that he has already contacted the Social Development Commission officer in the area. He said that the officer has already done an estimate for the cost of fencing the property.

In the meantime, the Ocho Rios police have said that they expect to lay charges against the men who have been implicated in the incident, even as investigations into the incident continue.