PASTOR GI DR ABRAHAMS A PRESCRIPTION

ROTFL

THE EDITOR, Sir:

Reading Michael Abrahams’ online article, ‘Bible tales from the crypt’, published in The Gleaner on September 14, 2015, I must confess, I finally got it.

Pardon my simplistic analysis, not being as ‘edduukatedd’ as he is, and the fact that my only exposure to psychology is a few documentaries watched on the Health channel.

I know that as a physician, it is sometimes difficult to disclose an adverse diagnosis to a patient, especially when the future looks grim.

Please try to get close family around you, have a seat, listen attentively to the diagnosis: “Dr Abrahams, I regret to inform you that you are suffering from an almost incurable case of Shameless Attention Seeking Disorder.”

Please forgive my simple terminology. I am aware that some people may scoff at the diagnosis because it is not in Latin or Greek.There are various manifestations of your disorder. I will list a few:

1. Serial killers;

2. Arsonists;

3. Controversy seekers.

I am sure by now you would have figured out your position on the list. Don’t tear your hair out, there is HOPE.

Here is a shortlist of options:

1. Spiritual

A) Kneel at the side of your bed.

B) Have a conversation with the God that you have been earnest to disparage.

C) Ask Him to forgive you.

D) Ask Him to intervene and be Lord of your life.

2. Temporal

A) Seek psychological help.

B) Take a break from your busy schedule.

C) Avoid reading or writing commentary for as long as it takes for a cure of this malady.

D) Get a new hobby. I hear that gardening or birdwatching could be good therapy.

I really mean you well. I hope my non-expert, simplistic diagnosis and suggestions are not taken to mean ill will. Honestly, they are not.

As a man of the Christian faith, I must confess that I am biased in favour of Option 1: spiritual.

I hope that my inclusion of Option 2 (temporal) is a sufficient indicator that my intention is not solely conversion, but cure.

Wishing you a speedy recovery,

DONALD MCHUGH

Bishop

THE EDITOR, Sir:

Bwoy, Michael Abrahams, you are always on stage, it seems, ever seeking applause and attention. Last week, after ‘socking it’ to them Christians via The Gleaner, you were meeting with your ‘boys’ on your Facebook page, ‘knocking fists’ and engaging in high fives with your atheistic/agnostic crowd, promising much more sniping and comedic caricaturing of Christian ideology in the near future (which you have since fulfilled).

You’ve even been gloating over your seeming polemic ‘victory’ over the Jamaican ‘religiotards’ (as one of your supporters put it) – while skilfully faking your “genuine desire” to learn the “truth” about God, while showing much camaraderie and appreciation for Christians (like the Rev Clinton Chisholm) that you want to show “nuff” respect to. Hmmmm.

And the Actor Boy Award goes to Mikey! By the way, I did some Googling of your numerous anti-Christian pieces released in recent times, and after reading them through – which ranged from you making deliberate fun of Christian teachings, to deliberately sniping at Christianity’s God and the Christian’s Bible – I am convinced you have discovered that Christianity in Jamaica is ‘fertile ground’ for you to make a writing career out of caricaturing it. Great career move!

Finally, I see you labouring feverishly to paint yourself as a “general human rights activist”, yet ironically you are actively set against a certain group of religious people, and doing your best to publicly belittle, caricature, and undermine the integrity of their faith. Great going, Mr Human Rights Activist!

DERRICK GILLESPIE

Teacher, Munro College

0 thoughts on “PASTOR GI DR ABRAHAMS A PRESCRIPTION