PAYLOA AND THE RADIO STATIONS

zip1-Optimized
POPULAR dancehall figure Emcee Nuffy is urging radio disc jocks to give up-and-coming artistes a break.
Nuffy, whose given name is Andrew Nelson, made the suggestion against the background of this week’s stunt by deejay I Kon D Link, who climbed up ZIP FM’s tower in St Andrew and threatened to jump if his songs were not played. He was subsequently charged for creating public mischief.
“They claim that you should submit your songs to the library… I did that. I have given it to other jocks and still nothing,” said Nuffy, who has also tried his hand at producing.
“As someone in the music business, I feel that kind of frustration. Unless you have money nothing gets played. Me haffi tek a stance against it,” he said.
The Broadcasting Commission of Jamaica, the regulatory body for the electronic media, recently recommended that payola be made a criminal act with harsh penalties for offenders.
Payola is the illegal practice of payment or other inducement for the broadcast of recordings on music radio.
“They can’t just look at the artistes that can spend a money and those on top, or else it will always be this way. It’s stressful,” he said.
“I’m not bashing disc jocks, but they need to know that when they play a struggling artiste’s song, someone may like it and they could get to do a dub plate or jingle,” he continued.
Emcee Nuffy said I Kon D Link acted out of frustration, which many persons like himself can relate to.
“The greatest thing is that he didn’t jump,” he said.
FAME FM’s Colin Hines said resorting to disruptive behaviour isn’t the solution. He said up-and-coming artistes must be armed with what he termed the “basic elements”.
“The basic elements to a great song are lyrics — which must be funny, sensible or smart. A catchy melody and an infectious beat along with God-given vocal talents and quality production go a far way in getting music on air,” said Hines.
The radio jock further noted that if all radio stations are circumventing the work of an artiste, then chances are one or a few of these required elements were missing.
“There a lot of honest and sensible disc jocks around who are drawn to great music like a moth to a flame, so if it’s not happening for you, then something is wrong,” he said.
The point of having great music to start with was echoed by artiste Nadine Sutherland.
She noted that there are many acts who, once heard for the first time, you knew they were something special.
“I remember hearing Chronixx for the first time and was blown away by his obvious talent. Etana, too… when I first heard her at a Rebel Salute launch, I just knew there was a special quality to her material,” Sutherland said.
“You must have good material, it’s a no-brainer. If you have good material radio stations will play. You must be responsible and professional. Packaging has to be right, your CD has to be labelled correctly — no bad handwriting with a [marker] — it is an indicator of who you are. There is no room for mediocrity when you are trying to get out there,” she said.

0 thoughts on “PAYLOA AND THE RADIO STATIONS

1. I not condoning wat di yute duh….but wen unu seh di material affi good fi get play dats a bold face lie cuz a whole heap a bullshit song a get play……unu fi dun di payola ting an make di playing field level fi everybody

2. (ONLY ARTIST OR CON-ARTIST) JAMAICANS SHOULD STOP LOOKING TO MUSIC FOR A WAY OUT. HOW ABOUT LEARN A TRADE. WHAT ABOUT RESEARCH: SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ARTS, READ A BOOK USE YOUR PHONE TO LEARN TINGS. THERE IS TOO MUCH UNEDUCATED ARTISTS. THIS LOSER HAD NO TALENT LISTEN TO HIS SONG. THE WORLD IS NOT LEVEL GET A TALENT OR GET A TRADE LOSER

3. It r ongle money or badup dem respek. My yute, yu bruk suh da route deh a nuh yourns. Nex time tek one machine guh ova Zip, hol awn pon di baddess one een deh an beat awf di right side a him face. Nuh seh one rerd to him. When him leff KPH pick up yu phone an call him. Tell him seh it r bout time him start play yu chune. Done desso.

4. Yea if a did wan notorious don pickney are Bredda are any family memba dah tune deh wudda haul n pull-up an wheel up every minute….a money are badniss alone dem undastan fi tru….cuz di mout a eediat song mi ear a play a mus payola a gwaan lmaooooo

5. yute use to par wid sean kingston bak in di day. mi feel like him ago buss. him have gimmicks to him ting. plus di song not as bad as how most ppl seh. song get 2.8 outta 10. he will come better i think

6. Ef a rubbish Met den a suh, one play an dash ie weh. One time late night radio was fi gi di yute dem some air time. Now ef deez dick jockeys nah get wan bag a money yu corner dark. An di pussC’ole dem suh brazen wid it to.

Leave a Reply to judas Cancel reply