PROMINENT JAMAICAN ATTORNEY MIGUEL LORNE DISBARRED

Attorney-at-law Miguel Lorne disbarred
n Jamaica, the fourth since January.

Michael Lorne, who is popularly known as Miguel Lorne, was disbarred by the General Legal Council on the weekend. Mr Lorne, through his attorney Bert Samuels, confirmed the matter with RJR News on Monday night.

Mr. Samuels stated that Mr. Lorne was reported to the General Legal Council by a relative of one of his clients, in relation to an estate matter which involved the transfer of property.

Mr. Samuels explained that the issue involved relatives who had different views on how the proceeds of a sale should be distributed.

The list of attorneys who have been struck off since January includes Harold Brady, Richard Bonner, and Gregory Lopez.

Mr. Lorne has taken steps to appeal the decision of the General Legal Council.

17 thoughts on “PROMINENT JAMAICAN ATTORNEY MIGUEL LORNE DISBARRED

1. These lawyers are all crooks. Many of them go in with the intention of helping but they end up turning into crooks. Lawyers are dirty.

2. Longtime these crooked attornies a tek people BBC money and a put inna escrow account and put the people dem money pon fix deposit before them turn it over to the the seller of properties. Many more to go dam thief.
    I always question why does it take so friggin long to complete a home purchase here in Jamaica. Hip Hip hooray

1. I could not have said it any better. They put clients money on fixed deposit accounts and delay transfer while they earn millions.

1. Dearest PP

I’m comfortable enough to reveal on here that I’m in these circles…ever notice the long-winded comments? Lol!!but here’s the shocking fact…this is the 3rd time we twisted disgrace demonic dreadie a GET DISBARRED!!! Really no want go inna the nitty-gritty how comes but just know he will be back! !

Aaahhh bwooiii!

3. Why do they keep doing this? Maybe lawyering nuh meck money a JA like some places, but what of the code of ethics they signed on to. If temptation too much then put the matter over to another lawyer to handle. Unno know how many ppl dem scam, is very few ppl report dem, some just eat the loss. Ppl send money fi dem buy real estate, no property nuh buy. Shyt man, dat money may look easy to unno is some else’s blood, sweat, and tears. Ppl suffer and nyam grass like Nebuchadnezzar fi get summen of dem own. I know ppl nuh buy clothes or bout fi years chu dem a try save, some nuh teck vacations, some a work all three jobs. Leave ppl tings alone, guh look a legitimate side hustle, but stop steal ppl labour and call it unno own!

1. Believe it or not, most lawyers in Jamaica AND the USA do not make a lot of money. There is a severe glut of lawyers in the US and many lawyers leaving law schools cannot find employment. The same in Jamaica, where there are too many lawyers for such a small country. The average Jamaicans cannot afford an attorney, so the bulk of them have to resort to stealing clients money to survive or project an image. I was a victim of a Jamaica attorney who stole funds related to a real estate transaction. She is nowhere to be found and appear to be suffering from bipolar disorder.

1. I wonder if is a certain lawyer who loves fast cars and expensive shoes you talking? From St. Ann side (so she said) lol. famous for a blue Subaru. IF it is indeed her, boy she bipolar fi true! Anyway THIS particular lawyer always seems to be running or hiding from something/someone. She lectured me and can you believe that the woman left in the middle of our last semester with all our ungraded exam papers? It was said that a deal she handled went bad and people were hunting her down. If I see her today, i’d grab her and squeeze har neck for what she put me through. Had to beg to resit the exams!

1. I think she was located in the Montego Bay area and was living/practicing in the States at one point. She went back to Jamaica chasing after some guy and eventually had some mental illness and left owing many clients. I cannot go into the details on WWW.

4. THE LAWYERS HAVE THE GLC AND THE POLICE HAVE INDECOM TO KEEP THEM IN CHECK, WHILE THE DOCTORS CONTINUE TO GET AWAY WITH MURDER.

5. don’t know much about the situation with the just come lawyers but the established ones in JA do make a nice living off the profession, its the currupt, crooked mentality thats been embedded in JA society since independence, and they used to get away with it previously because anybody who you would normally complain to whether in society or goverment ministry would be their own freinds, colleagues or club members, but due to recent introduction of ethics rules and laws in JA’s books and the modernization of the constitution things change drastically the past couple of years and catch them in the net.

1. That crookedness exist from the English came on shore and when massa inbreds and house slave babies got left behind. Independence has nothing to do with it.