RASTA SEH HIM HAFFI CARRY HIM CROCUS BAG

Rasta travels to USA with crocus bag

A Jamaican farmer who travelled to the United States with a crocus bag yesterday said he was threatened by a customs officer when he arrived at the Fort Lauderdale International Airport.

Delroy Renton, a farmer from Cornwall, Lacovia, St Elizabeth, told THE STAR that while his bag was being checked by a customs officer he decided to speak glowingly about his hometown.

“One a di custom officer taste me peanut and me a seh yow, a Cornwall me come from, Cornwall District, Cornwall P.O. St Elizabeth. St Elizabeth name after the Queen, Holland Bamboo is a landmark place. Mi see a next customs officer run come over a tell me seh calm down or him wi thrown me down,” Renton said.

Roast peanut

Renton, who also goes by the name Rastafarian Soldier, added: “Me look pon him a say ‘fi real’ Den how dis yah man who me a talk to, who eat my roast peanut, weh Roy roast fi me, naah complain and you a come talk bout yuh wi throw me down. A because how me look and have me fine baylin bag”?.

The 42-year-old Rastafarian told THE STAR that having purchased two bushels of peanuts, weighing about 40 pounds, in his hometown. He said that he felt compelled to take some of the produce with him to the United States of America to share with family and friends.

And using a suitcase was not on his mind. He used a crocus bag, a decision which made him an instant social media star. A video of Renton inside the airport with his crocos back, which has been posted on Facebook racked up approximately 170,000 views up to press time yesterday.

“Me feel great,” he said about the fact that persons are talking about him. “A advertise me a advertise Jamaica. Anyweh we guh we talk suh, anyweh we guh we move suh.”

Renton does not want to be alone in the excitement. He said that his mother, Sarah Powell and his father, Delroy, as well as his cousin Roy should share some of the spotlight.

He told THE STAR that he sees nothing wrong with bag even though people attempted to ‘clown’ him.

“Me a Jamaican and me like fi move like a Jamaican. Only a Jamaican you would see wid dem bag deh a travel,” Renton, who also goes by the name Rastafarian Soldier, said.

“Man a real man. Me nuh embarrass fi mek yuh see seh man a countryman and man a farmer,” he added.

Renton said that when he landed at the Fort Lauderdale International Airport yesterday, a custom officer ate some of his peanuts. He, however, said that the experience was not all warm.

“When me land di people dem a look pon me like me have two head,” he recalled.

He said that having cleared customs, he was unable to get a ride to his mother’s house.

“When me reach up and a call me sister, me caah get nuh ride,” he said.

He said that he saw a bicycle outside, which he believes was left there by a relative for him, and rode about 13 miles home with the crocus bag of peanuts.

“A man almost lick me off a di bicycle wid di peanut pon di front of the bicycle,” he added.

6 thoughts on “RASTA SEH HIM HAFFI CARRY HIM CROCUS BAG

1. Gwaan through love Jah bless…Yardies nuh watch nuh face when we representing!sym custom Babylon bwoy n stop pressure yaad man!

2. One time I came from JA, a warm spirited Rastaman had his crocus bag too and same way di customs crowded him. He was a gentle soul though, I don’t know what happened with his situation. Authentic Rasta naw carry no airs, if a crocus bag a dweet, a crocus bag a dweet.

3. Did he just seh dat him si a bicycle and assume someone left it fi him suh him ride it guh a him madda yaard? no saht

4. Maybe him don’t have de money fe buy a suitcase, and him a mek good use a wey him have. Ain’t a damn thing wrong wid dat! Him put true meaning to the phrase “Tek yu han and mek fashion”. Good job Delroy!