RHYME MINISTER BLOWS UP WITH ‘KILLAZ AND KILLAZ’

image-Optimized

With a brash name like Rhyme Minister, you can bet that expectations are high for this Montego Bay-based deejay.

And he is living up these lofty expectations with a slew of brilliant singles, the most popular of which is ‘Killaz and Killaz’.

The songs have cemented his place as an underground star in the grimy ghettos of Montego Bay. Singles such as ‘Shub Out’, ‘One Umbrella’,
‘Push Forward’, and the witty ‘Desert Eagles’ are already anthems on the lips of teenagers in the second city.

“Killaz and Killaz ah one of the biggest songs in Montego Bay now, ever

y go go club and dance it ah play inna right now. The song also a generate a good vibe in places like Negril, Sav and all over Westmoreland and Hanvoer. The buzz is so good, right now, we’re planning to shoot a video next month for it,” Rhyme Minister said.

He has developed a very strong following in Montego Bay and his songs are fixtures on underground mixtapes and clubs in western Jamaica.

Born Fabian Sawyers, he grew up with his parents in the tough neighbourhood of Glendevon in Montego Bay, where he attended Glendevon All Age
and then Knockalva High school.

“While I was at Knockalva, I got introduced to music, beating desk, and deejaying to beats. At that time, I used to sing over Bounty Killer songs, till I began to make up my own lyrics. I am inspired by all the deejays I listen to but Bounty Killer who ah just the man, no doubt about that,” he said.

When he left school, Rhyme Minister focussed initially on a career as a dancer, and built up a great reputation as a flashy dresser and competent dancer as a member of the Pink Eye crew.

“We were called the Pink Eye crew because our eyes were always red like a car brake light,” he said, laughing.

It was not until one year afterward that he began to take music seriously.

“When I was in school, mi dance full time and deejay like half ah the time, but mi friends dem say mi can deejay and dance good so I should try deejaying and mi just do it one day. My first single was ‘From Dem Love Talk’ at Crazy Dark studios in Rosemount,” he said.

At that time, he was known in his community as ‘Bugs Crime’ but a chance encounter with Isaiah Laing, promoter of the annual Sting concerts, changed
all that.

“I was booked to perform at Sting and Mr. Walker and Mr. Laing told me they were not promoting any crime ting and that I should change my name, and they changed the crime to rhyme and it just shot, everybody love it,” he said.

Although he has not officially signed to any label, he has inked a management deal with the publishing company, Starplus Management.

He recently performed at Reggae Sumfest’s Dancehall Night where he gave a good account of himself, and he has rocked crowds in Ocho Rios, Falmouth and Savanna-la-Mar.

“Right now, mi a try create my own dancehall movement. Mad move bebble!” he said.

6 thoughts on “RHYME MINISTER BLOWS UP WITH ‘KILLAZ AND KILLAZ’

1. Anonymous how you so corrupt? This is another ghetto youth on the rise him have a lot of songs every club and dance especially in mobay playing his music . Him a go,go farrrr I saw him on intense wah day and heard him on linkz fm
    Met I love this one http://youtu.be/q4tX4dis6vw

2. Ryme Minista is the sickest thing right now pon did scene did man thing a shat Well Bebble!! Shub out Youth, hmmm, Mad Move!!!!

3. Dude! Try a new trade. Alright Onu RUN DE PLACE LIKE POLICE AND SOULJA…otay DEN DE POLICE FI RUN DAT RASS LIKE UNDATEKA!

“mek blood run outta yu face” “Matic inna hand, riffle cross shoulder” “50 caliber” “spen shell a drop like stick shift” “mek sure informa can’t touch de court, dem need fi go kill off every witness”

YOW GO KILL YUSELF! YU COME LATE! JAMAICA A LOOK FI MOVE PASS WHEY YU WAN FI START! ME IS A FEMALE AND TRUSS ME I MAKE DUDES LIKE YU SPIN LIKE GIG. GO GET A TRADE!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply to Squeez Cancel reply