RUSSIAN TENNIS FEDERATION PRESIDENT FINED 15000 POUNDS FOR CALLING VENUS AND SERENA BROTHERS

_78370128_shamil_tarpischev
Russian Tennis Federation president Shamil Tarpischev has been fined $25,000 (£15,500) for referring to Serena and Venus Williams as “the Williams brothers” on a TV chat show.
Tarpischev also received a one-year ban from involvement in the women’s tour.
Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) chief executive Stacy Allaster said the comments were “insulting, demeaning and have absolutely no place in our sport”.
But Tarpischev claimed it was a “joke” with no “malicious intent”.
He added in a statement: “I didn’t want to offend any athlete with my words. I regret that this joke has garnered so much attention. I don’t think this incident deserves so much fuss.”
Tarpischev added the Williams sisters are “outstanding athletes” who “personify strength and perseverance”.
World number one Serena, 33, has won 18 Grand Slam singles titles, while 34-year-old Venus has won seven.
Serena & Venus Williams
Serena & Venus Williams have won 13 Grand Slam doubles titles together
Allaster said: “Mr Tarpischev’s statements questioning their genders tarnish our great game and two of our champions.
“His derogatory remarks deserve to be condemned and he will be sanctioned.”
Dave Haggerty, president of the United States Tennis Association, called on Tarpischev to apologise.
“As the president of the Russian Tennis Federation and a member of the International Olympic Committee, Mr Tarpischev is expected to conduct himself with the highest degree of integrity and sportsmanship,” Haggerty said.
“Unfortunately, his comments do not embody either of these traits and in fact were reprehensible.”

0 thoughts on “RUSSIAN TENNIS FEDERATION PRESIDENT FINED 15000 POUNDS FOR CALLING VENUS AND SERENA BROTHERS

1. Hand clap for what the WTA did!!! That’s only a slap on the wrist though. Too bad him never get a kick inna him ass and a box inna him face pon top a dat to.

1. Brit, racism will never end, so that’s why when dem come fe yuh, yuh fe cuss dem clean righr den ah desso ah dun di argument….some people just don’t know nutten bout mannas and respect…

2. But look pan this big ole mushroom bout him a chat. Mi agree him shouldah did get a steepah penalty. Him shouldah did band fi life from having anything fi do with dem, dyam broight. Anytime u hear dem seh it was a joke and nuh warrant suh much fuss u can know seh dem nuh sorry dem seh it. Him nuh sorry, you can bet seh is not di fuss time him saying it eidah, him seh it often enough fi feel comfortable wid it, and it slip out pan TV. All a dem a wolf innah sheep outfit..

3. Too disrespectful and dem shoulda fine him more dan dat. Despite their impressive talents and their contributions to tennis, dese bigots will always be bigots!!!! Wid him head big like wharf dawg.

4. Based on his comment about the incident does not deserve so much fuss, that puxxy is not sorry for what he said.
    Bwoy I’m telling you it doesn’t matter the boundaries those girls and more people had to cross and the millions they are worth, to some people like that asshole as long as you are black it doesn’t matter. He is a racist puxxy, I bet their race played a roll in his ass-inine comment. Let him guh fi good

1. You are right about him being sorry. Lets face it, both sisters have dominated female tennis for a very long time and this guy is just plain jealous of their success. Frankly, I don’t think it has anything to do with their race as it has to do with their success on and off the court. I’m sure you will find black people that share his views. No matter what, when you are good at what you do, you will find “haters” coming out of the woodworks to pull you down to their level.
      Even if he is a racist, we should not try to censor him, let him put his foot in his mouth and look foolish in the process. I like to know if someone is a racist and know how to deal with them accordingly. The people who are racist and know how to camouflage it, they are the ones to be careful of and there are many whites out there (the majority?) that are good at hiding their true feelings and will appear as friends or accepting of you, when in reality, they despise you and try to undermine you at every turn. Let racist be racist and be themselves. They are not the ones that are your true enemy! Why try and silence these people, it only hurts us more when they harbor their hatred. My two cents.

Leave a Reply to Brit Brit Cancel reply