SEE IT YAH NOW……..IS A MAN PAY FI PRYCE A FISH PROTESTERS GO PNP HQ

MORE than $1.5 million was spent on mobilising supporters to protest in favour of departed deputy general secretary of the People’s National Party (PNP) Raymond Pryce, the Jamaica Observer can report.
pryce
The Observer has been reliably informed that one St Elizabeth businessman was the main sponsor of the activity, with supporters being paid $2,500 each to board the buses, and given a meal as well, which came up to roughly $950,000.

The cost of renting the 12 buses amounted to more than $600,000.

Other business interests contributed to footing the bill, but none of the amount was put up by Pryce, the
Observer was told.

Pryce, sources said yesterday, had chosen to resign before being dismissed by the party’s second-highest decision-making group, the National Executive Council (NEC), as he had “gone too far” in trying to send a message that he should be retained as MP.

The MP’s failure to rein in his supporters, only served to put the party in disrepute, rather than boost its fortunes, his critics have said.

Pryce, the member of parliament for St Elizabeth North Eastern, quit as deputy general secretary and a member of the officer corps of the near 88-year-old PNP, arising from an incident on Monday when busloads of his supporters converged on the party’s Old Hope Road headquarters in St Andrew.

The vociferous crowd threatened to, among other things, to withhold their votes in the next general election, expected during the first quarter of this year, if Pryce was not allowed to contest the seat. They demanded that the party reinstates Pryce.

The party had, last year, approved St Elizabeth businessman Evon Redman as the candidate to replace Pryce.

The general belief is that the incumbent MP was not convincing in trying to dissuade his supporters from taking such action and had to be held accountable.

In an animated meeting of the PNP’s officers corps and parliamentary group at its headquarters on Monday, a majority of those present suggested that Pryce ought to be sanctioned — a decision that would later have to be ratified by the NEC.

One PNP elder even went as far as suggesting that Pryce should be kicked out of the party.

Pryce, the former St George’s College and University of the West Indies graduate, who once headed the PNP’s youth affiliate, the Patriots, told Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller in his letter of resignation, that despite his best efforts to prevent occurrences within the political organisation in St Elizabeth North Eastern, they continued to play out publicly.

“All of us as Comrades support the right of our membership to express opinions freely and to do so respectfully and within the established channels,” he wrote.

“The current situation has caused significant strain and concern to me as member of parliament and as an officer of the party who holds the post of deputy general secretary/communication.

“Quite regrettably, the matters have detained much of the attention of the leadership of the party and have impacted on our collective ability to proceed on other crucial issues. This is untenable.

“As a result, and of a course of principle and respect to you personally and as party president and officers who had invited me to serve as deputy general secretary in the first place, I tender my resignation from that post and from the officer corps,” Pryce wrote, while maintaining his commitment to the PNP

“For the record, I remain convinced in my view, based on fact and experience that the People’s National Party as a national movement still presents the best opportunities for Jamaica’s continued development, I will continue my membership in the party and will work earnestly to contribute to its advancement and that of the people of Jamaica.

“It has been an honour to serve the party at this level and to be among its ranks as the parliamentary representative from North Eastern St Elizabeth.

“The successes that have been achieved there were done with the partnership of the great people of that constituency and on their behalf. That testifies to their importance and to the respect my family and I will always have for them. I thank them for their support.

“I especially thank you party president for the confidence you repose in me and for the opportunities that have come for me to serve this country and our party,” Pryce wrote.

Redman could not be reached yesterday when the

Observer sought a comment from him, but an aide to the declared candidate said that there was some amount of “relief” that Pryce had decided to quit the officers corps.

“He always had an advantage even when we were running the campaign of Comrade Redman, being a part of the secretariat, and so he was privy to material and information that was not available to the Redman side.

“We are hoping that now that Mr Pryce has resigned as deputy general secretary, the people who say they support him will, finally, rally behind Comrade Redman, so that we can work in peace and harmony. But somehow, I just get the feeling that we still have not seen the last of this whole episode,” the PNP supporter said.

10 thoughts on “SEE IT YAH NOW……..IS A MAN PAY FI PRYCE A FISH PROTESTERS GO PNP HQ

1. Word on the street is that Kern Spencer was the businessman that paid for the trip to Kingston by the comrades.

1. why the heck is Kern not in Jail tho

mawnin metty .. vacay have me a way u wa see d dancehall teh teh dem a jamaica u can tell dm nuh ha wuck ago ppl can stay a jamaica fi 2 months?

1. Yes, Kern. Both Kern and Pryce were both PNP youth leaders and knew each for a long time. Apparently, most of the people in NE St. Elizabeth want Pryce. So, Kern who has hopes of representing the PNP in the future is trying to build up goodwill for when the bulb issue has died down.

2. I doubt that, since Kern is the person behind Redman. He is the troublemaker behind the scene and wants to get back that seat. Plus he has money problems.