SENDER SEH SHE CONFUSED BOUT THIS ARTICLE WID DI CHINESE INITIATIVE VISION AND DI SNUB

Ambassador urges Ja to merge Chinese initiative, vision 2030

Minister of National Security, Dr Horace Chang (left), shakes hands with Peter Mark Chin, deputy executive chairman of LASCO Affiliated Companies and managing director of LASCO Distributors Limited, on arrival at the welcome dinner for Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary of China to Jamaica, TIAN Qi (centre). The function was held on Wednesday, November 14, at the Jade Gardens Restaurant in Liguanea Kingston

NEWLY installed Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China to Jamaica, Tian Qi, is encouraging Jamaica to sign on to the Asian Belt and Road Initiative (BRI).

The BRI is China’s attempt to create a modern version of the Silk Road, in a bid to boost trade and economic integration across Caribbean and Latin American states, including Trinidad and Tobago, Cuba, Venezuela, Panama, Chile, El Salvador and most recently, Ecuador through investments in roads, pipelines, ports and communication networks.

“We warmly welcome Jamaica to take this initiative of Belt and Road Cooperation by combining it to the Vision 2030 Jamaican Development Plan,” Qi said.

Speaking at a welcome dinner hosted by Lascelles Chin, founder and executive chairman, LASCO Affiliated Companies, Qi said China will continue to advance the BRI.

“It is my wish that there will be [a] better partnership between Jamaica and China in the future,” he told guests at the Jade Garden Restaurant in Kingston. “It is our common wish that the day will come soon when Jamaica is the real place to live, raise families, do business and retire in paradise.”

By August 2018, over 103 countries and international organisations had signed over 118 Belt and Road Cooperation’s Agreements with China, resulting in it accumulating over US$5 trillion in trade since June, according to Qi.

Launched by President Xi Jinping in 2013, the BRI has already seen Chinese loans and investments of US$340 billion in infrastructure and energy projects in 65 countries. It is expected to reach US$1 trillion by 2023 and US$2 trillion by the 2030s.

Qi went on to note that China will continue to advance the BRI through international cooperation, in a spirit of extensive consultation, joint contribution and shared benefits.

The ambassador said China and Jamaica are important partners in protection capacity cooperation and job initiatives.

“Over the past years, 16 major Chinese enterprises have invested over US$1.9 billion in Jamaica, completed nearly 40 projects and created over 10,000 jobs,” Qi said.

“As you know Chinese companies are doing good business and giving back to the local communities as we are better in doing and speaking,” he added.

The ambassador highlighted the China International Import/Expo in Shanghai last month, which was attended by a delegation led by Minister of Industry, Commerce, Agriculture and Fisheries, Audley Shaw, who shared opportunities for investments and showcased Jamaican products there.

He described the expo as “a concrete action by the Chinese Government to pursue a new round of high-level opening up of the economy”.

“I was convinced that this would further boost brand Jamaica,” Qi said.

In welcoming the ambassador, LASCO founder, Chin said Qi has taken up a role during another extraordinary time in the history of Jamaica and China relations.

“As we underscore the financial contribution of your country, we also want to welcome you in the spirit of the bonds of friendship and mutually beneficial cultural ties that have marked China – Jamaica relations, for decades,” Chin said.

Chin also thanked Chinese companies CHEC and JISCO for believing and investing in Jamaica.

“As we traverse the length and breadth of our country, we owe a debt of gratitude to CHEC as we experience the impact of their investment in our country,” Chin said. “Today, thanks to CHEC we can now boast of travelling on what could be described as “Silk” roads, or as Honourable Nigel Clarke said, we are now driving on carpet.”

Minister Horace Chang, representing Prime Minister Andrew Holness, reiterated the long-standing relationship that exists between China and Jamaica. “We consider the Chinese as one of our great friends in the Far East. We’ve had 164 years of Chinese connection with Jamaica… and we have maintained that relationship,” he noted.

The welcome dinner hosted by Chin, was attended by former Governor General Sir Kenneth Hall; government ministers besides Minister of National Security Dr Horace Chang, included minister without portfolio in the Office of the Prime Minister, Mike Henry; Minister without portfolio in the Ministry of Economic Growth and Job Creation, Karl Samuda, and Minister of state in the Office of the Prime Minister with responsibility for Works, Everald Warmington.

Chinese investors, including Hu Zhimin, CHEC deputy general manager and JISCO general manage, Zhang Jun were also present.

ADVERTISEMENT

Is 2019 Your Year? Find Out With A Free Reading!
Oranum
|
Sponsored
Black man who killed burglar trying to break into his home posts bail
The Grio
|
Sponsored
15+ Awesome Foods That Naturally Clear Arteries
Housediver
|
Sponsored

POST A COMMENT

HOUSE RULES

1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper � email addresses will not be published.
  2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.
  3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.
  4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.
  5. Please don’t use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed: [email protected].
  6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email: [email protected].
  7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus
Dubai Photos That Will Make You Wonder About Visiting
Definition
|
Sponsored

She Was A Huge Star In The 90s, Now She Lives An Ordinary Life
Finance Nancy
|
Sponsored
Only NFL experts can pass this logo quiz.
Topixsideline
|
Sponsored
Here’s A List Of Disney Rules You Won’t Agree With
Thedelite
|
Sponsored
JFK’s Only Grandson is a Spitting Image of his Late Uncle JFK Jr.
Healthy George
|
Sponsored
Woman Refuses To Drive To Work Until One Day Cop Follows Her And Sees Why
Life Buzz
|
Sponsored
Guy Posts Selfie With His Dog. Police See It And Rush To His Home
IcePop
|
Sponsored
She Adopts A Girl That Nobody Wants. 19 Years Later, She Looks 100% Different
Fallbrook24/7
|
Sponsored
Age Is Not An Issue For Richard Gere’s New And Pregnant Wife
Refinance Gold
|
Sponsored
Missing American woman found
Jamaica Observer
Treasure Beach tragedy
Jamaica Observer
Business
No scandal here!

Restrictions and reforms: Saudi Arabia’s treatment of women

Modi plans jobs quota for India’s ‘upper caste poor’

Social media in finance

Victims of Venezuela crisis despair at prospect of second Maduro term

Samsung Electronics flags near 30% slump in Q4 operating profit
5 Comments

In space, the US sees a rival in China

Samsung launches remote access
5 Comments

Brazil looks at privatising or closing 100 state firms

Mexican president declares few assets, shows bare wallet
3 Comments

Knutsford Express raises $150M in bond issue
1 comment

Neglect tourism at peril of economy — Tarlow

US gadget love forecast to grow despite trust issues
8 Comments

Breadmaking robot start-up eyes fresh connections
1 comment

Privacy becomes a selling point at tech show

Global natural disasters wreak US$160bn damage in 2018 — Munich Re
29 Comments

Finance heavyweights plan new US stock exchange

Oppostion against ‘hostile takeover’ of Petrojam
1 comment

US stocks rise on optimism over trade talks
4 Comments

World Bank warns brewing trade storm jeopardises global economy
17 Comments

You May Like
See The New 2019 SUVs Everybody Is… (SUV Reviews & Rankings)
Bolt not done yet
Before you renew Amazon Prime, read this (Wikibuy)
A bag a scandal
Melania’s Private Quarters Onboar… (Livestly)
J’can fisherman dies in Nicaragua after 22 days adrift
This Massive Cargo Ship Was Missing For 9 Years … (Monagiza)

5 thoughts on “SENDER SEH SHE CONFUSED BOUT THIS ARTICLE WID DI CHINESE INITIATIVE VISION AND DI SNUB

1. sender don’t be confused! our beloved country is a big pie just waiting to be carved up just like how colonizers carved up their share during colonization of africa! as its stands now, mr. Chin has a nice piece of this pie so he shouldn’t be too gravalicious, the remainder have to be reserved for other people’s favorites, so in the meantime, the perception or i should say deception is while mr. chin is very essential, we have to take the country’s interest at heart, also what might be unbeknownst to majority of jamaicans, their right wing government is being held hostage by their far-right, racist, white supremacist ideological colleagues overseas who are about to venture into a trade war showdown with mr. chin and “uptidy mulatto” is kinda stuck on both ends but the ideology always prevails so thats what you are seeing playing out :thumbup

2. Vfone là công nghệ tích hợp dịch vụ
    điện thoại thắt chặt và cố định IMS
    và Internet Cáp Quang VNPT bên trên cùng một đường cáp quang.

Leave a Reply to lắp điện thoại cố định vnpt Cancel reply