SHAMEFUL-LEAVE HER SON 25 YEARS AGO AND JUS A RETURN

Missing for 25 years – Mother searches for son she left with vendor when he

A 49-year-old woman who left her three-year-old son with a stranger 25 years ago is now trying to locate him.

The woman, Winsome Clarke, who lived in Manchester at the time, said she left the boy, Wentworth Leon Chambers, with a woman in May Pen, Clarendon, with the expectation that his father would have collected him.

She admits that she did not follow up with the vendor to figure out whether the boy was collected by his father. She said that was after a “few months” that she realised that the child was not collected by the father.

Clarke told The STAR that she had spent the past 25 years looking for the boy, who she affectionately called Chazzar. She stated that she had taken the child to give to his father but decided to leave him with the woman when he did not show up on time.

“I was waiting on him but night was coming and bus was hard to get and the landlady was giving me hell. It was a woman that we both know. I don’t remember her name, though, but she was a big woman at the time so she suppose to old now. She was short and black and she used to sell ground provisions at Guinep Tree in May Pen. I usually go back to May Pen and look if I see the lady but I never saw her,” she said.

Clarke said that neither her nor Chazzar’s father, Delroy Chambers, laid eyes on the woman since she handed over her baby. She told The STAR that she did not report the matter to the police, stating that she was “scared”.

“I have no one to blame but myself. I was relying on his father to find him and I really never live anywhere at the time. I should have reported the matter to the police. If I get one more chance at life, I would rather live under tree with him. I have been searching for him all along, not just now, and I cry till I can’t cry any more. I even called a television programme to see if I could widen the search, but I am still on the waiting list,” Clarke said.

FEELS INCOMPLETE
Clarke has three other children ages, 25, 16 and 15, but says her life feels incomplete without her first-born child.

“My mother had four kids and her husband never want me at his home. She was paying the rent for me, but when she stopped, the landlord run me. I never had anywhere to live so that’s the main reason I never reported it,” she added.

Chambers, 52, whose relationship with Clarke ended shortly after the baby was born, said he had no idea his son was not with his mother until about three months after she left him with the woman.

“She left the baby with a woman at Guinep Tree in May Pen. I don’t know the woman personally, is just someone I saw. She didn’t tell me same time say she leave the baby with the woman, is months after mi find out. Mi babymother tell mi say she carry the baby come look for me and never see mi. She usually come a week time, but I didn’t know she was coming that day, so mi never deh home. All this time mi think she have the child a country with her,” he said.

Like Clarke, Chambers said he never informed the police of the incident but went on a futile search for his only child.

“We searched everywhere in Clarendon but no one really know the woman. I am not sure if she is even from Clarendon. Mi sorry mi never report the matter to the police. I don’t even know the name of the woman who have mi pickney…Nobody nuh seem to know her name and some people all a say she dead,” the father said.

Clarke said that although it has been more than two decades since she last saw her son, she is appealing to anyone who may have information to help her locate the boy who would have celebrated his 28th birthday on May 25.

“There are persons that are saying that I am seeking something from him why I am still searching for him, but that is not the case. I just want to find him. I made a really bad mistake when I left him with the woman. I just want to find my son,” she insisted

10 thoughts on “SHAMEFUL-LEAVE HER SON 25 YEARS AGO AND JUS A RETURN

1. What. Leave di baby wid a stranger a wah so coulda mek mi leave mi child wid a stranger inna market. Sad on all levels . I hope that nothing happened to him and he is alive and lived a good life.

2. Wow. None of this really make any sense and I guess all ah we ago state di obvious! Why, why and why at every stage of dis story. There must be more to this. Mi nah ask why u left Di baby because u already try to “explain” and could not give any answer which would justify leaving that innocent child with a stranger.

This is overwhelming. So you dun lef Di baby now… So Why would you not notify police all this time??? All these years? But you would even have more information about what actually happen that day. What month and what year? Why did you decide to leave the baby at that spot an with dat particular lady? U never even ask Di lady har name? What was the arrangement? How was she suppose to find you baby dad? Was there not other vendor about Di place who would know her? No one else no witness what happen? U baby fada nah no family bout Di place? No Sah, dis no add up. Dis story is far fetched. And u mean to tell me, Yuh baby fada Don’t vex and when him find out him jus go look fi Di baby and Him Don’t contact police either? So u ask about Di place and dis never raise no eyebrows with no one else? No other family confront you pon dis? Have u checked records from local children’s home? Smh…mi feel say u an Di baby fada know what happen to u baby.

3. Fascinating story. Nobody would know the child’s birthdate so that information wouldn’t help much. The child likely has no birth certificate either. Hopefully he reads the article and connect the dots, that is if the vendor told him the true story of his history.

I have nothing to say, your guilt and shame is enough punishment for two lifetimes. The fact that you are not at peace in your soul says enough. I only hope that he was loved and well cared for and is doing positive things with his life today. You may have given birth to him, but he is NOT your son.

4. Maybe she sold the child, and this is a cover story for the father and those who knew about the child.

5. I hope that baby grew up and is living well. What a wicked mother. True she vex and loose her patience waiting for the baby father. Then she left the baby with a stranger. Poor little baby, he must of bawled out his little eyes when he didn’t see his careless mumma.

Unless she, God forbid kill the baby. In which I really hoped didn’t happen. And why wouldn’t the lady whom she left the baby with never notify the police

This is so sad

6. This story is just so sad. Whether we believe it or not is not even the issue right now because Lord knows I don’t but what’s so frustrating is that the investigator in me, doesn’t even know where to start!

How does this even get solved? Where is this boy who is now a man? Does he have any birthmarks, scars, moles, dimples? What distinguishing features does he have that can be used to help identify him? His name & picture won’t even help because this imaginary woman she left the baby with probably doesn’t even know his name!

I am a mother of a 19 y/o boy & I cant even sleep good until i hear the door shut & I know he’s home & safe! But from all the news articles I have read, there are many questionable “parents” out there!

This seems like an impossible mission but nothing is impossible with God. All i can say is Best Of Luck!

7. She should a shame to tell this story! My God! Months after yuh leff before yuh check bout yuh baby? Me p*ssyclaat! Lady yuh want a bl**dclaat beating!!!