SIMONE’S FAREWELL

Tearful tributes flowed yesterday at Waltham Park New Testament Church of God in remembrance of late businesswoman Simone Campbell Collymore, who was gunned down earlier this month.

According to media reports, on January 2 Collymore was travelling in a taxi on Stanely Terrace in Red Hills, St Andrew, when gunmen opened fire, hitting her and the driver of the taxi – Winston Walters.

Both were pronounced dead at hospital.

Just days before her funeral, Collymore’s widower, Omar, and another man were shot and injured at Allied Insurance Brokers Limited on Belmont Road in Kingston.

Friends and family, who were dressed in all-white attire at the thanksgiving service yesterday, remembered Collymore as a loving mother of two, kind, and highly motivated.

The 32-year-old’s daughter, Ochen Collymore bravely paid tribute to her mother in a poem entitled If Roses Grow in Heaven.

“Tell her I love her and miss her… because remembering her is easy I do it every day. But there is an ache within my heart that will never go away,” said the Mona Preparatory student.

“I love you Mommy, rest in peace,” she added.

An emotional Stacey Chu, who described herself as Collymore’s best friend for over 20 years, said: “I admired the woman, Simone had evolved to be a successful entrepreneur who strived for success and never settled. She was such a determined and focused person that knew that failure was never an option. She was also very resourceful and believed there was always a way to work things out.”

Collymore’s aunt, Raquel Tate, said: “I remember when Simone was younger I could not go anywhere without her. When you saw me, Simone was always there like my handbag.”

Tate, who said that she gave her niece the nickname “Sim Simma”, added: “I would take her in the days and comb her hair numerous times for that day, and Karen (Simone’s mother) would call out and say ‘Mommy, Raquel going to make my pickney head sore.'” The comment elicited laughter from the congregation.

Other tributes also highlighted Collymore’s love for sports, especially basketball ,which she often played with her male friends.

Collymore’s former schoolmates from the University of North Florida presented a video tribute in which friends overseas recounted their most memorable moments with her.

Collymore’s husband was missing from the church service. However, his sister Jheanell Watkis, gave a tribute in song

14 thoughts on “SIMONE’S FAREWELL

1. She got a dignified send off. My heart aches for the family but especially so for her children. While the sister a pay tribute the brute either dead or a try run wey.

1. The interesting part is he is running away without taking possession of his two kids or is it his plan is to let the grandparents take full custody?

2. These pictures are BEAUTIFUL, I agree with the first comment very dignified. May he (Omar) live in HELL ON EARTH

3. Classy funeral. All i know her family is more forgiving than mine. Cuz him sister cuda never come nuh weh near dat service much less sing.

4. The funeral was a turn out.. Every rd was full with traffic. Her bestfriend tribute hit me and when her daughter went up and put the rose on her mother coffin.. The best friend talk about how a great friend simone was and how she let her first eat sushi which she never dreamt to eat.. Everyone fly in for the funeral.. Mr Barry is love by a lot of ppl and respected… S.I.P SIMONE