SOME DETAILS ON THE POLICE WOMAN WHO DIED

11755792_1430212187307199_2505849626304354074_n-Optimized

Twenty-four Crystal Thomas never stood a chance when she confronted gun men earlier this week. The young police woman was shot in her throat and head while as she confronted would be robbers on the bus she was traveling on.

Passengers on the bus allege that Crystal pulled her weapon on two of the young men who attempted the rob fellow passengers but was taken from behind by another gun-man who was acting as a look out among the passengers in the bus. The man was said to have shot the four year veteran twice and threw her off the bus. Witnesses at the scene said Crystal was alive and gasping for air when the first the first squad car came ,but there was a delay in taking her to the hospital. Police on the scene were unaware that Thomas was a police and complained about soiling ”the government’s vehicle” and did not take the young woman to the hospital. It is said that when the second vehicle arrived they realized that Thomas was one of their own and took her to the hospital.

0 thoughts on “SOME DETAILS ON THE POLICE WOMAN WHO DIED

1. I am really not a bad person but am I the only one that thinks what she did was wrong?. I would NEVER under no circumstances identify myself as a cop, I refuse to be a hero or a marter. Yes let them call me coward but I would take the robbings like everyone else. Look deh she a carry out her oath even after work hours and she wasn’t worthy to be transported in the “govt vehicle” It no worth it baby girl. My sincere abd I do mean sincere condolences to her family in this sad time.

2. Same so the other day a di portmore toll someone hit a police and all 30 mins nobody show up..if dem so concerned about government vehicle dem need fi put plastic covering in all a dem..

3. lol affi tek bad tings mek joke. Soil d vehile r u fing kidding me!!! She was to just pay attention to the boys and then call the station afterwards bczu those cowards in Ja do not work alone. Jah know R.I.P young lady. You died for your govt and they couldnt even put u in their vehicle.

1. That a regular thing fi dem…the gleaner has the video whey di people dem tek wid she gasping for air and u could see the lights of the other vehicle in the background

4. If the robbers are from the area chances are they know her. She would probably get killed anyway because if they search her and found the gun they would most likely shoot her. Who knows maybe she was the intended target from the get go. Its such a damn shame though that they do have to take public transport to go home, especially at night. As for the soiling of the govt vehicle,I can’t fathom that statement..SMDH..a so them shallow and cold..so it can’t wash out. No, but true them want to use the govt car go look fe dem oman..dem nuh want it blood up..load a shit..Polonia..

5. i am very a shame how they went about it…. i cant mek nobody at my job read this about JA. im in ny.

6. Good morning Metsy & metters. This police behaviour is not new, only getting worse. I hope this woman family and the High Commissioner identify these officers and persue drastic measures against them

1. Good morning..aint nothing changed I remember years ago a woman bled to death when a man cut her throat and they refused to take her because she was bleeding so much…if police fraid fi carry dem they need ambulances with medical teams that are equipped to stabilize people until they get to the hospital…how a country a go run without an operating emergency system?

7. Mi shame of my fellow ppl, so she’s not worth to travel in a fcking police car, that can right aff Inna blink of an eye, this is showing us weh the country going..beyond sad…..HEY METTY, LONG TIME..**WAIVING HI***

8. are there any ambulance service in Jamaica? like this has got to stop. we need ambulances. worry about soiling a car, are you freaking kidding me

9. to the person who comment above about not identifying yourself as cop, its your initial response to think like a cop in all circumstances, we are to serve and protect.

10. Dem always have prisoner at di stations to wash di Police car dem. Ole wicked Police dem to, punish dem and heng di dutty murderer dem
    RIP brave woman

11. This is a very tragic situation. The police have been instructed that regardless of the call, they must respond and give whatever assistance possible. So the police who responded will have to answer for that.

However I think we need to look at the broader picture and see that the police is required to do so much with very little resources.

When did the role of the police and that of the EMS/EMT become synonymous?

Why is it the norm that the police is expected to transport gunshot victims, stab victims and persons with serious injuries from motor vehicle accidents in the back of the service vehicles?

Why doesn’t the gov’t provide a proper ambulance service?

The police cannot take all the blame.

Woman in labour and needs to get to hospital… call police

Child having asthma attack… call police

JPS pole gashing/on fire…call police

Mentally ill relative to be taken to Bellevue…call police

Broken down motorist/tyre punctured/run out of gas…caall police

The list goes on….everything the police get called for and them get basket fi carry water

12. It was just after 7 o’clock on Tuesday evening when Crystal Thomas telephoned her mother to ask a favour.

Jacqueline Brown, a vendor in the Spanish Town area, recounted how her daughter needed bus fare to go back to work at the Denham Town Police Station in the tough west end of Kingston, where she worked as a constable for the past two years.

“Mi tell har me have two plantains, two packs of clothes pins and her [uniform] belt and she should come and collect them,” Brown told The Gleaner last night through tears.

Brown said she became concerned after waiting at her stall for more than two hours with no sign of her first child, while her male companion, who works in Stony Hill, St Andrew, got there before Crystal.

“My boyfriend a come from Stony Hill, Crystal suppose to reach before him … . All me a look me can’t see har a come. Me get up and go out inna di road and a wonder wha happen to Crystal.”

Brown would soon get some indication that something was amiss.

She said one of her sisters came to the stall and attempted to break the news of her daughter’s death to her.

“She seh one girl tell har seh she hear seh Crissy [Crystal’s pet name] meet inna accident in a bus, but she nah come out full,” Brown recounted. “My sister, she a hitch [hesitate] an a go roun’ go roun.”

The distraught mother said her world came crashing down when another one of her sisters came to the stall and gave her a hug before breaking down in tears.

“Me seh ‘wha happen?’ Me even a seh to her seh me glad fi see you because a yesterday me a call you name,” Brown remembered telling her sister with no inkling of the shocking news she was about to deliver.

“She seh to me, ‘me hear seh Crissy get shot, enuh’, so me start to cry to,” she recalled.

Brown said she has not stopped crying since it was later confirmed that her daughter’s life was snuffed out by a gunman’s bullets, minutes after she had got on to a Toyota Coaster minibus that was heading to Mandeville.

Police investigators say gunmen commandeered the bus metres from the Denham Town Police Station and shot her three times in the face after she tried to foil a robbery attempt.

The tragedy unfolded five days before Brown and other family members were to accompany Crystal to a ceremony where she would have been confered with the associate degree in business administration she completed last December.

Colleagues say Crystal quietly attended classes at the University College of the Caribbean.

“See the gown pan the bed here,” Brown said.

“She seh the graduation did gone already … and she get the certificate from December. So Sunday now we were suppose to go to the ceremony because we buy up clothes and everything,” Crystal’s mother recalled.

“Me foot dem weak. Anyweh me go people haffi deh deh wid me. Me weak and me still not eating,” she continued.

13. dem meck di woman dead becaw dem did tink was ah civilian an dem nay want mess up e cyar…u know, maybe mi neva read dat right…..God please tell mi seh mi it wrang….

14. U kno I don’t believe these witnesses. Since they could video the woman gasping on her last breath why they don’t go to the station and give description of the murderers?
    They all missing the big picture. A bus load of 40 passengers, no injuries after shots being fired several times and no eye witness to go and confirm if the men that are now in custody were the murderers. Better you just say RIP Chrissy and keep it moving. For until death comes knocking at your door you won’t tell what you know.