SPIRIT MEK MAN BEAT HIM OOMAN

OBEAH

A man who claimed that obeah caused him to stab his girlfriend four times after he saw a picture of her co-worker in her phone was sentenced to serve three years in prison.

“Is eight years we deh together, and from wa day yah is like dem obeah me. Somebody set spirit on me,” Steve Spencer told the court.

The 40-year-old resident of Jones Town in Kingston was sentenced by SRM Pusey on Friday after he pleaded guilty to unlawful wounding.

The magistrate made her decision after the complainant told the court that Spencer had been haunting and threatening her and that she is fearful for her life.

The complainant told the court that the accused shows up at her workplace, at her bus stop and threatens her about burning her house down.

“A wholesale me work and me nuh know how me nuh lose me job, ’cause you know you caah stop from Chiney people place,” she said.

“Him always tell me seh him ago cut me inna mi face and everytime him see me him say a me face him should a stab me inna,” the complainant further told the court.

“He is haunting me and I am fearful for my life,” the complainant lamented.

Spencer, however, told the court that he loved the complainant and would never harm her.

“Me love her from the bottom of me heart; is just through jealousy,” he said.

The complainant then told the court that Spencer had cut his previous girlfriend in her face and that cutting his women in their face was his trademark.

The magistrate then asked Spencer if he had any previous conviction and he told her that he went to prison three times for rape, robbery and for assaulting his girlfriend.

“Well it look like you don’t understand full stop,” the magistrate told him before handing down the sentence

Spencer went to the woman’s house in Spanish Town on October 28 after moving out and cut her twice on one hand and once on the other hand after she refused to give him her cellular phone.