SUNDAY THROW OUT

throw out

1)What is your idea of what is wrong with Jamaica and how do you think Jamaica should go about making that change?
2) How literate do you think the Jamaican population is and how do you rate the education system in Jamaica

0 thoughts on “SUNDAY THROW OUT

1. Blessed Sunday met . I hope more bloggers share this topic cause it’s a topic need to discuss serously .

2. Jamaicans are illiterate down to the ones who have been schooled…Nuh jus whey day cxc give update syllabus two years before and teachers decide not to teach it or couldnt teach it……….Jamaica is at ground zero

1. talk about educated fool nd every time that word come to mind i remember Carolyn Cooper as tuh cxc a few parent mi see put up upon fb seh dem picky get unno much i was like really now,suh dem duh outstanding at primary school but as dem reach high the bad influence reach a few or who neva set foot or who half a trek man fi guh,breed drop out bwoy mi all a wonder if a through dem seh 16 a age a adulthood such as dem ketch fifteen den gone.

then yuh have those who have the education and a try yet places a use excuses like over qualify or nay dem cuz dem cum from the ghetto

1. big professor and her reasoning off..children know how fi pass cxc but dont know too much about the subject they have passed….nuh das y u see so much sexual abuse…di people dem daft and dark from young to old

3. Another thing weh really sickening to me is how is it frm my parents parents dem days yuh still have the same set a ppl inna a politics a run it plus who a lead a mean no kind a new face outside it thats me end up having kids cum even meet them same ppl there..i am not exaggerating either outside of

1.Honorable Edward Seaga
    2.Hornorable Pj Patterson
    3.Honorable Portia Simpson-Miller
    4.Honorable Bruce Golden

the great among great Micheal Manley which mi nah add to this list but who else came a make a difference weh wi can seh boy,dem need fi leg the whole lot a dem weh up den cuz mi nuh c the purpose not that them alone can dweet but them such lie nd wicked dats why ppl nah work wid them like they sud

1. I cant believe that after 53 years of being independent ..we have made absolutely no strides…everytime a party come in dem run go borrow from IMF and as dem borrow dem tek the money…Cuba with nothing has made medical strides and jamaica with so much help has gotten no where

1. Met, you haffi memba seh when you teck IMF money dem tell you how you haffi spend it. Plus every single politician weh guh in deh teef and scrape fi dem own. Nuh figet seh is 22 mil US Seaga himself stole back in di 80s enuh. When you see how some a dem live and not one improvement in dem constituency from dem a MP fi jankro years u haffi wonda. Also, except fi mussi two countries there are no black nation that are flourishing, from you mix with IMF and World Bank you have signed over your country to lifelong poverty.

Even now Cuba offers free education to any student in the Americas as long as dem have di marks. Jamaica ketch weh it ketch to cause dem neva hab no humility. Dem cuss small islands and small island ppl till every single small island pass dem. When dem did a boom dem nuh operate wid humility or kindness, dem juss jump fi talk how dem dis and dat till now dem all need Visa fi guh some a di sed small islands dem used to cuss. When a nation and its ppl are humble dem will forever prosper. Imagine Jcans a leff dem country fi go work as domestic help and general labourers in tiny nations, it should be the other way around cause is big brother help up likkle bredda.

Still, there is hope. A highly educated society will always reach far. China was a dump 30yrs ago, even though there is still a lot of poverty there, it is a great nation today, though I think the pollution will eventually do them in if they don’t get that under control. JA needs a 30yrs plan, they have to have a plan and everybody have to be willing to work and achieve that dream. Folks have to put aside the JLP PNP rhetoric and start realize seh if they don’t put Jamaican first they will have nothing to leave to their children. Outsiders buying up the country left and right, so if the true Jamaicans don’t focus, their island could easily one day look very different from how it looks today and populated completely by strangers.

4. The nowadays Jamaicans are not educated enough out of illiteracy to know that they must produce..they believe in handouts..

5. Believe u me I have to wonder yyyyyyyyyy dem reasoning so below par to read n write is to be literate but the smarts to understand ahhh boy my ppl my ppl it must have to do with the inherited stubbornness cause it caaaa be just nothing. Smh

1. Di education system not doing anything fi dem…They can read but they have no idea of what they are reading…literate robots

6. We are very ignorant for real, we can’t even hold a civilized conversation, we very dark as you mentioned Met, and have to agree with Simplicity about the people that rep us in parliament, no changes, same ole time befo time People from granny days, same ideology, nothing to set them apart, except for The Honerabl

1. Yes we need a new breed but that new breed has to be a new party…those two parties now in ja are very corrupt

7. My idea of what is wrong with Jamaica involves the IMF/WB. Jamaica needs either debt relief or even better debt cancellation. (Can Jamaica really afford to repay $600+ million in the next 4 years) The economy will continue to under perform without this. Jamaica has one government and that is the IMF. Sorry to say but growth will remain stagnant under the current agreement imposed by the IMF.

What may help improve the economy:
    Focus should be made on exporting. Importing should be greatly reduced. Jamaica has a small exporting market but this can improve.

Paying taxes should be mandatory…not optional…this would increase govt revenue…and reduce borrowing….
    INFLATION INFLATION INFLATION….this is effective in debt reduction

Support small businesses by offering up incentives/tax benefits…this will create local jobs and increase global reach.

Jamaica must invest in education and skills development. Traditional trades are disappearing therefore students need quality education/skills in order to compete in technology driven markets. Education is important for economic growth so no expense should be spared in hiring quality educators, improving the curriculum, encouraging enrollment and programs to reduce dropping out.

1. Even if the IMF cancel our debt with them….do you know the amount of money we owe to Germany, Spain and China?…..these loan agreements have never been made public…the figures and loan agreements would put the IMF deal to shame….

8. I would love to see a COMPETENT education minister that comes to the job with enough ideas/ideals and changes because the population will not get better unless we start educating them the right way…Logic, reasoning and critical thinking must be a integral part of the Jamaican school system. Children must have a certain level of critical thinking and can pass that before leaving any high school..Jamaicans can no longer come up with ideas…they are stuck

1. IMHO, Jamaica’s educational system is very good. The problem is our children are not taking advantage of this system. When I look =back at the education I received in Jamaica, compare to what I see my kids are getting in the US, I strongly believe our system is on par or even better. For a poor country, the ministry of education provides ample opportunities for our children to experience learning beyond the classroom and at no cost to them. When I went to HS in Jamaica, I went on so many school trips across the island (Denbigh agricultural shows, etc.) and I don’t remember paying a dime. I don’t see our kids being exposed to these opportunities I had when I was going to HS in Jamaica.

Most of the Jamaica’s High School kids are just going through the motion of attending high School. They have no impetus to learn and before they know it, they are pushed out the door after 5-years with very little knowledge and zero skill sets, few CXC passes. What most people do not realize, apart from the top traditional high schools, most of the high school “leavers” do so without the benefit of a High School Diploma, since most fail to pass 4 or more CXC exams or high very poor high school records. Most of the upgraded High Schools are a dismal failure due to the poor academic caliber of their students.

https://commonsenseja.wordpress.com/2013/08/26/school-rankings-as-listed-by-educate-jamaica/

In summary, the problem is not the educational system, but the students and their parents. Prime example, why is it that over 80% of UWI student population is now female? What is going on with our males?

1. I agree wid you… Everything here you haffi pay….we got so much more in jamaica…. I use the Jamaican school books to keep my children ahead here….

9. Jamaica has built no factories in many many moons. The government should focus on developing a set of factories that employ students who leave high school. Factories in all 14 parishes in Jamaica that are conducive to the goods or resources in that area.

10. As some of you already said, the politics is the biggest issue in Jamaica, this type of political bullshit been going on for years, look how much people wan work and can’t find none.
    This Goat Island thing to me is total ignorance, if they let the Chinese develop but use smart negations to not give everything away just to line the1r pockets could be a good thing. it will provide employment for a lot of people there, but they say it’s protected, what make it so special, the likkle fish weh deh there?

We need to remember that there rate of illiteracy in JA is very high and most of that comes from poverty, why do a young man or woman whose parents don’t have nothing to offer them, dem can’t eat, fi go to school when dem can juggle/hustle and mek som $$$ and tek care of themselves, if there were some incentives to keep them in school and provide some assistance to them a lot of them would try to get a higher eductation.

Me have a nephew whose parent has good work back home and this boy mek Kartel tun him into a stupid fool, first thing him do was the bleaching, then the tattoos all over him body, all ina him face. When mi see him the first thing I said to him is how you so stupid to be putting these permanent marks in your face, him smile but him just don’t realize that he just made himself un-employable.

Another thing is people fraid to open business back home due to the extortion and thieving that is going on.
    I wanted to open a little business but when I check it out, first you have to grease the people dem that will give you the proper license and permits to operate the business, then the construction man going to kill you with slow to no work progress, then once it’s done and operating the extortionist will move in to get their share of the little $$$ the business will be making which nah leave much to me.

One more thing, leave the Sunday Dagger alone!

11. Sorry but I agree with some of the statements above… Jamaica has some very smart people…what we suffer from is brain drain…our best and brightest have left the island….some will never return…my high school education from jamaica made me more than prepared for higher education in the states and I was way ahead of the Americans….

Even with my children here, I teach them more than they learn in school here, the American school system is WAY behind the Jamaicans…

My suggestions for jamaica are:
    1. Making cost of education cheaper
    2. Investment in basic, primary, and secondary education, this is where we outshine the Americans
    3. Making it easier to open businesses in a Jamaica, the current system is riddled with red tape
    4. Encourage more IT jobs and opportunities
    5. Create jobs to improve and modernise our infrastructure , we currently out source most of these jobs
    6. Look in increasing our envirmental awareness and care, most of our shore lines have eroded beyond recognition
    7. Look in sustainable farming, which will decrease our importation and help Ja
    8. Think, buy and live Jamaican, we have become too foreign minded

So many more ides, let me stop here

1. These changes you suggested cannot be made without agreement from the lenders. In order for Jamaica to renegotiate their loan they must accept the conditions of how the money it to be spent. Its obvious that the improvement of hospitals and medical care, infrastructure and education, crime fighting and policing are NOT priorities for the lenders. Jamaica is F*UQQQQQQED bc of this debt trap….They have repaid more money than what they were lent and so it will continue…IMF has its hands around Jamaica’s neck.

12. Term limits MUST be placed on every politician…..

Also the politician must reside in the parish which he or she oversees…

13. Hello met and everyone. The greatest resource of a country is its people. Jamaica needs to start investing in its people!! They need to make education affordable, implement a good free or reduced priced lunch system. If you ask a good 80 percent of jamaician parents, the reason for their child’s excessive absence its because they have NO LUNCH MONEY! Whoever is the minister of education is also need to put some measures in making children that have to travel have a cheaper way of commuting to school, because that is another big reason why some children can’t go to school!! Educate the children and it will bring change to the nation! Bhild factories!! Just like how work is outsourced from america to japan. Get in contact with some first world leaders and see if they can outsource work to jamaica. Encourage farming! Miss met please send the ideas that your bloggers post to THE RIGHT HONORABLE PORTIA SIMPSON-MILLER!!! Mi sure she will learn couple things from over here

1. I agree with you….

Lucretia we talking to you…. She don’t read the newspaper but now have a segment in the paper called ask the prime minister…

2. Last time I checked Jamaica has a lunch program that is supposed to feed 200,000 + students…this school year that number should increase.

14. 1. Bring back hanging of convicted murderers and cat o nine the convicted thieves
    2. Open disclosure of funds given and received by politicians, this information should be made public

1. Believe it or not, the people stealing the money are not politicians, but low level and middle/upper level (government) management employees who devise clever ways to get huge kickbacks from companies doing business with the government.

15. Politricks…get rid a dem…..uphold a certain standards in schools….build factories for the job market…last but not least….clean up di police force an pay di decent hardworking government workers n others good wages or else a pure criminal ago exsist.kill all a di killer dem instead of sending them to jail….

16. We need if stop sell out we infrastructure…. cement, light, telephone, land, airline, beaches…all sell….only water we own

Even di little islands off a ja we want to sell now….

17. REVOLUTION,STOP THE BRAIN DRAIN,EDUCATE YOUNG AND RE-EDUCATE OLD.JAMAICAN PEOPLE NEED A DEMORATIC SOCIALISM STYLE BECAUSE THEY ARE UNRULY.