THE GUY FROM MERITAL DONT BURY YET SAKE A DELAYED AUTOPSY

corey-Optimized

ALMOST five weeks after the murder of dancehall singjay Derrick ‘Corey’ Edwards, his family is to yet to finalise a funeral date due to autopsy delays.

Speaking with the Jamaica Observer yesterday Edwards’s mother, Penalpie Wynter, the family is still awaiting the availability of the government pathologist.

“It’s has been a while since he died and I just want to bury him. Hopefully, his name will be included this week so I can bury him the following week,” she said.

She said, however, that’s not the only upsetting thing.

“I don’t think the police are doing enough. I can’t get any information regarding the death of my son. No one is calling me, I am not aware of the progress and even when I reach out to the officers, I can’t hear anything,” said Wynter.

Last month, Montego Bay police arrested a man whom they believe could assist them in their investigation. However, no charges were laid against him.

“The police didn’t even call me to tell me that anyone was in custody. Is offa di streets me hear that. All the police tell me is that a camera outside the casino was suppose to run but me never hear if dem get a chance to run it or not,” she said.

When the Jamaica Observer contacted the Corporate Communication Unit (CCU) yesterday, an officer said that he could not provide an update as he was unable to get word from the officers in Montego Bay.

Edwards was a member of the Merital Family which comprised Noel ‘Blade Skeemaz’ Mason and Trovoy Keneale Bracket. The group rose to fame as part of Vybz Kartel’s Portmore Empire with the 2010 single My Money Ha Ha. Their other tracks include Pray, When We Party and Bad Like We.

Edwards, 32, was killed outside the Treasure Hunt Casino in Montego Bay, on May 7.

The singjay was the first of Wynter’s five children. The grieving mother said she still has not come to terms with the untimely death of her son.

“Corey wasn’t a gunman, he wasn’t involved in any wrong doings. If my son was a badman, I would pray for police to kill him cuz I don’t know when he would turn his gun on me. It wasn’t robbery either as nothing was taken from him,” he said.

Wynter said her son would often visit the Treasure Hunt Casino alone.

“I nearly died when I got the call. I asked the caller if it was really my Corey…I have not eaten anything since dem kill him, mi stomach mash up. My eye water will not go to waste, I leave the killers to God and time,” she said.

0 thoughts on “THE GUY FROM MERITAL DONT BURY YET SAKE A DELAYED AUTOPSY

1. NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! HOW THIS MISS ME??????? THEY KILLED THIS GUY????? LIIIIIIIIIIIIIES!!!!! NOOOOO!!!!! SAY IT AIN’T SO!!!!! THEY KILLED COREY??????? *TEARS* RIP FRIEND IN MY HEAD!

JUST LIKE MOBAY MADUSA, COREY AND HIS GROUP MEMBERS BROUGHT ME A LOT OF JOY! IT WAS A PLEASURE WATCHING THEM, WHEN THEY CAME IN BUS LOADS TO PASSA PASSA! *TEARS* THESE GUYS ARE SO TALENTED! SO SAD! SIP BOO!

2. An autopsy is to determine the cause of death suh wha kinda autopsy dem need fi this? Dem shot di man 5 times inna him head. Go find di killers and gi di woman her pickny mek she bury him.