THWAITES SEH RUEL NEVER NEED NO CREDIT CARD

Thwaites suggests credit card issued to Ruel Reid was not necessary

Ronald Thwaites; Journalists Livern Barrett and Nick Dawkins, posing questions to Dr. Grace McLean

More questions have arisen regarding the issuing of a government-paid credit card to sacked education minister, Ruel Reid.

It has been disclosed that the card given to Mr. Reid was used to pay for gas, books and hotel stays.

However, former education minister Ronald Thwaites has suggested this was not necessary.

Mr. Thwaites, who admitted he was not issued with a credit card when he held the portfolio, said these expenses are normally covered by the ministry directly.

“They are never discretionary, they all have to go through the proper channels. It’s people’s money you’re dealing with you know; and the permanent secretary has quite appropriate protocols for ensuring that the minster is never embarrassed but that he’s never given the temptation to be extravagant, let alone to be corrupt,” he insisted.

Mr. Thwaites said he will be demanding further answers on what Mr. Reid’s credit card was used for, whether its limits were observed and whether there has been proper accounting for all the expenses attributed to it.

A 2009 circular from the Ministry of Finance states that a credit card should only be issued to Ministers of Government, Permanent Secretaries, Heads of Departments and Chief Executive Officers of Executive Agencies and Public Bodies.

It sets a J$250,000 limit for local cards and US$2,500 on international cards.

However, it has been revealed that Mr. Reid’s card had a US$3,800 limit.

Further checks are being carried out into the use of the Government assigned credit card.

Ministry approved

Speaking at a Post-Cabinet media briefing Wednesday morning, Dr. Grace McLean, (Acting) Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Education, said the Ministry of Finance approved the credit card given to Mr. Reid.

Dr. McLean was asked by Gleaner reporter Livern Barrett whether the transactions were compliant with the credit card circular from the Finance Ministry.

Noting that she “would not have been the person who led that process,” Dr. McLean said she would have to do her research and “provide the information accordingly.”

RJR’s Nick Dawkins also sought to ascertain the reason Mr. Reid was issued a credit card. However, Dr. McLean insisted she would need time to do her research.

4 thoughts on “THWAITES SEH RUEL NEVER NEED NO CREDIT CARD

1. I don’t want anybody in the PNP party to say anything cause they were the biggest set of thieves. I guess you guys are money hungry now that’s why you all are digging Riel’s grave. While I am in total disagreement with what he did, Mr Thwaites your party rob the most in a history. So just hold a tall glass of guh siddung one side. As if PJ, Paulwell, Portia etc never run the biggest racket ever…

1. This is a nonsensical logics and line of reasoning because one being a thief has no bearing on pointing out a next thief!!Think about a rapist knowing a next man a rape ur own underage family member…u would therefore be saying him should shut his mouth cuz him did rape too!!!

Equate it then to the fact that corrupt politicians are raping the resources of our country and as such EVERYONE must condemn it,even the hypocrites cuz it’s blatantly wrong!!!

2. By your logic, its always going to be okay for the JLP to misuse public funds because the PNP did it. This mentality has to stop. The corruption needs to end, on both sides.