U.S COMMITTED TO EQUALITY IN JAMAICA WHEN DEM DOE HAVE IT IN DEM OWN COUNTRY -_-

US

UNITED States Ambassador to Jamaica Luis Moreno says he is proud of his country’s push for respect for human rights here, and vowed that Washington would not relent in this effort.

Speaking during the swearing-in ceremony for the latest batch of US Peace Corps volunteers to Jamaica at the ambassador’s residence in St Andrew, Friday, Moreno said his country endorses equality and freedom for all Jamaicans.

“We want to endorse equal rights for all Jamaicans regardless of race, power, creed, religion, sexual orientation, or disability, just like we try in our country. We endorse equality and freedom for all Jamaicans,” he said.

“Am I proud of that agenda? Yes, I am. Will we back off on that agenda? No, we will not.”

He explained that there was a list of other priorities for the island, including enhancing co-operation with the security forces. He said another item on the list was to enable good governance.

“We have programmes that support anti-corruption efforts to make Jamaica a safer and better place,” he said. “Having a safer and better place will create the environment for investment, and investment wins jobs and it creates growth.”

A total of 37 Peace Corps volunteers were sworn in during the event. They will be assigned to sites across the island, working in education and environment initiatives.

– Kimmo Matthews

0 thoughts on “U.S COMMITTED TO EQUALITY IN JAMAICA WHEN DEM DOE HAVE IT IN DEM OWN COUNTRY -_-

1. He said another item on the list was to enable good governance…Hehe if America tek set in a the government business it go be a baxcide..coz unuh go affi straighten up. Mi like it! Blasted government too disgusting man cho.

2. i taught jamaica was an independent nation,,, look at what my country as become,,,a dump heep . fellow jamaicans mi sorry fi uno, dog nym uno suppa…. if uno no believe me wait and see the next 10 years