U.S SWIMMER CHARGED IN BRAZIL FOR MAKING FALSE REPORT

rl

Ryan Lochte has been charged by Rio police for filing a false robbery claim during the Summer Olympics, the Associated Press reports. The news comes after the 12-time medalist apologized on August 19 for misrepresenting his story and claiming that he and teammates Jack Conger, Gunnar Bentz and Jimmy Feigen were held at gunpoint at a Rio gas station after leaving a party on Sunday, August 14.

According to the AP, Lochte, 32, was informed in the United States so that he can decide whether to introduce a defense in Brazil.

After law enforcement in Rio reported that Lochte had “fabricated” his story, the athlete issued a public apology and later told NBC’s Matt Lauer on Saturday, August 20, that he “overexaggerated” the incident.

“I left details out, and that’s why I’m in this mess,” he admitted. “[The people of Rio] put on a great Games. They did everything. And my immature, intoxicated behavior tarnished that a little.”

Rio Olympics Closing Ceremony: Everything That Happened
As previously reported, surveillance video shows Lochte and his teammates actually vandalized a gas station bathroom and after being confronted and asked to pay for the damage by security guards. It was not clear from the video if a gun was pointe at the U.S. athletes.

Lochte’s teammates were previously detained as they attempted to return to the U.S., and Feigen, who has since defended Lochte, was ordered to pay $11,000 to a charity to leave the country.

Lochte lost all his major endorsements on Monday, but it was announced Thursday he’ll be teaming up with Pine Bros. for a new campaign. The swimmer has also signed on for season 23 of Dancing With the Stars, multiple sources tell Us.

5 thoughts on “U.S SWIMMER CHARGED IN BRAZIL FOR MAKING FALSE REPORT

1. Bravooooooo to the Brazilian government! YES AND ALTHOUGH I DON’T THINK THE US WILL EXTRADITE HIM, IT WILL CAUSE HIM PLENTY OF TROUBLE WHILE TRYING TO TRAVEL OUTSIDE THE US.THRY NEED TO BE TAUGHT A LESSON. ALWAYS GOING TO PEOPLE’S COUNTRY AND DISRESPECTING, AND LIEEEEEEEEEE

2. White privilege
    First world privilege

We can all safely assume how this would have played out had it been a minority or a team from a 3rd world country.

Dancing with the stars, really???

3. Whenever I hear people defending these guys after they admitted to lying it reminds me of what kind of world I am living in.It was not a just a lie,it was damaging.The U.S. government warns every citizen whenever you are traveling to another country respect the laws of the country.The culture of most countries differ and so the laws might seem stupid to you but very serious to the natives.

4. Do you notice that usain got so muchmore bad press than this lying bowy. America ride the Usain story because he was having fun, he broke no laws yet they wanted to paint him as deviant and this dutty bowy we must forgive because he is young and the last time I check he was older than Usain. Usain be careful because they don’t like when black people in high position.