WHAT A WAY TO LIVE

People

who live in Chesterfield say they hope and pray each day that no one from the farming community becomes so ill as to need emergency assistance.

“Living in this area is like living in a death trap,” Balford Pechoo told the

Jamaica Observer.

“The situation so bad, that to fall sick in this area could literally mean a death sentence,” added Carlene Thomas, who said she has been living for 15 years in the community in Castleton, St Mary.
The source of their worry is the absence of a bridge.

To get from their community to the Junction main road, the residents are forced to wade through the Wag Water River.

That, though, is fraught with danger. According to the residents, over the past eight years at least five people have lost their lives, and countless others have been injured trying to cross the river.

“The last man that died was a 50-year-old farmer who was washed away as he attempted to leave the area,” Pechoo, the spokesman for a small group gathered in the area, told the

Observer last Friday.

Zepheniah Byfield shared another heartbreaking story.

“It was less than a year ago a woman took down to have baby and couldn’t make it out and ended up having baby under a tree next to the river,” said Byfield.

Added to the danger is the humiliation the residents face when crossing the river.

“It has become so embarrassing to see children, people — young and old of various professions — when they are going to school or church, or work, when dem reach the river they have to strip down to their underwear, some naked, in order to swim across the river,” said Byfield.

Last Friday, this reporter witnessed adults taking off their clothes in order to cross the river. Upon reaching the other side, they dried themselves, then put their clothes back on.

Other adults were seen carrying schoolchildren on their backs across the water, while some children risked crossing on a makeshift walkway that comprised sandbags.

Heavy rains, the residents added, pose more than danger to life, as the rise in the water level prevents people from going to work.

“Many persons have lost their jobs because of this problem,” said Lenford ‘Judge’ Davis.

He believes the only solution to the problem is for the authorities to erect a Bailey Bridge across the river.

“For more than 15 years now we have been lobbying the authorities to erect this bridge, but to date we are yet to see something happening,” said Davis.

Pechoo corroborated Davis’ claim. “It is as if we are the forgotten group; is like them put us back a hog seed,” he said.

Another resident, Leonard Hunt, interjected: “In 2015, is really sad to see people living like that.”

Last week, the residents said because of the lack of access to the area, farmers were not able to deliver crops to market, resulting in millions of dollars in produce going to waste.

“We need some help,” one resident appealed. “Is over 200 people living over here; we all can vote, so I don’t see why we are being treated this way.”

10 thoughts on “WHAT A WAY TO LIVE

1. all this while the PM rack up frequent flyer miles and eat imported corn from up a di rich people dem supa mahkit and I wondah why we affi import it when we coulda get it home grown from a likkle farming community like the one mentioned in the article? ohh yes mi figet di people dem nahve no bridge fi carry di food go mahkit. Dis so sad, a damn bridge a bet yuh seh if smaddy wid a name whe sound like shrubbery, or a name weh sound like dem fi a star ina alladin did ovah deh di bridge woulda build long time. dem goodly woulda get two one fi cross go and one fi cross go back damn shame

1. Government and name nuh hab nothing fi do wid it! I come from a rural parish and we no romp fi call name and shame the devil cause we know ballots have power.

“For more than 15 years now we have been lobbying the authorities to erect this bridge, but to date we are yet to see something happening,” said Davis.”

Me CERTAIN that they have voted and voted in the same manner throughout the entire 15 years. No damn bridge, No damn vote. It’s that damn simple. It shouldn’t take 15 years to bring this issue to the media.

1. So meck me ask yuh dis if government and name nuh have nuttin fi do wid it, who a go build the bridge? Is it not the government that is responsible for building the infrastructures on the island can a bridge be built without government involvement (by involvement I mean planning, securing funds and erecting) and name have nuff fi do wid it a bet if smaddy wid a stush name seh want the contract the bridge buil a mawning let’s not kid ourselves they have everything to do with it

1. As I said “Government and name nuh hab nothing fi do wid it!” You placing the entire blame at the feet of government and people last name. Not all Azans, Desilva and ray ray get what they want because of their last.

It’s that nonsense that cause people to feel helpless and for that they don’t take the initiative to get results.

You gone on to ” a bet if smaddy wid a stush name seh want the contract the bridge buil a mawning” GRUNNNNNNNNNNNG!!!!! *nonsense*

Me nah say all things cook n curry! But results come through processes and determination.

Power is at the ballot too,but them mek 15+ years come and pass without using it…

“Is over 200 people living over here; we all can vote, so I don’t see why we are being treated this way.”

2. they cant build a bridge for the people but yet you can build up road for obama to drive for a few minutes and most possibility he would never return to the country again and cant build something for these people to last a life time and save lives….its a damn f**king shame

1. Portia or someone else will get at least 200 votes all when bridge don’t build. There’s no excuse why it can’t build, worst that China harbor is willing to do a few “freebies”, even if is to develop a project scope to kick start our lazy engineers.

“Is over 200 people living over here; we all can vote, so I don’t see why we are being treated this way.”