WIFE BITE MATEY FINGER

COURT-CARTOON-16-AUG-Optimized

A woman appeared before the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate’s Court last week for biting a woman on her little finger while confronting her about having an affair with her companion.

The 31-year-old vendor of Red Hills, St Andrew, Kerry-Ann Brown, attacked the complainant after she saw her sitting in the front seat of her companion’s taxi. Brown was later arrested and charged with unlawful wounding.

The incident between the two was sparked by a “please call me text” sent by the complainant to the taxi man’s phone around midnight. However, it was Brown who had the phone at the time the message was sent.

The fight, however, occurred on June 14, on Chancery Street in St Andrew.

According to the complainant’s statement, on the day in question she took the taxi from Red Hills, On reaching Chancery Street. Brown came up to her and said, “How yuh say yuh and me man nuh deh?” and started accusing her of having an affair with the taxi driver.

An argument ensued and the complainant pointed her finger in the accused face and was bitten on her little finger.

On Thursday when Brown appeared in court, she told Magistrate Simone Wolf-Reece that the complainant had called her phone on the day in question and threatened and “styled” her.

Brown also told the court that she had reported the complainant to the police.

“How she style you?” magistrate asked.

“She call and say ‘hey ediot gyal you think say me fraid a you’,” Brown explained.

Wolf-Reece then asked her, “Do you accept that you are an ediot gyal?”

“No, that was not what cause the fight,” Brown said.

Brown then told the court that on the morning of the incident she had planned to visit her son’s school to drop off some papers, but realised that she had left them in her companion’s car. As a result, she said when she got to Chancery Street she saw the car and noticed that the complainant was sitting in the front seat.

“I ask her to come out for me to take out the papers, and when she was coming out she hit me in my face with the door, and we ended up in each other face,” Brown said.

“When I realised that her finger was in my mouth is when I taste the blood in my mouth,” she added.

The magistrate then asked Brown what was the issue between her partner and the complainant and she replied,

“The two of them have an issue.”

“She and your fiancé have an issue: you up in your fiancé’s face?” Wolf-Reece asked.

“Yes Your Honour “Brown quickly answered.

The magistrate then asked, “You bite you fiancé on his finger?”

“No ma’am.” Brown replied.

She then told the court that despite having previous confrontations with the complainant about her partner, she still continues to take his taxi and uses him to transport her two children to and from school.

“Is he the only taxi in that area,” the Magistrate asked, to which Brown replied, “No.”

“You know why he is still picking up her and her children? Because he wants to” Wolf-Reece told Brown.

Added the magistrate, “Being up in her face is not going to help you, and you know if I choose to send you to jail for this you know who and him are going to be out there.”

But Brown in her defence told the court that she did not have a problem with the complainant and her partner.

“I have a problem with her calling my phone at certain hours at night,” she said.

However, Wolf-Reece told her that there was a simple way to solve that problem, “Turn it off.”

Brown was subsequently asked to pay $10,000 or serve 10 days in jail.

POLICEWOMAN AND BROTHER IN ‘KAS KAS’ OVER TV

A policewoman was accused of using her position as a law enforcement officer to spite her brother after she accused him of hitting her close to her left eye during a dispute over the use of a television.

The policewoman and her brother reportedly got into a squabble at their mother’s home after the former wanted to watch television news and her brother wanted to watch a football match.

Abrahams was arrested and charged with unlawful wounding after he reportedly grabbed his sister by her neck, squeezed her throat, hit her in the face, and used a blunt object to hit her over the eye causing a cut.

However, on Thursday when the matter was mentioned, the prosecutor told the court that since the incident, the brother had called his sister and had threatened her, and that she has since given the police a statement. The court also heard that the threat was recorded.

But the prosecutor told Magistrate Wolf-Reece that he is yet to see the charges for the threat.

However, the allegation about the threat was challenged by the brother’s lawyer, who told the court that the report about threat was “absolute nonsense”.

“What she has been doing is using her post to bring undue pressure,” the lawyer told the magistrate, “Nothing of the sort took place.”

The brother’s bail was subsequently extended for him to return to court on November 26 for trial.

According to court documents on July 26 the complainant went to visit her mother at her home in the Kingston 8 area and was in the living room watching the television news when the accused and his daughter arrived.

While watching the news, the programme broke for a commercial when Abrahams reportedly switched the channel.

It is reported that about five minutes later the complainant asked her mother to put back the channel on the news when her brother started to curse, using expletives, and ordered his mother not to touch the remote.

The complainant was reportedly attempting to get up to unplug the television when her brother grabbed her by the neck and used his left hand to choke her, while using the other hand to hit her in her face.

It is also reported that the brother used a blunt object to hit the complainant in her face, causing it to cut and bleed.

The matter was reported and he was arrested and charged.

MAN PAYS $30,000 FOR EXPENSIVE ‘BOX’

A man who slapped a woman in her face during a dispute over soup at a party was ordered to fork out $30,000 for the “box”.

Ricardo Hall was ordered by Magistrate Wolf-Reece to pay the fine or serve 30 days in prison after he pleaded guilty to assaulting female in court on Wednesday.

Hall, before he was sentenced, told the court that he and the complainant were at party, which was being held by both of them, when she started complaining that he was sharing the soup and giving it only to his family members.

While she was there arguing, Hall said a friend of his came by and asked for a cup of soup.

But he said, ” She (the complainant) box out the soup out of me hand and box it pon the lady and go round to the back so me go round deh and gi her one box.”

“What kind of box?” Wolf-Reece asked.

“Box inna har face,” Hall answered.

“Yes sir, talk the things,” the magistrate said amidst laughter from the court.

In continuing Hall said after he slapped the complainant in her face, “She a dress back and she drop and me go over her and say, you see whey you do”.

Same time he said, the complainant’s family members came on the scene and he walked away and “bare excitement” started.

The magistrate, after patiently listening to him said, “Since is she ’cause’ it pay $30,000 for the box.”

INMATE ACCUSED OF BEATING WARDEN

One of two inmates who reportedly disarmed a prison warden of his baton and used it to beat him at the Horizon Adult Remand Centre was remanded for trial on August 27.

Rohan Masters, a 33-year-old electrician of Luke Lane in Kingston, and his co-accused, Rushane Hamilton, 23, chef of Portmore in St Catherine, reportedly got upset after the warden had seized some ganja that was being passed around in the facility.

It is alleged that Masters used the baton to beat the warden all over his body while Hamilton held down the warden. Both will be tried on a charge of assault occasioning bodily harm.

On Tuesday when the matter was mentioned Masters’ attorney, Peter Champaignie, indicated that he wanted to make a bail application, but was instructed to make the application on the next hearing, which is on August 27.

Masters was subsequently remanded by Magistrate Wolf-Reece while Hamilton’s bail was extended.

0 thoughts on “WIFE BITE MATEY FINGER

1. This judge in that first case had me laughing. She is really doling out justice in deze cases, bout time someone start deal wid deze situations as they should be.