WTF AFRICA-HUSBAND SEH WIFE PLAN ANOTHER MARRIAGE WHILE MARRIED TO HIM

My Wife Planned Wedding With Another Man While Still Married To Me

A woman, Saki Sadeeq, has prayed Oja Oba/Mapo Court C Customary Court, Mapo, Ibadan, Oyo State to put an end to the 15-year-old wedlock between her and her husband, Taofeek Sadeeq.

Saki alleged that Taofeek was irresponsible and uncaring and added that he derived pleasure in beating her.

The plaintiff further appealed to the court to grant her custody of their two children.

Taofeek did not agree to divorce.

Giving her evidence, Saki told the court “My lord, I pray that you separate me and my husband. I’ve had enough of his maltreatment. If I stay in marriage with him a minute longer he will kill me.

My lord, my husband boasts any time we have a misunderstanding that he’s the head of the home, but he never lives up to expectation. He dodges his duties at home.

“Taofeek is not bothered about my welfare and that of our children. He does not give us feeding allowance.

“I work round the clock to ensure that our children are well fed and clothed. I cover his shame by feeding and clothing him also but he never shows any appreciation.

“My lord, Taofeek has never paid the rent since we moved into our apartment and same goes for our children’s school fees. My heart beats when our rent is due as a result of paucity of fund. I go on my knees every year, weeping and begging our landlord not to throw us out since we pay in arrears. My husband never cares. He watches me run from pillar to post seeking money to offset our debts.

“Rather than complement my efforts by seeing to it that things go well in the home, he beats me. Taofeek will beat me till I almost faint. He feels satisfied only when he sees me bleed.

“My lord, I can’t continue with such a lifestyle. I don’t want my husband to cut my life short in my prime. If he succeeds in doing that, our children will suffer. I, therefore, pray this honourable court to separate us,” she stated.

Taofeek in his response said: “My lord, I refuse to admit to claim despite Saki’s atrocities.

“Saki and I went into marriage believing and trusting in each other but she betrayed me and misplaced the trust I had in her.

“Saki suddenly turned wayward. She has strings of lovers who call her on the phone.

“My lord, there’s a particular man among these who is always calling her in the night. She would chat with him on the phone for long not minding that I was there. I would sometimes overhear them fixing date and time. I showed my displeasure at this, but Saki refused to change.

“I once picked this man’s call, cursed and warned him to stop calling my wife. I went to report Saki to her parents the following morning and there I met with the shock of my life.

“Saki parents told me this man had rented a house for my wife and that they would soon be married.

“I moved out of our apartment after hearing this because Saki was the one paying the rent.”

Giving his judgment after hearing both parties, the court president, Chief Ademola Odunade, dissolved their wedlock and awarded custody of their two children to the plaintiff.

The defendant was asked to pay the sum of N10, 000 monthly for their upkeep and be responsible for their education and health care.

The payment according to Odunade must be carried out through the court while he ordered both parties to maintain peace.